We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”
Review of Il Guelfo Bianco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Il Guelfo Bianco
Ranked #27 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Stayed here 20-21 March 2012. Location, service, room size, and cleanliness met or exceeded our expectations. Breakfast was a special treat since it featured local food and condiments. I would highly recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RdWng00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,165 - 1,171 of 2,383 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2012

We just came back from our trip to Florence and we stayed at this hotel. We had gotten a very good deal on the room, so check the hotel website because they sometimes have special offers (especially during the low seasons).

The hotel is housed in a 15th century palazzo and it contains a very interesting art collection. Our room was very comfortable and the Sky channels and free wi-fi were nice. The hotel was refurbished and decorated to a very high level.

The breakfast was varied, fresh and tasty. No complaints there.

My only gripe is that there was some street noise, though this was to be expected as Via Cavour is quite busy.

Would definitely return if I'm ever in Florence again

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the street, as it can get noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thevalkyrie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUELFOMANAGER, Manager at Il Guelfo Bianco, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Dear Thevalkyrie12,

thanks very much for your review. We really hope to welcome you here again in the future. I woudl like just to pint out something about teh street noisy because I think it will be helpful for all the customers who read the reviews. Our hotel is right in the city center, few steps far from Piazza Duomo (main square). We have rooms overlooking the back side (overlooking garden or courtyard) and rooms overlloking Via Cavour (the main street). Since October 2009 Via Cavour is a 70% pedestrian street (just people who have an authorization to dirve into the center or clients who need to get the hotels can drive into this street). For this reason the street could be not too noisy but you have to consider its' still the city center and many public offices and many hotels are in the center. However all of our windows are equipped with triple glasses and double windows and if you keep the windows closed there is not noisy at all. Our rooms overllooking Via Cavour are very bright and comfortable and especially the de luxe and junior suites very large. Maybe you do not believe me but the rooms overlooking Via Cavour are my favourite ones
A big hug to all of you, ciao
Antonella Rocchini
htl mngr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights in Mar'12 and i must say its one of the most value and classy hotel through out my 2 weeks holidays in Europe. Its comfortable walking distance to most of the attractions in Florence and pretty quiet and safe location. The room and toilet was very spacious and clean, i stayed in the double room. The breakfast was delicious and fresh bruchetta, fresh milk, parma ham. Other than having to keep signing in to the wifi network, it was a fantastic stay. i am looking forward to my next trip to europe and will definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiong22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights while we were in Florence for our honeymoon. The hotel is only about a 3 minute walk from the Duomo (and thus the city center) but was quiet and well priced. Our room was spacious and very clean. A huge bonus was the included daily breakfast - the food was delicious and plentiful and made our mornings much easier and more stress free. The only thing that wasn't "excellent" (I would give the hotel a 4.5 if that was possible) was that they advertised free wifi - and there was in fact free wifi - however, the service was very unreliable and we had to sign in over and over again. This was not really a huge deal, a minor annoyance actually.

All in all, the staff was very nice and very helpful, the hotel was clean, fairly priced, and suited our needs well, and overall we were very happy with our decision to stay at Il Guelfo Bianco!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUELFOMANAGER, Manager at Il Guelfo Bianco, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Dear Kim L,

thanks very much for your review. I would like just to point out soemthing about the wi/fi service - I am sorry we miss your 5 for this reason :-( -
We do offer to our customers a free wi/fi in all of our rooms and also in all the drawing rooms (including breakfast rooms and our bistrot restaurant). We do have an hot spot where you can connect your computer or smart phone using an user and a password that we use to give to the customers when they check in. When you stop to use our wi/fi system and than you try again later you have always to enetr again the user and the password which is the same one we gave you whne you checked in. In the past we use to have a wi/fi on payment while now we offer this service free but we still use the same system and that's why you should sign in again.
I checked every day the wi/fi system all over the hotel with my I phone or my I- pad just to be sure it 's working in the right way. If sometimes we had some problems our technician was able to fix it shortly. We worked so hard to offer a good wi/fi servcie because we think it's very import now to have this service and we decide to offer it free.
I really hope to welcoem you here again and to be able to get a 5 by you next time!
Ciao and take care,
Antonella Rocchini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We loved this hotel. This 15th century building is very tastefully and carefully decorated with a mix of antique furniture, tapestries, and old world charm overlaid with harmonizing modern gestures, a contemporary flair mostly achieved through the artworks selected for the rooms and common areas. Our room, a junior suite I believe, overlooked an interior courtyard with the rooftops of Florence stretching off into the distance. Despite being located on a busy street near the Piazza del Duomo, we awoke each morning to nothing but the sounds of birds singing and church bells pealing.

The staff was polished, courteous and charming. Even if your stay in Florence is primarily focused on food and wine, do not neglect the breakfasts at Il Guelfo Bianco. Excellent cappucino and espresso, a selection of cornetto and other pastry, salumi, cheeses (including some very rich, fresh mozzarella), bruschetta, eggs, yogurts, all items of very high quality and freshness.

Finally, we understand that a widescreen tv and minibar are practical necessities for many travelers, but we found them unnecessary and their presence the only wrong notes struck in our otherwise carefully curated room. Given how marvelously decorated this hotel otherwise is, I suspect the management added these accomodations very reluctantly. For us, they were sad totems better left to more vulgar, pedestrian accomodations.

That aside, not only would we stay at the Il Guelfo Bianco again, we are very much looking forward to it!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We chose this hotel due to it's excellent Tripadvisor reviews, and it did not disappoint! We were greeted cheerfully and informed that our room was ready for us when we arrived at 11:30 AM. The little "bistro" provided an excellent, fresh, delicious lunch with thoughtful service. Our room, a quadruple with a queen bed and two singles for our family of four, was enormous yet homey. The decor was a little old fashioned but not objectionable. The bathroom was very clean, modern, and had excellent water pressure.

The front desk staff were extremely friendly and helpful to us when we asked for directions. They recommended an absolutely fantastic local restaurant one night for dinner which was one of the best meals we had during our entire trip!

The location of the hotel is perfect, near the Accademia, Duomo, and central market. We loved our stay at Il Guelfo Bianco and will be sure to return the next time we visit Florence!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rcnl19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Il Guelfo Bianco was one of four hotels we stayed in during a 16 day trip to Italy and definitely the most enjoyable. The location of the hotel is excellent for getting around Florence. We walked just about everywhere. It is about a fifteen minute walk to the train station and less to the Duomo. Our room was a good size and comfortable. It was in the back of the hotel and quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful. Their restaurant recommendations were quite good. They also made restaurant reservations for us and when there was a small problem were quick to fix it. Il Guelfo Bianco served the best breakfast of any hotel we stayed at. An Italian hotel breakfast is not an American breakfast. Usually you get a croissant, some bread, yogurt, maybe fruit and cereal. Il Guelfo Bianco adds hard boiled eggs, cheeses and meats to the list. The only downside (everywhere we stayed) was that NOTHING changed during our five breakfasts. Same cheese, same meat, same cake. At least the selection was big enough at Il Guelfo Bianco that you could eat something different every day. The hotel also runs a small bar/café. It was quite nice and they gave us a free drink and appetizers when we arrived. We had a wonderful stay and I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUELFOMANAGER, Manager at Il Guelfo Bianco, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Dear Mark S,

thanks for your review, we are happy you had a great stay with us. We do alwyas our best to guarantee an enjoyable stay to our customers and we are really so exited when we are able to do a good job!

Regarding the breakfast as you wrote we try to offer a buffet with a good choice for all tastes but we like to offer many italian tipycal products: in fact we have the "bruschetta" (toasted bread with tomatos and organic extra virgin olive oil), fresh buffalo mozzarella, tuscan ham and salami. We do have also homemade cakes every morning and usually our chef make different ones every day. We do have also seasonal fresh fruit. We care a lot about the buffet breakfast. We tryed to offer the best products and many of them organic.
We are happy that you did appreciate our bar/café "IL DESCO" . We opened it in October 2009 and we are so proud of it because our customers really like it. We serve lunches with fresh pasta every day till 3,00 pm and the bsitrot is open than till 8,30 for light snack, or sandwiches, cafe' and so on.....do not miss our cakes please! If you stay at least two nights during the low season or three nights during the high season booking directly with us you could get a "welcome drink" coupon to have afree drink and some tasty snacks at our bistrot.
We really hope to welcome you here whenever you come back in Florence.
A BIG HUG by all of us.
Antonella Rocchini
htl mngr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#41 of 409 in Florence
2,200 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 409 in Florence
1,835 reviews
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
#30 of 409 in Florence
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#12 of 409 in Florence
3,549 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
#84 of 409 in Florence
1,190 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#51 of 409 in Florence
2,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Guelfo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Address: Via Camillo Cavour 29, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Florence
#18 Business Hotel in Florence
#25 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £77 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Guelfo Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's housed in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (12 till 10,30 pm but on Sunday it closes at 3,00 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Il Guelfo Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing