We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort with a bit of originality”
Review of Il Guelfo Bianco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Il Guelfo Bianco
Ranked #29 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Comfort with a bit of originality”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We had a good stay here, it's a city centre hotel and right on the street but it's a stone's throw from the main sights, and has good sound proofing, so we didn't find that a problem.
It has been great to stay in somewhere which has none of the bland features of modern hotels, but lots of individuality, whether in its choice of art work on the walls or its careful selectioin of organic produce in the cafe.

Room Tip: A suite will take a couple plus one child
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WernerHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,658
    508
    82
    15
    5
See reviews for
552
1,143
77
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Just returned from a seven night stay at Il Guelfo Bianco and were delighted with this hotel. The location is ideal - five minutes walk from the Duomo and 10 minutes from Florence's main train station. Our double room was a delight - antique furniture, fabulous artwork and traditional features including an archway, beamed ceiling and arched window. The whole interior of the hotel was impressive, with artwork adorning most walls. Breakfast too was spot on - served 7.30 - 10.30 with a good selection of croissants, cereals, fruit and cold meats. Staff too were always friendly and happy to help. I would definitely recommend this hotel and I would definitely recommend Florence as a holiday destination.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJ30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I just returned from a mother/daughter trip to Italy for spring break. The 4 of us ( 2 girls who are 18 and their middle aged moms) stayed at the apartment at Il Guelfo Bianco. The accommodations were perfect for us--2 bedrooms, 2 baths (with a washer/dryer) and a large sitting room. Tons of space. I thought it was reasonably priced at $200 euros a night. A nice buffet breakfast is included. The staff at the hotel is very nice and helpful. The hotel restaurant was a treat. Only open for lunch and early dinner, it featured vegetarian and meat options. The chef brought the veggies in from her garden and then cooked them up for us! It was fabulous!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bouldermary56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2012

My husband and I stayed 8 nights in late March 2012 and were very pleased with our stay. We loved the decor and the room was very clean, comfortable and quiet. The staff was friendly, courteous and helpful and the breakfasts were delicious... very fresh with a variety of foods to choose from. We feel Il Guelfo Bianco was exceptionally good value and will definitely stay there again on a return visit to Florence.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

This was our fourth visit to the Guelfo Bianco which must say something. The hotel is well situated with good food and rooms and very helpful and friendly staff - our favourite in Florence.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charl2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed here last week for 3 nights. Very pleasant experience overall, location, service, breakfast, cleanliness and size of the room, all met our expectations. I can only report two minor annoyances, 1. The Wi-Fi signal in our room was unstable so you would lose connection once in a while and 2. the TV in our room had a mind of its own...it was impossible to switch it off, you had to unplug the cable from the socket and sometimes it would switch from satellite to local channels on its own!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stef G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUELFOMANAGER, Manager at Il Guelfo Bianco, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Stef G,

thanks very much for your review. We are happy our room met your expetations. Reagrding the wi/fi signal (as I already wrote in asnwering to other reviews) I am checking day by day if the signal is working all over. Of course I please the customers who have some problem with it to advice the front desk (tehre is someone 24 hours). I am working all day long and if someone has some problems I am always ready to check with them. The technician who follow us with this system cama in even today just to check it and he found one acces point broken and it change it.
Regarding the tv it will be helpful for to know the room number because it's first time I have this kind of report. If you can send me a message I will be really grateful to you.

Thanks again and waiting for welcoming you here again I remain with my best regards.
Antonella Rocchini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Stayed in this hotel from March 5-7, 2012 and it exceeded our expectations in every way. The room and the toilet was spotlessly clean and spacious. The staff were exceptionally helpful and extremely nice to deal with and the breakfast was delicious. This was the best hotel we stayed at, in our three week trip of Tuscany and the South of France.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room close to the elevator. We were lucky to have one far from it but I am sure th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#36 of 422 in Florence
2,670 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 422 in Florence
1,891 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#42 of 422 in Florence
1,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orcagna Hotel
#35 of 422 in Florence
773 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 422 in Florence
3,461 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#51 of 422 in Florence
2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Guelfo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Property: Il Guelfo Bianco
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 29, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Florence
#18 Business Hotel in Florence
#25 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Guelfo Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's housed in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (12 till 10,30 pm but on Sunday it closes at 3,00 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Il Guelfo Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing