We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, one rude staff member”
Review of Il Guelfo Bianco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Il Guelfo Bianco
Ranked #29 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, one rude staff member”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

The hotel is beautiful and spotless. Extra Towels, sewing kits and the like are always at the ready. The quality of the fruits available at breakfast is exceptional and the espresso always fresh. Ask for the rooms at the top floor, it's worth the small flight of stairs. One warning, don't get up early, the woman who is on early in the morning will get angry if you want to take a roll before the breakfast room officially opens.

Room Tip: Top floor for something interesting, front rooms can be a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Villager421523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,660
    509
    82
    15
    5
See reviews for
553
1,144
78
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed here with my husband and 2 kids for 4 nights. Il Guelfo Bianco is a charming hotel well-located in the centre of Florence in five minutes of walking to the Duomo. Charming good size rooms with nice period pieces. Staff is polite, absolutely friendly and amazing. They booked for us the tickets to Uffizi and it was very helpful. The rooms are beautiful and clean. The bathroom is modern and very clean also. Breakfast has everything you need: fruits, yogurts, tea, breads, bruschettas, coffee, and so on. One minus – the parking costs 31 euros per day, but we knew that in advance: staff informed us about parking price during booking. Hotel is just magnificent. We liked Florence and this hotel so much. We will be happy to stay here again and again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nvinnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Charming good size rooms with nice period pieces. Staff, be it at the front desk or bistro is absolutely amazing - so helpful and always smiling and accomodating. Great location as well.

Not ritzy, but a real Jewel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaxGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

The rooms are big and have perfected bringing the old with the new. The rooms are with old antique furnishing and the ceilings are high and engraved with beautiful wood craving of flowers by hand from centuries ago. The airconditioning is cold and the toilet facilities are modern just the way we like it. There were 2 tvs in our room, one for paid tv, the other with free channels.
We stayed for 5 nights and had a great time! Everyone in the hotel was super helpful, they helped us with taxis, booking for tours, ensuring that we had an English speaking driver... Etc. Thanks to Daniele and Antonella for their attention to make our stay special!
Another plus point, the daily breakfast is fantastic! Lots of salami, cheese and fresh fruits! Yum! Healthiest breakfast ever.
Location is good and even though it faces the main street, there are double windows so you don't hear anything from the outside. Only minor point, I wasn't used to the bed being so soft, but I suppose that is more a personal preference.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simpledreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapaa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
177 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Pros -
Central location, close to Accademia and Duomo as well as the Central Market. All of Florence is easily navigable, even without a metro. Easy to walk to the train station. Surrounding area is quiet at night, yet still has easy access to good restaurants. Breakfast was excellent, by far the best of any of the hotels we visited this trip. Yoghurts, muesli, breads, pastries, fresh fruits, bruschetta, cold meats and cheeses, excellent coffee or espresso. Staff were professional and booked our advance tickets to museums, which cut down on our waiting time significantly.

Cons -
Beds were very hard, linens are pretty basic and coarse. I wasn't a fan of the room decor, as I don't like the fake flowers and brocade wall coverings. Yet this is pretty standard for the "historic" hotels in Italy. The electricity (AC, lights, outlets) could only be operated by the key fob for which each room only has one. So if I went out without my daughter I either had no key, or she had no electricity. The fob was a special thick one, so using a similar room card key to activate the electrical system wasn't an option. When we left for the day, we couldn't charge our cameras or computers either.
Also, we booked a day trip through the hotel, requesting a private tour of San Gimigiano, Siena, and Chianti. I specifically booked with them requesting a small group and was told "no more than 20, probably around 8-10". On arrival to the meeting point we saw two large tour buses, each holding 60 people, and they were packed full to the brim. It was a 12 hour scheduled day, the buses were hot with poor ventilation. We opted not to do the tour, and were not able to obtain either a refund from the company OR the booking fee we paid the hotel. I really regretted not doing the Walkabout tour or booking a private tour via TA recommendations on my own, but a tour like that would've been thoroughly unpleasant.

Would we stay again? Maybe, but I'd definitely consider other options more thoroughly.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank washington_wahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, NJ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

The Il Guelfo Bianco is a well run, fun place to stay. My wife and I liked the chic decor in the lobby and rooms. The location was good, near enough to the main attractions but just outside of the major downtown congestion. The service was superb, with the staff offering us great suggestions and guidance, booking taxis, and even making restaurant reservations for us. The rooms were clean and adequate with A/C, One of the highlights is the small cafe downstairs with a good menu. The breakfast was also excellent

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theodore O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasay, Philippines
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights this July. I was really fascinated with their rooms – high ceilings, artsy décor. I especially like our room because there is a separate room for the bed. I had a They have an indoor and an outdoor dining hall. I also appreciate that they have free postcards which you can send hassle free because they sell stamps. Guides, maps and tours brochures are readily available. And did I mention they have free Wi-Fi? Yes!!! :)

The location is also wonderful. It is a 10minute ride from the intercity train and walking distance to almost all the must see places. I am not good at estimation but I think it is just a 5 minute walk to the Duomo and the Baptistery, a little more, and then it is the Santa Croce and the Scuola del Cuoio.

Breakfast is also a delight. Bruschetta, breads, cold cuts, cheese (mozzarella, cheddar, cream cheese) fresh fruits, fruit juice, coffee, chocolate drink - light but certainly filling.

The people of Il Guelfo Bianco, on my opinion, are the hotel’s greatest asset. Friendly and accommodating – service with a smile :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lotus_Ang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#37 of 422 in Florence
2,673 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 422 in Florence
1,896 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#40 of 422 in Florence
1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orcagna Hotel
#35 of 422 in Florence
774 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 422 in Florence
3,469 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#50 of 422 in Florence
2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Guelfo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Property: Il Guelfo Bianco
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 29, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Florence
#18 Business Hotel in Florence
#25 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Guelfo Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's housed in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (12 till 10,30 pm but on Sunday it closes at 3,00 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Il Guelfo Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing