We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat stay, repeat happiness”
Review of Il Guelfo Bianco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Il Guelfo Bianco
Ranked #29 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Repeat stay, repeat happiness”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

This was my second stay at Il Guelfo Bianco. Rooms are great, staff was terrific, and I think they have one of the best breakfasts you'll find in Europe. The location is excellent. Ten minutes to the markets, to the Duomo, to the Piazza della Signoria, and just about any place else.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pbmboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,660
    509
    82
    15
    5
See reviews for
553
1,144
78
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

For those of us in the design business, it can be frustrating to find places to stay that make your heart sing. This hotel has it all. Great location in Florence, excellent service, cleanliness, an indoor courtyard for breakfast, a bistro for lunch or early evening snacks and fabulous rooms.
Our large room had an ancient, hand-painted coffered ceiling and an immense french door looking onto the street. Although the street is busy, the door is triple-shuttered thick so there is minimal noise in the room. There was a built-in wooden armoire and carved doorway arches. The floor was carpeted rather than wood or stone. Not ideal aesthetically, but helpful acoustically.
The bed and bedding were very comfortable.
The bathroom was clean and water pressure very good. For an old property this was a happy surprise, but then again the Romans knew something about plumbing.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colourfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Last August I went to Florence with my couple and stayed at Il Guelfo Bianco. It is among the best hotels I've ever been to.

It is located in the city center, literally 5 minutes walking away from Il Duomo.
The rooms are spacious, and completely clean. The soaps and shampoo are natural, the towels are cleaned everyday, and the bathroom of our room even had a hydromassage shower!
The breakfast is remarkable. Natural products from Italy, such as "bruschetta", fresh fruits, and a variety of hand-made croissants and other sweet things. All in a lovely and peaceful dining hall.
Finally, the staff at reception were extremely kind, always helpful and obliging. Needless to say that their English was very good, they even tried to speak to us in our language so as to even even more friendly.
I don't usually do reviews but this hotel really deserved it.
This is undoubtedly a five-star hotel which happens to lack enough conference rooms to be considered such, but for tourists it is a great opportunity to be in an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elQuesada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We stayed a couple of nights on the way to Rome. First thing you'll note if you plot the hotel is that it's in a great location. Convenient walking distance to museums, restaurants, shops, etc. The hotel itself is a well kept historic building. The dining area had a nice outdoor courtyard and there was another nice balcony on the floor near our room for sitting and drinking coffee. The breakfast selection was good. I drove to Florence so had to park the car. The hotel took care of it no problem. For my small Tigra the cost was 27 euro per day. We booked a room for two adults and two children and it was plenty big enough for us and had a nice layout. The staff was very friendly and helpful, typical of the people of Florence and not so of the people of Rome. I still love Rome. Michaelangelo's David is just around the corner. Go see it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesertsoccerAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2012

This small hotel if great for a base in central Florence. It's a few steps from the Palazzo Medici and a walk from everything else you want to see in Florence. You can walk from the station if your bags aren't huge. We popped back during the day to get stuff we forgot, have a shower etc. The room(42) was decorated in Tuscan style with a big bathroom, comfortable bed and, best of all, a view of the Duomo and campanile. Breakfast also good with plenty of fruit, yogourt, cereal and breads (although the croissants weren't baked that day...usual for Italy). The staff were nice and wanted guests to enjoy the hotel.

Room Tip: top floor with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ealinghelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012 via mobile

Loved this hotel, exceptionally friendly staff who will happily help with your Italian!!
The breakfast cafe serves wonderfully fresh Tuscan produce and a wide variety of foods. The only negative is that breakfast isn't served til 730, if you are planning any day tours you'll miss out.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suetopia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed one night at the Guelfo Bianco one night on our way to Paris. We had spent 4 nights at the beginning of our trip at the superb Hotel David, which is beyond wonderful but a bit of a walk to town, so thought this hotel, in the center of town, would be a change of pace for our last night. It is very centrally located, but it was a disappointment. It's worn down, a very dark room, heavy brocade fabric on the windows and bed, somewhat strangely decorated with a combination of ornate florentine style and modern art--an arrangement of dusty silk flowers on the dresser. If I thought I was going to stay 4 nights I would have been very unhappy. The bathroom was quite clean, but again worn out--the shower door was broken off so you could only take a bath or the water spewed out, flooding the bathroom floor. Everything was clean, but a bit musty. On the positive side, it had good air conditioning, the breakfast was excellent, although served in the basement so a little dark again, there was a nice bar and a bistro that served food and had olive oil tastings, and the staff was friendly. In the end, it was adequate for the center of town, but I wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mettadreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUELFOMANAGER, Manager at Il Guelfo Bianco, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Dear Mettadreams,
I am sorry you didn’t like your stay here. First of all I wish to point out that the hotel David is hosed in late nineteenth century villa while our hotel is housed in a late 15th century building so you must admit there could be difference between these two buildings. Usually our guests appreciate a lot our decorations and also the mix with an important collection of contemporary art and we always present our hotel mentioning these details. I suppose you read about us before to make the booking. I am sorry for the silk flowers you found with dust; our chambermaid usually clean carefully the flowers and I am sorry you found those ones in your room were not clean. Regarding the bathroom maybe you could advice us when you were here if there was a problem with your shower, we could took care of it immediately. It’s the first time someone write that something was “a bit musty”: I went with the chambermaid in several rooms today but we could have this feeling at all. You write that the room was a bit dark: in all of our rooms we have energy saving buls so usually it takes few more second to have a full light but than they work perfectly. However when you booked the room you could ask for an higher floor. I am very surprised you found also our breakfast room dark . It’s a lovely and large room with very large windows overlooking our courtyard and all of our customers love it and they find our very light. Maybe the style of our hotel was not what you were looking for or what you usually like. Thanks for the nice words you had for our staff and I am happy you like at least our breakfast buffet. You wrote you wouldn’t stay here again …however if you change your mind and you want to try our hotel again write me directly so I will do my best to assign to you a room which could be good for your tastes. Luckily we have 40 rooms, all different in size and position and all with original antique furnitures and I am sure we could find one for you.
Best regards.
Antonella Rocchini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#36 of 422 in Florence
2,673 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 422 in Florence
1,896 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#40 of 422 in Florence
1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orcagna Hotel
#35 of 422 in Florence
773 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 422 in Florence
3,469 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#50 of 422 in Florence
2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Guelfo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Property: Il Guelfo Bianco
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 29, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Florence
#18 Business Hotel in Florence
#25 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Guelfo Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's housed in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (12 till 10,30 pm but on Sunday it closes at 3,00 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Il Guelfo Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing