We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great location”
Review of Il Guelfo Bianco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Il Guelfo Bianco
Ranked #32 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place, great location”
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We spent 5 nights at this hotel the end of October with another couple and it was a wonderful experience. The hotel is a charming and part of the fun of staying there is that it has a wonderful, old world feel to it. There are a lot of restaurants in the area and shopping is close by and most importantly, the David, the Duomo and the Uffisi are all close by as well. The staff was wonderful, there were several very cozy places and patios to sit and have a glass of wine, and the prices were right for such a centrally located hotel. It is but a few minutes to the train station. We had a "we're home" feeling while we were there and will certainly make it "home" the next time we are in Florence.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,678
    513
    83
    17
    5
See reviews for
564
1,155
79
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, CO
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I stayed here for one night in October with a group of friends and we wish we could have stayed longer. The hotel is conveniently located just steps away from the Duomo, Accademia, shopping and restaurants. The rooms are beautifully decorated with antiques and period pieces and most are very spacious and all are affordably priced! The upper floor has a nice view of the Duomo and campanile. The staff was very helpful to us throughout our stay. One of our party had had her passport, credit cards and cash stolen on the train from Pisa and the hotel staff helped us contact the US Embassy and took calls from her husband back in the states for her. They were a great help in a time of crisis! The breakfast had many choices of food to suit our varying tastes and cappuccino to order! Would recommend this hotel to anyone! Loved it!

Room Tip: Request upper rooms for the view or the superior and deluxe rooms for more space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AWWTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

A five day stay at Il Guelfo Bianco in Florence, Italy, was one of the best choices we made on our recent 23 day trip to Italy. Location just steps away from the Duomo and only a few blocks from the Accademia was ideal and the accommodation was comfortable and well-appointed. As important as those things, however, it was the staff who made our stay exceptional: Giulia greeted us on arrival and, at our request, cheerfully assisted a young couple who had helped us with our luggage to make reservations at l'Accademia and the Uffizi. She then led us to our room, which opened onto a small courtyard and offered all the amenities we had hoped to find. During our stay Antonella, Giulia, Sara, Elena, Shams and the rest of the fine staff all contributed to our pleasure at being in the heart of Florence. It was fully a five-star experience.
Mary Dee Taylor and Sylvia Orton of Little Rock, AR

Room Tip: We had asked for a first floor room and apparently were given a handicapped room which was perfect f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdtullow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in October and loved this quaint hotel. The rooms are nice, clean and surprisingly quiet considering you are in the middle of the city. The location is convenient to walk to everything, even the train station as long as you have rolling luggage. The staff is extremely accommodating and will help with tickets and reservations if possible. The breakfast is good and you can eat inside or on the patio. There is a bistro next door and it is easy to get a bottle of wine and glasses for your room. We stayed a second time for one night and we rented the apartment as it was only thing available. It is very spacious and sleeps 8. Keep this in mind for a larger group or two families as it was quite reasonably priced. We recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJH101964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthington, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We spent 3 nights in the Il Guelfo Bianco in Florence. The main attraction of this hotel is the great location. We walked everywhere. The Duomo is right down the street. Our room was very simple, however, it did have a small balconyoverlooking Via Cavour. The shower leaked all over the floor everytime we used it. The breakfast was very good and most of the staff spoke English.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy51177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUELFOMANAGER, Manager at Il Guelfo Bianco, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Dear Nancy51177,

Thank for your review. I don’t know what’s happen in this period….usually we got very nice reviews by our guests while in this time it seems that many of our guest left the hotel no so happy.... it’s like we have to fight a war as we are getting several reviews with a final ranking of 3 which is definitely lower than our score …but we are able to be valid warriors. Telling the truth we are a bit surprised to read so many reviews with a low score …we try every day to do our best to satisfy the guests needs but maybe with some of you we did something wrong and we have been not able to leave you a god memory about your stay with us. If we made some mistakes we will work on it and we will do our best to avoid in the future to do them again. We are against any kin dof war, but if we fight demonstrate to you all that we deserve to be among the top hotels in Florence.

Regarding your room: we assigned to you a lovely executive double room as you booked. The executive room have a standard size and of course they are smaller than the superior or de luxe or the junior suite which are even more expensive but as the largest rooms are all equipped with antique furniture, handmade curtains, full equipped bathrooms with hand painted ceramics and also with all the best comforts (free wi/fi – sky tv- refrigerator- safety box- telephone and so on) . If you had problems with the shower I have to say sorry . Usually the chambermaid when there is a problem in the bathroom they advice us immediately . I don’t know if you advice us about this problem you had with the shower because if you did usually we are very fast to solve a problem. You stayed here beginning of October and now it seems eveything is working perfectly in that bathroom . Please please please if you have a kind of problem in your room advice us when you are here. I will never stop to repeat it. However I please you to accept my apologies.
Regading your review I can understand you were not completely satisfy. Once again sorry if we have been not able to leave you a great memory. I hope to welcome you once again here at the hotel , hoping to get a 5 next time.
Best regards.
Antonella Rocchini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

This is a charming, well-run hotel in the heart of Florence. Our room was wonderful, facing the garden out the back of the building. The bathroom was new and very nice. The hotel is full of antiques; the rooms are all different because the building is a 15th or 16th century palazzo. The people at the front desk were uniformly helpful and friendly. Breakfast buffet was very good. If you prefer more standardized hotels with predictable rooms and large lobbies, this is not the hotel for you, but if you like character and charm with all the mod cons, you'll like Il Guelpho Bianco.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlooking the garden are quiet and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
venice
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Stayed 6 nights from 17th Oct good location only about 150m from duomo, rooms ok but ours had only one wardrob with no hooks,only about 10 hangers no draws to put anything,we where on top level faceing the road ,you had to close windows very good quod glassing to keep the noise out.The aircon was ok but not great as you could only alter the temp from 24c to 22c,so was quite hot at night.Breakfast was ok but would go to pot if hotel was full,they did not have enough plates,plus you had to wait for refill of some food,had hard bolied eggs on table,but when asked for fried eggs was told thats extra euros.

Room Tip: I think rooms at back could be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUELFOMANAGER, Manager at Il Guelfo Bianco, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Dear Pinnock,

thank you for your review. We always read carefully what the customers write and we like also to give the answers especially when they have a complain.
Rooms: our rooms are all equipped with ORIGINAL antique furniture and usually people like them very much. Even the wardrobes are antique but they are enough large to store the clothes. In every wardrobes there are hangers but if you need more you could simply ask to the front desk assistants who immediately provide more hangers. When you were here you could ask us to have more of them and we could provide them to you . 10 hangers can be a lot if people travel light but they can be not enough if people has many things in the suitacases. We do prefer if you ask us so you could be happy because we solve your problem and we will be not angry to read it just when you left. We tried to do our best to guarantee an enjoyable stay to everybody but when someone has a problem it’s very important for us to know about it in time. The rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street to the Duomo square are all equipped with triple glasses and double windows to avoid noises. If you keep the windows closed you cannot here noisy from the street. Via Cavour is now 70% pedestrian street so is not so noisy but if you like to keep the windows open of course they are not so quite like rooms on the back side. If you like to keep the windows open you can ask us to have a room on the back side. Usually we try to meet all the guest needs even if sometimes during the high season is not so easy (however we have many customers who prefer rooms on the street side because they like to look have a city view). Regarding air condition: in every room there is a small computer to settle the air condition: you are right you can lower the temperature till 22 degrees which is acceptable if outside the temperature is over 30 degrees. The most important thing is to keep the window closed: if the window are open automatically the air condition stops (we choose this system to avoid to waste energy as we try to do our part to preserve our planet already too stressed due to the pollution). If you were here during the month of October temperature in the night was lower than 10 degrees so I could be not so hot in the room, maybe the reason you felt hot, it was simply because the air condition didn’t work due to the open windows. You could advice about it our front desk guarded 24 hours a day and they could solve your problem in less than 5 seconds checking on the main air condition computer we have on the desk.
Breakfast: I can ensure to you that we do have enough dishes to serve breakfast even when our hotel is full. Maybe if many customers have breakfast all at the same time the buffet table was out of them but luckily our breakfast room staff are always very fast to replace them like they do their best to refill the food as we made everything express it’s possible sometimes we need more than 10 seconds to replace everything , but I could guarantee to you all of the guys and the girls they work here they do their best to replace the buffet till end of the breakfast. I have to say sorry if you found the boiled eggs a bit hard, usually people is very happy about them. We had so many nice reviews but our customers who loved our buffet with all fresh and organic dishes and as many hotels we have also some items which are not included and they can be prepared on request for an extra charge (like fried eggs or scrumbled eggs). However on our buffet you can find either boiled eggs and also peeled boiled eggs with vegetables.
I hope I gave you enough answer to all your complains but I would like to repeat one more time…if you have some complain which ca be easily solve when you are here please ask us….sometimes its’ so easy to solve a problem if we know about it…
I really hope to welcome you here again whenever you decide to come back in Florence

We are a bit sad in this period because we got several reviews with a grade below our average even if every day we work hard and with same kind of passion, enthusiasm and always with a smile …. I hope you can trust us the goal is make you happy :-)

Antonella Rocchini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#39 of 412 in Florence
2,716 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 412 in Florence
3,497 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#35 of 412 in Florence
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 412 in Florence
1,942 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#43 of 412 in Florence
2,083 reviews
Hotel David
#2 of 412 in Florence
3,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Guelfo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Property: Il Guelfo Bianco
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 29, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Florence
#18 Business Hotel in Florence
#25 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Guelfo Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's housed in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (12 till 10,30 pm but on Sunday it closes at 3,00 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Il Guelfo Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing