We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 3rd stay in one year”
Review of Il Guelfo Bianco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Il Guelfo Bianco
Ranked #32 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, PA
Level 6 Contributor
1,431 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,813 helpful votes
“Our 3rd stay in one year”
Reviewed 15 January 2013

This charming and beautifully appointed hotel is very conveniently located. You can easily walk to all the major sights. The staff are pleasant and professional.

Prior to our first visit, I had numerous emails with various staff to decide which room to book. After I made my decision, they agreed to assign that room to me. Now, I supppose because they have become very popular, they are reluctant to guarantee a particular room - even if booked months in advance. Fortunately, we have been able to get the room we wanted for all three of our visits. It is a beautiful, spacious room with high coffered ceilings and antique furnishings. It is quiet since it faces the courtyard.

The breakfast is one of the best I have ever had. Everything is fresh and very tasty. Their brochure explains where where the milk, olive oil and many of the other products come from. It is obvious everything is of the highest quality. I just wish breakfast were served earlier than 7:30. The major museums in Florence open at 8:15. The three days we were at the hotel, the breakfast room was very busy at 7:30. There was only one (very hard working) person who was setting up the buffet and taking and preparing the hot beverage orders. If breakfast were served earlier, perhaps everyone would not come at the same time since I am sure many of the "early birds" were there for the same reason we were - to get to the museums for 8:15 reservations.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank luvroma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,678
    513
    83
    17
    5
See reviews for
564
1,155
79
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

All I can say is thank you for your wonderful hospitaility I enjoyed for my first visit to Florence. The room, breakfast and location were excellent. When I return, I will be staying at your place again. Now if I can just figure out how to get your staff to make me an expresso in my home in the states. Great time and experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelTreaveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2013

This was our second stay at the Il Guelfo Bianco in Florence. We had 2 rooms for 3 nights and our family of 4 enjoyed the hospitality very much. The hotel location is excellent and the staff is very helpful and knowledgable which helps considerably. The rooms are comfortable and very clean. The inlcuded breakfast has a variety of wonderful items which helps begin the day. We will gladly stay in this fine hotel on our next trip to Florence. Good job, well done.
Thank very much.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I booked this hotel for 4 nights for my parents and I. My parents loved the quaint feeling of the hotel, thought the staff were very gracious and enjoyed the spacious room and bathroom. The breakfast is a great value, with delicious cold cut meats, cheese, yogurt, granola, fruit AND they have an espresso bar so they make you lattes, cappuccinos etc!

We also loved the welcome drink we received.

The only thing i thought the hotel might be able to improve upon was the wifi, which is a little inconvenient to use since you have to re-enter a username/ password everytime you want to use it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missmoto05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUELFOMANAGER, Manager at Il Guelfo Bianco, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Dear mussmoto05,

I wish to thank you very much for the nice words you had for our hotel and we are so happy you liked our breakfast.
Regarding the wi-fi I wish to inform you and all the TripAdvisors readers that we do have a line available only for the hotel guests which is offer free of charge. . When we settle the wi/fi system we could choose between a system where you have to enter an user and a password or a system where you have to enter only a password. If the system requires only a password you need to enter it only once and then you can surf always if the system requires both (user and password as our system) every time you wish to surf you must enter user and password again. That’s why when a customer arrived we always print for him/her a paper with user and password.
I really hope to welcome you here again and I remain with my best regards
Antonella Rocchini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

The location cannot be beat! The breakfasts were wonderful, all fresh and organic ingredients. The coffee was the best in all of Italy that I tried (and I tried a lot of coffee). The staff were very helpful. Caution driving to the hotel, there are limited traffic zones, read about this if you do not know what they are. Follow the directions given by the hotel, not Google. Parking is expensive.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

My husband, sister and brother in law stayed here 2 nights at the beginning of November 2012. We had an amazing trip all throughout Italy, but this was one of our favorite hotels!
The room was very large, even for US standards. It had a sitting area, area for our luggage, desk, and a nice sized bathroom. The window overlooked a beautiful courtyard.
The staff was so helpful. They really made our trip special. Everything from helping with dining choices and reservations, helping us get a taxi large enough for 4 of us and our 11 pieces of luggage, communicating with a winery that we had to change a reservation for in Tuscany, getting us museum reservations, serving us at the bar late night after dinner, and even chilling a bottle of Limoncello for us for the following day.
Thank you Antonella, Giulia, Daneile, Dario, Francesco, Evelyn, Shams, Sara, Federico, Elena, and Denny. We will definitely recommend you for others traveling to Firenze!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilana01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed 5 nights at this hotel in August 2012, and it was a wonderful stay! Our room was huge by European standards. The staff was helpful and very nice. According to their brochure, the family who owns the hotel also owns a farm and sells their olive oil in the hotel, which is wonderful. Also, the breakfast buffet was a typical, cold European breakfast extravaganza! Every day there was fresh buffalo mozzarella. The staff makes coffees to order. The beds featured the thickest, crispest cotton sheets I've ever seen. the bathroom was beautifully decorated with loud Italian red tiles. My only complaint: our room was over the central courtyard, and despite the double windows being closed, the early morning noise was extremely loud, with plates and silverware clanging and every voice echoing up the walls. The location is superb, close to everything. This hotel is a great value, and we would stay again any time.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUELFOMANAGER, Manager at Il Guelfo Bianco, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Dear Carol C,

thank you for the review and we are happy you remember to write about us after so many months as you stayed here last August.
I do apologize regarding the noise you heard in the morning. Usually our staff is always leave the door closed between the kitchen and the courtyard to avoid problems with the guests. Maybe during those days they didn't . Sorry. I do promise you we will do our best do not forget it open.....however maybe windorws yoru room was not closed in the right way because with double windows closed you should never hear noise.
We really hope to welcome you here again whenever you decide to come back in Florence.
Best regards and take care.
Antonella Rocchini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#39 of 412 in Florence
2,716 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 412 in Florence
3,497 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#35 of 412 in Florence
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 412 in Florence
1,942 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#43 of 412 in Florence
2,083 reviews
Hotel David
#2 of 412 in Florence
3,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Guelfo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Property: Il Guelfo Bianco
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 29, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Florence
#18 Business Hotel in Florence
#25 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Guelfo Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's housed in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (12 till 10,30 pm but on Sunday it closes at 3,00 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Il Guelfo Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing