We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, charming, sophisticated and friendly”
Review of Il Guelfo Bianco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Il Guelfo Bianco
Ranked #29 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
“Elegant, charming, sophisticated and friendly”
Reviewed 9 March 2013

This hotel is approx 20 mins from airport. 20 euros by taxi or if had a long journey, you can ask the hotel to supply adriver to pick you up for approx 40 euros which we done.
The hotel sits in a 1500's style building situated just 5 mins walk from the Duomo. Our welcome at reception was great & all reception staff were very friendly during our stay. Our room was 202 overlooking the street but with 4 different types of shutter on the window, we had a very peaceful sleep every night. The room had character & charm with high ceiling and period furniture. Just a few things not in room which was not a problem for me but worth a mention. No hot press, tea/coffee facility or iron. Draw space is limited to one draw in wardrobe.
Bathroom was clean with great shower.
Breakfast was taken in a pleasant dining room off reception area with contemporary artwork throughout the whole hotel. Food was excellent as was the selection. No cooked breakfast available for those who like it. Personally, I hate cooked breakfast and go for continental and there was enough selection for all. Staff were attentive and friendly.
Forget taxis from here. The hotel is situated just nicely for everything. Turn right out of hotel and 5 mins you at the Duomo, 10 mins Piazza Repubblica, 15 mins Ponte Vecchio. If going shopping which it is hard not too. What I found was that if you go right at the Duomo, you enter the centre but all high end shops but if you go left, we found shops like vintage clothing, art shops. shoe makers, chocolate makers and small wine shops. Please explore the little side streets. Just walk. The city is safe, plenty of police visible. Also plenty of restaurants nearby.
Railway station only 15 min walk if you decide to go to Pisa, Ticket approx 16 euro each and about an hour journey. Loved this hotel and Florence.

Room Tip: We had an executive room and from what I heard, the rooms on floor one or two seem to be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,658
    508
    82
    15
    5
See reviews for
552
1,143
77
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

I have been recommending this hotel to people visiting Florence for the past 20 years (since I was a student there) but had never had the occasion to stay there myself until this past weekend. I now know why all the people I had sent there over the years were so happy with my recommendation... the hotel is in a perfect location to explore Florence (minutes from the Duomo and Academia and the Mercato Centrale) and most importantly, every single person we encountered at the front desk was lovely and went out of their way to make our visit to Florence great. Thank you Il Guelfo Bianco!

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and got placed on the top floor right next to the elevator. It was perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ossining, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

The bad news: we booked in for 6 nights based on TripAdvisor reviews. Several room tips mentioned "room with balcony," "room with view." Upon arrival, the hotel did not appear to be tightly booked and given that we had booked a "junior suite" we were shocked to discover that our "patio," was the tiled floor of an airshaft, furnished with table and chairs. Our room window looked out into yet another air shaft. Truly frightening. The desk clerk responded surly when asked for a room with an exterior view, telling us that the room we were given was one of the best in the hotel. Eventually, he gave me the key to two others--one at the front with heavy shutters on the windows, which are blocked from opening by a balustrade on the outside of the building--and another at the back with windows that opened out giving views to the backs of private, working class residential housing and offering a slice of ordinary Florentine life. We chose it, Room 336, and remained there for our 6 night stay. (Would not recommend opting for premium priced room, since no difference made itself apparent.) Good news: the hotel is in an excellent location: 5 minutes from the Duomo, 5 minutes from Accademia, etc. The breakfast is ample, wholesome, the homemade jams delicious! Had an unexpectedly delightful lunch in il Desco Bistrot, part of the hotel, featuring organic products fresh from the hotel owners' family farm. My choices were all vegetarian, wonderfully flavourful, and a gratifying break from the overindulgence of my other meals on this trip. Overall, il Guelfo Bianco is recommended, especially for a first-time trip to Florence. But for "views" book elsewhere, or be content absorbing them while outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Other postings mention "views." Lower your architectural expectations--or be disappointed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Desmond G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUELFOMANAGER, Manager at Il Guelfo Bianco, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Dear Desmond,

thank for your review and let’s start from the good news you wrote: I am happy you did appreciate our location (the hotel is right 5 minutes from the Duomo, less than 5 minutes from from the Accademia) and I am really happy you liked our breakfast and you enjoyed our next door bistro.
Regarding the bad news: room 336 is overlooking one of our two patios (the smallest one) and usually is a very popular room because it’s large and comfortable and extremely quiet. The small patio we have on the low floor is not a “garden” but it’s simply a patio with some tables and chairs available anytime for our customers. We do have also another patio available also as the outside breakfast area when it’s warm and sunny and it’s really lovely with a very old olive tree in the middle. Even this patio is a real patio not a “garden” . We have several superior rooms overlooking a garden (which is not part of our hotel but it’s a garden of a private house just in front of the hotel on the back side). Than we have also very large de luxe or junior suite overlooking Via Cavour which the main street of the city center full of old palaces. We have also rooms overlooking the rooftops of Florence. We never wrote we have rooms with special view as our hotel is located in a main street from the main side and on a back street or a garden on the back side. I am sorry you were disappointed with the view of that room but our front desk assistant did his best showing you also some difference rooms but maybe you had an idea about “view” we couldn’t meet. As you wrote on your suggestion mainly we could offer a view with architectural expatiations or (I can add) with a garden view for some superior rooms or overlooking a courtyard or patio. However the architectural expiations in a city like Florence which is well know as cradle of Renaissance and it’s famous all over the world for its beautiful and antique palaces, it could a plus from my point of view . Our front desk assistants are always ready to give many information about our rooms, the size and position and we try to do our best to satisfy all the meets so I hope I wrote enough information for everybody who wish to make a booking here at our hotel. I really hope to meet welcome you here again whenever you come back in Florence.
Take care and best regards.
Antonella Rocchini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed at the Il Guelfo Bianco for three nights in mid-February 2013. We were a family of 4- parents and two teenage daughters. The highlights were the warmth and professionalism of the staff, the charming historic rooms, the decent sized, updated bathrooms (we stayed in a quad room - 228), the substantial breakfast (although a little variety would be welcome), the excellent coffee, the great service, the attached restaurant next door has truly wonderful food, and just an all around excellent stay.
The down sides were that we were facing the street and despite the double glazed windows, street noise late at night was a bit of a bother. The location, which is on a commercialized street, can be seen as a positive - lots of options including a McDonalds next door, or a negative (McD's next door, too commercial).
I would have given it a 4.5 stars if I could have. Everything was wonderful, but just a touch shy of the full 5 stars (and I am a tough rater).

Room Tip: Upper floor is probably better. If bothered by noise, chose a room away from street. We had a terri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanFam2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

One block north of the Duomo, west of the Accademia and east of Santa Maria Novella: couldn't be easier to get around the sights of Florence. Walkable from the station but only with fairly portable luggage.

I didn't find the interior as special as other reviewers. We had a junior suite which was a spacious double, dressing room and bathroom. Yes it had a painted timber ceiling but the hotel didn't feel quite as "palazzo" as I had expected from other descriptions. There are probably more quaint places to stay in Florence but probably not with this location and at this price. The internal courtyards would definitely be a big plus on warmer days as a refuge from sight seeing.

Highly recommended as a comfortable and convenient central base for tourists.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LondonStravaiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUELFOMANAGER, Manager at Il Guelfo Bianco, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Dear Londonstravaiger,
we do thank you for the review and we are happy you had a nice stay with us. I dind’t understand really what you mean when you write that the hotel didn’t feel like a “palazzo”. Our hotel is housed in two late 15th century palaces completely renewed. The owners tried to maintain the original details where possible like brick arches, wood ceilings, some frescoes on the ceiling and they equipped all the rooms with original antique furniture like antique cabinets, antique headboards, handmade curtains, original antique mirrors. That’s why all the rooms here are different in size and position. All the pictures showed in our webpage and also pictures made by the customers and added on Tripadvisor showed many antique details you can find in our hotel either in the rooms or in the drawing rooms. If you like to write me back and give me more details about your feeling I will really appreciate it.
However I am happy you like your rooms and also our courtyards. Hoping for welcoming you here one again, I remain with my best regards.
Antonella Rocchini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2013

All facilities excellent but the hotel is made by its staff who were all quite brilliant during our week long stay. Our room at the back of the first floor was very quiet and overlooked a charming couryard. The hotel's location is within easy walking distance of the main city attractions and simple to find if arriving by rail.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back will be quiter with absolutley no traffice noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We stayed at the Il Guelfo Bianco for three nights. The hotel is in a great location to see the top sights in Florence and just outside the super busy, crowded parts. We arrived via train and its an easy walk from the station. The Duomo is just down the street and the local markets are only around the corner. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful, showing us close by attractions on a map as soon as we arrived.

The hotel itself is old but our room was clean. We stayed on the top floor and had to maneuver a tight staircase from where the elevator drops you off. The room had three large windows with a great view of the Florence skyline.

While the room itself is old the bathroom is updated and spotless. We had lunch at the restaurant on the main floor and the prices were great.

In the morning the complimentary breakfast has tons of options and staff work quickly to serve you coffee and clear tables. When we booked our room we also had them reserve us museum tickets to see the statue of David and were we ever glad. The line to the museum was huge and if we hadn't planned ahead we would have ended up leaving.

Over all I would recommend this hotel for location and service.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrozycki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#36 of 422 in Florence
2,670 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 422 in Florence
1,891 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#42 of 422 in Florence
1,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orcagna Hotel
#35 of 422 in Florence
773 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 422 in Florence
3,461 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#51 of 422 in Florence
2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Guelfo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Property: Il Guelfo Bianco
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 29, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Florence
#18 Business Hotel in Florence
#25 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Guelfo Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's housed in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (12 till 10,30 pm but on Sunday it closes at 3,00 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Il Guelfo Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing