We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in Firenze”
Review of Il Guelfo Bianco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Il Guelfo Bianco
Ranked #30 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Maui, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent stay in Firenze”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Just returned from a short visit to Firenze and stayed at Il Guelfo Bianco, where we received excellent and friendly service even before we arrived. Corresponding with the staff on various occasions planning our trip was helpful and easeful. On arrival, we were greeted by Julia, who immediately became a friend. We were welcomed with a free drink and appetizers at the hotel's restaurant, which offered quite delicious organic food from their own organic farm in Tuscany. The hotel room itself was so much better than we expected--quite large, beautifully decorated, comfortable and quiet. We didn't want to leave! The hotel itself is delightful to walk through, with lovely artwork and fashion decorating each floor. It would be worth your time to take a stroll on each floor and find the hidden treasures. The breakfast offerings were exceptional and generous and presented in the hotel's delightful breakfast room. The hotel is extremely well located to see all the sights of Firenze. All in all, it was one of our best stays in Europe and made our time in Firenze memorable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarvaMangalam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,671
    512
    83
    17
    5
See reviews for
561
1,151
79
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We had a great long weekend break staying here. Great rooms, with a very central location (just over five minutes walk to the Duomo) and very friendly and helpful staff. Despite the central location the rooms are quiet. The hotel decor is smartly stylish. We required two rooms and these were helpfully allocated very closely. Good breakfast. Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GailA41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, TN
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We first stayed here 9 years ago. The travel agency my mother worked for used this hotel for their tour groups with great success and we had a wonderful stay. Our latest stay was as good as the first. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The room was very clean and comfortable. Our inside room was quiet and we did not hear and street noise off the busy Via Cavour. The included continental breakfast was a very good and the welcome cocktail in the adjacent cafe bar included a delicious sampling plate.
The location is excellent. We had only light bags so we walked from the Florence train station. The hotel is close enough to the main sites for easy strolling, but far enough away that you are not impacted by the crowds of tourists.

Room Tip: We requested an inside room to avoid any street noise, which they will give you whenever possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_and_Consuelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This lovely hotel is perfectly situated, close to Duomo, Uffizi and Ponte Vecchio. It has a real Italian atmosphere with cosy rooms and very nice staff.
The service is really excellent. Being a celiac, I need to follow a gluten-free diet. Gluten-free bread and pastries are available at breakfast upon simple request.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aBelgianTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Our family of four recently spent from 4 nights in Florence at Il Guelfo Bianco. We LOVED this hotel in every way. We had two rooms (225 & 226). Both were spacious, clean, comfortable, quiet (facing interior courtyard) and truly Florentine in decor: exactly what we were looking for in a Florence hotel. And rates are reasonable. The staff (Dario, Daniele and others) were friendly, helpful and fun. (Daniele, next time we visit, you owe me a drink for helping Fiorentina defeat AC Milan. Just having me think about betting on Milan make Fiorentina win 2-0!)

The free breakfast offered a nice selection. The breads/cakes/pies/pastries were delicious, and there is plenty of seating inside and outside.

Take some time (we didn't take enough) to explore the different floors. There is artwork, antiques, patios, and other surprises around each corner. Wi-fi was excellent most of the time. Once or twice it slowed down, but overall we had no issues. Our rooms had a convenient device that offered charging cords for a variety of electronic equipment.

Thank you Il Guelfo Bianco for making our stay in Florence truly memorable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Selected this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews. I was not disappointed. The exterior is modest but the interior is a trip back in time. Rooms are quiet, comfortable and along with hallways are full of interesting art. Just a block from Academia and three from Duomo. Market nearby as are many comfortable restaurants. Staff was great; friendly and helpful. We hope to visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thom m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Lovely hotel, excellent location and very good service. The location of the hotel is very convenient for central Florence but although it's in a busy part of Florence the hotel is quiet and peaceful inside. We asked for a room at the back of the hotel and we were given a superior room with a view over the roof tops - very quiet apart from one afternoon when a young American woman was skyping her friends back in the US very loudly from her apartment balcony that backed onto the hotel. It was very informative about her life and time in Florence! Bed was very comfy and bathroom clean and well equipped. House keeping was excellent and done promptly every day. Good breakfast with plenty of choice and front desk staff were extremely helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Essexrosabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#36 of 411 in Florence
2,697 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 411 in Florence
3,489 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#37 of 411 in Florence
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 411 in Florence
1,923 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#39 of 411 in Florence
1,750 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#46 of 411 in Florence
2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Guelfo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Property: Il Guelfo Bianco
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 29, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Florence
#18 Business Hotel in Florence
#25 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Guelfo Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's housed in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (12 till 10,30 pm but on Sunday it closes at 3,00 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Il Guelfo Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing