We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch”
Review of Il Guelfo Bianco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Il Guelfo Bianco
Ranked #27 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Lovely, unique hotel in a great location. Superb Room, full of character with some lovely touches. Breakfast was really good, fresh food and plenty of choice. Make sure you try the on site bistro, simply stunning, the guys in there (Shams & Francesco) really knowledgable and friendly bringing the great food to life.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelingduda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

695 - 701 of 2,417 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

Great customer focus. The staff was extremely attentive. The rooms were quiet and romantic. Check out the hotel's restaurant - the food was fantastic. We started our holiday with lunch there and decided to have our end of holiday lunch there as well.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank A O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We were travelling with two kids (younger 10 months, older almost 3) and required some special attention e.g. regarding preparation for food for the younger one. The staff, all of them, are very friendly and helpful. They all seem to love kids and did not bother about the hassle that a family of small kids sometimes brings when the kids are tired.

The touch of the hotel was very personal right after making the booking. They ensured that we will fit into the room with two kids and luggage. The same feeling continued when we arrived to the hotel - they knew who we were already when we entered the reception area.

We could not possibly have picked a better hotel for our stay in Florence! (And the hotel restaurant was excellent too!)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suvi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had a wonderful 3 night stay at this hotel last month. The hotel was located 10 minutes from all the sights. The rooms were large and spotless. The breakfast was very good with pastries, cereals, boiled eggs, meats, cheeses, yogurt, etc.
But what sets this hotel apart from other hotels is the staff. Every staff member acted as if they were your own personal concierge at a 5 star hotel. Before we arrived in Florence, the obtained our reservations for the Academia and Uffizi. They made dinner recommendations and reservations. They made phone calls for taxis. They took out maps and showed us the best walking routes. They gave us guide books when we visited Siena. They printed out train and bus schedules for us.
Thank you to Giulia, Dario, Evelyn, Antonelli, and the rest of the staff for making our Florence stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank allynjfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

How many hotels are there in Florence? Hundreds, at least - and some of them are pretty dire. So when you find an exceptionally good one, you go back (and you recommend it to your friends). We've stayed at Il Guelfo Bianco three times and will stay there again; and the friends we've sent there have all fallen in love with this superb little hotel.
The location is ideal, a couple of hundred metres from the Duomo (which is visible from several of the rooms) and Florence's wonderful markets. The rooms are great, with comfortable beds, good furnishings - even the olive oil soap is terrific! - the architecture is charming and quirky; the staff are friendly, helpful and genuinely caring (for our last visit a few weeks ago, Antonella put us in the room we'd stayed in on our first visit four years ago); and Il Des o, the tiny bistrot next door, does brilliant meals.
Il Guelfo Bianco is a gem.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUELFOMANAGER, Manager at Il Guelfo Bianco, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Hello Carson C,

what to say dear friend! You are our best public relation man of the entire Australia! It' s always a pleasure for us to welcome you here. Smiling and nice people! Welll I know I will see you again because this is your florentine house when you are here around!
Grazie and thanks thanks thanks :-)
Antonella Rocchini
htl mngr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We spent 4 nights here on our first visit to Florence, a delightful hotel with good decor being an interesting mix old antique furniture and modern art- it works very well. All staff are helpful, friendly and knowledgeable, making choosing places oaf interest and restaurants very easy. The organic food is worth a mention too. We wish this hotel success and will be returning there when next we visit Florence.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Very nice hotel just 2 minutes walk from the Duomo.It is a very nice and clean property with very friendly front office staff. Even the dinning room staff is very nice and helpful. They help me plan my visit to Pisa as well.

The breakfast is nice as well. We enjoyed our stay there and I would recommend my friends there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HussainNalwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#39 of 410 in Florence
2,276 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 410 in Florence
3,350 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#44 of 410 in Florence
1,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#24 of 410 in Florence
2,092 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#12 of 410 in Florence
3,580 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#40 of 410 in Florence
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Guelfo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Address: Via Camillo Cavour 29, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Florence
#18 Business Hotel in Florence
#25 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £76 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Guelfo Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's housed in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (12 till 10,30 pm but on Sunday it closes at 3,00 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Il Guelfo Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing