We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel and hospitality”
Review of Il Guelfo Bianco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Il Guelfo Bianco
Ranked #29 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Fantastic hotel and hospitality”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I recently spent a few days in Florence visiting my daughter at university. The hotel is in a perfect location and near all the attractions. Well-appointed rooms, with knowledgeable and attentive staff. Special thanks to Giulia for a memorable stay for me and my daughter. I would definitely return to Florence at the first opportunity and stay at the Hotel Il Guelfo Bianco.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,660
    508
    82
    15
    5
See reviews for
552
1,144
78
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

My father and I were visiting my daughter who was having a semester abroad in Florence (like it seemed 1/2 the city was) and stayed here for two nights. Great location! Great breakfast! Great room! We loved it. Next time in Florence, we'll be back with guelfo bianco

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rpains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from 5 nights at Il Guelfo Bianco and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The welcome was open and friendly. We had an outstanding inward facing room,with excellent facilities and linen changes daily. The room had many interesting architectural features and had been well restored. The breakfast was excellent ,with plenty of choice and freshly prepared items and of course super coffee! Their small "cafe/ restaurant " used locally sourced very fresh produce and tastily prepared. All staff were pleasant helpful and professional. We'd definitely stay again!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Alastair P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Had the pleasure of staying at this hotel last week. Great atmosphere, wonderful rooms, breakfast & location. However, the true highlight of the stay was the accommodating staff. Staff, specifically Giulia went above and beyond to make the stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Highly recommend for anyone coming to Florence!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Not showy, but nice clean rooms, great beds, and location to the shopping district couldn't be better. Staff were great, and both the breakfast...( included), and lunch were excellent. If your after something simple and affordable.....definately put this one hotel on your list.

Room Tip: A bit noisy if your room is located right next to the Mcdonalds
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Waikai1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUELFOMANAGER, General Manager at Il Guelfo Bianco, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Waika1,

thanks for your review. I am happy you found our hotel clean, you liked the beds and location and you also have appreciated the service of our staff.
Good to read that you liked also our bistrot restaurant Il Desco. Luckily all of our customers love it because they can find organic food and high quality products . Since April 18th our bistro is open even till late (we close at 10,30 pm) so now we are able to serve even light dinner with tasty dishes.
Regarding the Mcdonalds: our hotel Is not right next to Mcdonalds, between our hotel and McDonalds there is chemist and a jewelery shop. So I have been surprise you could hear noisy from it.
Well I think you wrote a positive review about your stay I am just a bit sad you just gave us a three as final score but…what to say…we have to accept it.
I really hope to welcome you again if you come back to Florence.

Ps I wish to say hello to all our Canadian friends. A big hug to all of you!

Best regards.
Antonella Rocchini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This hotel offers a great atmosphere, beautifully appointed rooms, immaculate bathrooms and best of all, their staff are magnificent. The location is perfectly central and only meters away from the market and Duomo. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickPsah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Lovely, unique hotel in a great location. Superb Room, full of character with some lovely touches. Breakfast was really good, fresh food and plenty of choice. Make sure you try the on site bistro, simply stunning, the guys in there (Shams & Francesco) really knowledgable and friendly bringing the great food to life.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingduda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#36 of 422 in Florence
2,672 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 422 in Florence
1,892 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#42 of 422 in Florence
1,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orcagna Hotel
#35 of 422 in Florence
773 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 422 in Florence
3,464 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#50 of 422 in Florence
2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Guelfo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Property: Il Guelfo Bianco
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 29, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Florence
#18 Business Hotel in Florence
#25 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Guelfo Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's housed in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (12 till 10,30 pm but on Sunday it closes at 3,00 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Il Guelfo Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing