We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit to Florence”
Review of Il Guelfo Bianco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Il Guelfo Bianco
Ranked #28 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First visit to Florence”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel, we had a room off the courtyard so it was very quiet at night. Nice breakfast options in the morning. Bathroom was very clean, only negative was the carpet was a bit stained. Easy walk to all the main sites in Florence.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUELFOMANAGER, Manager at Il Guelfo Bianco, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Jeremy P,

thanks very uch for your review. I ma happy you liked the room we assigned to you and you did appreciate our breakfast. I am sorry that the carpet was a bit stained. We care a lot about the maintenance of our rooms and when the chambermaid found out the small spots on it she did clean them immediately. Maybe you saw her before she could clean them. I just wish to advice you all and the customers once again that at our front desk there is always someone 24 hours a day so in case you have a problem you can advice us immediately (it's possible that we cannot solve al the problems in a minute but we always try to solve them very quickly). Everyday we work really hard to avoid negative things because our goal is the satisfaction of our guests. We try to guarantee to everyone an enjoyable stay here .
I really hope to welcome you here again and I wish to say "thank you" to all the people who choce our hotel for their Holiday in Florence and also all the people who will chooce our hotel. We love you all!
Best regards.
Antonella Rocchini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,658
    508
    82
    15
    5
See reviews for
552
1,143
77
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
163 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel, we made a request for a room with double bed and we got a wonderful room. Spacious and windows facing the courtyard. This was great, do to the hotel being very close to the Duomo. Bathroom was big and very clean!
Breakfast was included in our room, and there was a lot to choose from, I especially enjoyed the fresh fruite. Strawberrys and melon was soooo good!
We really enjoyed our stay. Thanks for everything!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ToPi03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My husband and I, along with a couple we travelled with, spent three nights at Il Guelfo Bianco in May 2014. Alessandro was our first contact and he was very friendly, upbeat, and helpful. The chef was accommodating with special requests - although he did not have oatmeal - breakfast was extensive and very fresh - with fruits, cheeses, cold cuts, cereal, breads, pastries, and fresh juices. Our rooms were on the small side but bed linens were clean and crisp. Our air conditioning wouldn't cool us adequately so we opened the windows at night. All in all a very satisfying experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandymellina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here for our honeymoon and had a wonderful time. The location was perfect - we were able to walk everywhere and were within 2 blocks of the Duomo. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and welcoming. They often provided suggestions for restaurants, travel, and transportation options. They were also happy to make dinner reservations for us.

We stayed in an interior room with a very large terrace. Although our room was small compared to what we are used to, the terrace more than made up for it as we spent a lot of time enjoying being outside for meals, drinks, and just relaxation. The room was simple and the decor was unique, but it was always clean and well stocked with towels, linens, toiletries, etc.

Room Tip: Room 124 is an executive room with a large terrace with a cafe table and chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kejacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here on our honeymoon and really enjoyed it!!! Everyone is different and has different expectations but we found it to be clean, had a good breakfast, and well located. One thing that is for sure is the people there are incredibly friendly and nice. We would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodiedan_wedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My family and I enjoyed three nights at Il Guelfo Bianco. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and spotless. The staff were all very nice and generous with advice, especially Guilia and Federico. We also enjoyed their bistrot next door, once for lunch and once for dinner. My husband and I are vegetarian and appreciated their vegetarian dishes - we did not think we would see seitan on the menu in Italy and it was very good!

The location is very convenient to all of the tourist sites but you don't feel overwhelmed by the crowds when you step out of the door - the best of both worlds. I highly recommend the hotel to anyone planning a trip to Florence.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
133 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel from March 30 to April 3. From the moment we arrived, the reception was exceptional. Francesco was friendly and extremely hospitable on check in. He gave us wonderful recommendations to plan the things we wanted to do while in Florence. Our accommodations were delightful. The room is decorated with the décor that gives the flavor of Florence. We received a coupon for a welcome drink but since it was Sunday we were told we could use it during our stay because the restaurant was closed on Sunday. We used our coupon 2 days later and Sham's was fantastic in providing our drink plus a snack to go with it. Really amazing food! Breakfast each morning had a great variety and very good quality food. The hotel also provided us with a continental breakfast when we had to leave early before breakfast was served.
The location was perfect. We were in walking distance to all the historical sites. We would definitely return and stay at this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Our room was toward the back, not facing the street so it was quiet. The rooms facing the street may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#36 of 422 in Florence
2,670 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 422 in Florence
1,891 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#42 of 422 in Florence
1,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orcagna Hotel
#35 of 422 in Florence
773 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 422 in Florence
3,460 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#51 of 422 in Florence
2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Guelfo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Property: Il Guelfo Bianco
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 29, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Florence
#18 Business Hotel in Florence
#25 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Guelfo Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's housed in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (12 till 10,30 pm but on Sunday it closes at 3,00 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Il Guelfo Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing