We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely the best choice!”
Review of Il Guelfo Bianco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Il Guelfo Bianco
Ranked #27 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our group of six just returned from Italy and spent several nights at Il Guelfo Bianco. We all loved it...our favorite hotel of the trip by far. The location was superb...near the train station, the Duomo and the Accademia. Our rooms were lovely...very old world, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The food at breakfast was lovely and the bistro food was delicious as well. We ate there twice sitting outside in the lovely garden area. Lots of organic ingredients from their own farm. Julia at the front desk was a pleasure...very sweet, helpful and pleasant. We would not dream of staying anywhere else in Florence.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cjd328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

653 - 659 of 2,383 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a charming hotel in the central area of Florence. The breakfast, which is included, is a plentiful buffet. It was cool weather when we arrived so we didn't miss the air conditioning but it soon turned warm so the air conditioning was programmed to begin and the rooms were cool. Our room (112) was on the first floor up from the lobby and was spacious. The window looked out onto the courtyard. The bathroom had a good size countertop so my sister and I could easily share it. The bistro that's part of the hotel is charming as well and the wait staff were cheery. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: A lower level room? Just going by others' comments on other floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Four of us ( two couples ) had two rooms on the upper floor - one at the back and one at the front.
Perhaps I had expected better - neither really came up to my expectations, particularly after reading the reviews and viewing the website images which looked much nicer.Our room, at the back had a view across rooftops to the Duomo which was very nice but the room had a rather dark and tired look to it.
Our friends had the front room, rather cramped and again somewhat tired looking.
However everything worked ok and we were comfortable enough. There was just not much "wow" factor. We booked several months ago and do feel that we could have been given better.
The breakfast was ok although on the four mornings we ate there several things had run out and were not replaced ( at least not while we were there ). The long breakfast room was pleasant enough although slightly austere.
The position of the hotel is excellent and the several receptionists we met were all very pleasant and helpful.
All that said, one has to review with value for money in mind I suppose and try to ignore the "rough edges"

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ProteusSouthCoastUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUELFOMANAGER, Manager at Il Guelfo Bianco, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear ProteusSouthCoastuk,
Reading your review we were sadden to hear that we failed our goal : “the wow factor” because we wok hard every day to ensure our guests experience the “wow factor”. You see our job is like a mission: we tried to do our best to guarantee a lovely and pleasant stay and we started always since we receive first message by someone who just send a first request asking for information or availability. We commit so much to help people to plan itineraries, museums reservations , suggestions for restaurants or half day/full day tour in the countryside or just in different towns because we think it’s so important to start a good service before the guest’s arrival …just because our goal is to get the “wow factor”. We believe that if we can establish a good feeling with a guest before the arrival than when the guest is here everything will be much easier as we believe that our hotel offers a high standard , that all of our rooms are really nice , tastefully decorated and the owners really care about the upkeep of the rooms . Luckily many guests who choose the Guelfo Bianco for their stay are really happy and even enthusiastic and many of them write so nice reviews about their stay that sometimes we are moved by so many nice words people spent about the stay here. This is not happened with you but we will not give up . We will try to work even more to catch up witgh all the guests the “wow factor”.
Of course we are also a bit surprised: the room on the upper floor with the view to the Duomo is one of the most popular. You found it rather tired and dark and I really I do understand what was wrong with it. You wrote even your friend’s room looks somewhat tied so maybe you were looking for something really different than our style.
Our buffet is usually replaced very quickly by our breakfast room staff who often run faster than 2speedy Gonzalez” to replaced the buffet as the guests seems appreciate so much the quality of our food especially our famous “bruschetta” with fresh organic tomatoes and mozzarella cheese.
We do thank you for the nice words you had for our receptionists at least you appreciate their pleasantness and help.
Well I really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you here again to have another chance to try to get “the wow factor” with you, too.
Let me spent some words to thank you all the trip advisor community especially to all the guests who wrote so many reviews about their experience here. Thank you thank you thank you.
Best regards.
Antonella Rocchini
htl mngr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My wife and I recently stayed five nights in this lovely boutique hotel, and we were so happy to have found such a delightful setting for our Florence visit! Our room was very pleasant, clean, comfortable, and quiet. The hotel's atmosphere was welcoming and charming. The staff were unfailingly helpful and friendly in every possible way, which greatly added to our visit. The breakfasts were of excellent quality, and we thoroughly enjoyed the pasta lunches in the sunny quiet courtyard. The location is superb within easy pleasant walks of all of that Florence offers.
For the outstanding charm and service, Il Guelfo Bianco deserves an "Excellent" rating, we recommend it highly and will surely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel and thought it was excellent in every respect - really well situated, a large, well-appointed room with lots of character but all mod cons, lovely food both at breakfast and at lunchtime in Il Desco (their bistro next door). The staff were unfailingly polite and friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. Would certainly go back and would recommend it to anyone thinking of visiting Florence!

A&J
Wirral

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ACGWallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed 6 days at "Il Guelfo Bianco" in a twin Junior Suite. Our room overlooked an internal Garden, was very quiet, spacious, comfortable and had a wonderful decoration. Had a very useful charging appliance. WiFi is free and was pretty strong. Bathroom was good size with good tuscan toiletries made with olive oil.

Location is excellent close to the major touristic attractions: Galleria dell´Accademia/David (190 m), Mercato Centrale San Lorenzo (350 m), Duomo (400 m), Basilica Santa Maria Novella (800 m), Stazione Santa Maria Novella (850 m), Palazzo Vecchio (900 m), Galleria Uffizi (900 m), Ponte Vecchio (1,0 km) and Palazzo Pitti (1,5 km). From train station to the hotel we took a taxi wich cost 12 Euro.

Breakfast was delightful; products are top notch. Very good selection: pastries, breads, fruits, yogurt, jellies, boiled eggs, croissant, prosciutto, cheese, granola, bruschetta, etc.

Staff was very helpful and friendly; hands down to Giulia and Dario. Would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rosana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We loved this hotel because it was just like home, well-spaced, clean, extremely charming and romantic! My family stayed in a 2-bedroom apartment just recently (April 27-May 2, 2014). It was equipped with a washing machine and ample supply of laundry detergents! Likewise the kitchen was well equipped. Bed linens were changed daily, toiletries were generously replenished. The living room was spacious and comfortable! We understand what Italian breakfast meant, so we had to make do with what was available and served ! Travelers should immerse in the culture of the visited country to explore and experience :) Hotel staff were friendly and accommodating. Our next destination was Venezia, the good part was bringing freshly washed clothes, among others. There are very limited hotels providing washing machine in the room, but if you are traveling further on, choose a hotel like Il Guelfo Bianco :)
This lovely and charming hotel was walking distance to places of interest and transportation. We will definitely return to this hotel when in Firenze S.M.N. ! Hotel costs were absolutely reasonable!

Room Tip: Try the apartment if you have the budget. Yes Via Cavour was quite noisy during some late evenings b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#41 of 409 in Florence
2,200 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 409 in Florence
1,836 reviews
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
#29 of 409 in Florence
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#12 of 409 in Florence
3,549 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
#84 of 409 in Florence
1,191 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#51 of 409 in Florence
2,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Guelfo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Address: Via Camillo Cavour 29, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Florence
#18 Business Hotel in Florence
#25 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £76 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Guelfo Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's housed in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (12 till 10,30 pm but on Sunday it closes at 3,00 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Il Guelfo Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing