We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good hotel choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Guelfo Bianco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Guelfo Bianco
Ranked #28 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
essex
Level Contributor
356 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“very good hotel choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Chose the Guelfo Bianco based on the consitant TA reviews. FRom the time we booked 6 months ago until we arrived last week they have been rated at #10 and being so centrally positioned to most of the tourist sights are expectations were well rewarded. The building is extremley interesting dating back some 600 years with plenty of the remainig features like the brickwork in the lobby being well presented. Our room was on the top floor at the front and although the road is extremley busy day and night so long as the window is closed you do get a good nights sleep as the air com unit below the window does a very good job and is not noisy. All the rooms are querky to say the least, ours was very well decorated and kept spotless for the 5 days we stayed, compact ensuite with a large walkin shower nice and powerful. Stacked minibar and a very helpful multi connection phone charger but the room did lack any drawer units. Luckily it is a large wardrobe and plenty of space to leave to work out of 2 cases without cluttering the room. Breakfast really was quite a treat,quality service bringing you very good cappacinos and nice a varied selection of treats. Large bowl of strawberrys and cherries, fresh custard and chocolate pastries, paninies , quality fresh squeezed orange juice not the usual glow in the dark chemical rubbish, fresh greek style yogurt, honey is only a small section and it is being continually topped up the whole time by the extremley hard working girls. The desk staff as well as the resturant staff of the ajoining resturant they own are all very pleasent and so helpful but not in your face just 105% whenever you see them. The huge central market and surrounding stalls, the cathedral, the dome, michael, the station, they are all less then 10 mins walk. Great hotel choice, would not hestitate to return

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank licksmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,602
    490
    81
    15
    4
See reviews for
536
1,098
77
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Our family of five (all adult age) had the pleasure of staying at Il Guelfo Bianco for three nights in May 2014. We had a lovely stay to be certain. Up front, one note: we would not recommend walking to the hotel from the train station with luggage. It is not far (certainly without baggage), but very tricky with luggage over the narrow streets. Go for the taxi! The hotel is a charming mix of old and new (the new art very interesting!), and we just loved that. Great, interesting ceilings. Not your usual boring tourist hotel. We had an issue with our air conditioning not responding upon our arrival, which Antonella attended to very promptly. The neighborhood is excellent. Convenient small shops and eateries are very close by. The location near the Accademia is perfect, and it is such a short walk to the Piazza della Signoria, Uffizi Gallery, Duomo, Arno, etc. The front desk staff is welcoming and helpful in every way. We were advised as to restaurants, both in the neighborhood and in other areas of the city, amenities, bus routes for a trip to Siena, etc. One restaurant recommendation in particular was just fantastic, and a highlight of our stay! Grazie mille Francesco!! Giulia was so helpful arranging our transportation via two taxis (with lots of luggage) to the train station upon our departure. All was a breeze. The breakfasts, with the incredible bruschetta (tomatoes and fresh mozzarella that made our hearts sing!), fresh fruit, delicious café, prosciutto, pastry, etc. were just excellent and incredibly fresh. Upon our departure, in haste, my husband neglected to hand in the room key for our second room. We realized this upon our arrival at the train station, and felt terrible. We called the hotel and between conversations with Giulia and Antonella, arranged to leave the key with the Tabacchi store at the rail station. When last we spoke, Giulia said her father was on the way to retrieve the key!! So sorry for the hassles, and many thanks for all your assistance. A very good stay in Firenze!

Warmest regards,

Jerry, Elise, Alex, Anna, Sal

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Seahorses5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calabasas, California
Level Contributor
193 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was a very fun place to stay with very interesting rooms. It is only blocks from Santa Maria del Fiori, the Uffizi and most of the other things you would want to see. We walked just about everywhere and never needed a cab except for dinner. The staff was great and gave us some great tips on dining and made all the reservations for us.The only negative was that they kind of skimped on the bathing supplies and had no body lotion. Not a fancy place like some of the other spots in Firenze, but the charm of the room and the service was 5 star.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The5MRanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUELFOMANAGER, Manager at Il Guelfo Bianco, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear The5mRanch,

thanks for your nice review. We are happy you did appreciate the charm of our room and the service. Regarding he only negative you found: it's true we have not body lotion in the room. The guests can found soap, shower lotion, shampoo, clean shoes , paper tissues ,and on request we do provide touth paste and touth brush and also sewing kit. All of these products are some of the best quality we found on sale (soap, shower gel and shampoo are all made with organic extra virgin olive oil). Never forget even if the high level of our hotel it's still a three star hotel we cannot compare our hotel to the hotel where your stayed in Venice where I think you paid even much more than here. I really hope to welcome you here again and thanks again for your nice words.
Bye bye
Antonella Rocchini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Easy walking distance to everything you'd need to see in Florence. My friends had a room on the fifth floor which was very light and where you had to go down some stairs to get to the bathroom. The only downside of my single room was that it was on the ground floor with only one very high window so there was very little natural light and I always had to have a light on. On the plus side it was incredibly quiet at night as it was away from the road and I never heard a thing. I guess on a hot summer day it would also be quite cool. They served a very good buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ready4offagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our group of six just returned from Italy and spent several nights at Il Guelfo Bianco. We all loved it...our favorite hotel of the trip by far. The location was superb...near the train station, the Duomo and the Accademia. Our rooms were lovely...very old world, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The food at breakfast was lovely and the bistro food was delicious as well. We ate there twice sitting outside in the lovely garden area. Lots of organic ingredients from their own farm. Julia at the front desk was a pleasure...very sweet, helpful and pleasant. We would not dream of staying anywhere else in Florence.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cjd328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a charming hotel in the central area of Florence. The breakfast, which is included, is a plentiful buffet. It was cool weather when we arrived so we didn't miss the air conditioning but it soon turned warm so the air conditioning was programmed to begin and the rooms were cool. Our room (112) was on the first floor up from the lobby and was spacious. The window looked out onto the courtyard. The bathroom had a good size countertop so my sister and I could easily share it. The bistro that's part of the hotel is charming as well and the wait staff were cheery. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: A lower level room? Just going by others' comments on other floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Coast UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Four of us ( two couples ) had two rooms on the upper floor - one at the back and one at the front.
Perhaps I had expected better - neither really came up to my expectations, particularly after reading the reviews and viewing the website images which looked much nicer.Our room, at the back had a view across rooftops to the Duomo which was very nice but the room had a rather dark and tired look to it.
Our friends had the front room, rather cramped and again somewhat tired looking.
However everything worked ok and we were comfortable enough. There was just not much "wow" factor. We booked several months ago and do feel that we could have been given better.
The breakfast was ok although on the four mornings we ate there several things had run out and were not replaced ( at least not while we were there ). The long breakfast room was pleasant enough although slightly austere.
The position of the hotel is excellent and the several receptionists we met were all very pleasant and helpful.
All that said, one has to review with value for money in mind I suppose and try to ignore the "rough edges"

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProteusSouthCoastUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUELFOMANAGER, Manager at Il Guelfo Bianco, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear ProteusSouthCoastuk,
Reading your review we were sadden to hear that we failed our goal : “the wow factor” because we wok hard every day to ensure our guests experience the “wow factor”. You see our job is like a mission: we tried to do our best to guarantee a lovely and pleasant stay and we started always since we receive first message by someone who just send a first request asking for information or availability. We commit so much to help people to plan itineraries, museums reservations , suggestions for restaurants or half day/full day tour in the countryside or just in different towns because we think it’s so important to start a good service before the guest’s arrival …just because our goal is to get the “wow factor”. We believe that if we can establish a good feeling with a guest before the arrival than when the guest is here everything will be much easier as we believe that our hotel offers a high standard , that all of our rooms are really nice , tastefully decorated and the owners really care about the upkeep of the rooms . Luckily many guests who choose the Guelfo Bianco for their stay are really happy and even enthusiastic and many of them write so nice reviews about their stay that sometimes we are moved by so many nice words people spent about the stay here. This is not happened with you but we will not give up . We will try to work even more to catch up witgh all the guests the “wow factor”.
Of course we are also a bit surprised: the room on the upper floor with the view to the Duomo is one of the most popular. You found it rather tired and dark and I really I do understand what was wrong with it. You wrote even your friend’s room looks somewhat tied so maybe you were looking for something really different than our style.
Our buffet is usually replaced very quickly by our breakfast room staff who often run faster than 2speedy Gonzalez” to replaced the buffet as the guests seems appreciate so much the quality of our food especially our famous “bruschetta” with fresh organic tomatoes and mozzarella cheese.
We do thank you for the nice words you had for our receptionists at least you appreciate their pleasantness and help.
Well I really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you here again to have another chance to try to get “the wow factor” with you, too.
Let me spent some words to thank you all the trip advisor community especially to all the guests who wrote so many reviews about their experience here. Thank you thank you thank you.
Best regards.
Antonella Rocchini
htl mngr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#34 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,581 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#38 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,397 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#31 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Guelfo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Property: Il Guelfo Bianco
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 29, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Florence
#18 Business Hotel in Florence
#25 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Guelfo Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's housed in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (12 till 10,30 pm but on Sunday it closes at 3,00 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Il Guelfo Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing