We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”
Review of Il Guelfo Bianco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Il Guelfo Bianco
Ranked #31 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel is so close to the heart of Florence's shopping, restaurant and tourist district but just one block off so as to be quaint and quiet. The staff was very, very accommodating of our needs and requests. The rooms were good size and clean. The hotel was very quaint and uniquely decorated. Loved the location and would definitely stay here again. The coffee shop next door was great for late night visiting when the day was done. Loved it!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinWith4Kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,683
    515
    83
    17
    5
See reviews for
566
1,158
79
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My husband and I loved our stay at Il Guelfo Bianco! They were the sweetest, kindest people who were nothing but welcoming. Our hotel room was simple and spacious. The adjoining bistro was great! The hotel offers a free drink and light snack upon arrival at the bistro, and I would highly encourage everyone to take advantage of this! The food is fresh, local and amazing! The breakfast spread was the best we had of all the hotels we stayed at in Italy and France. Meats, cheeses, pastries, espressos- it was wonderful. The staff were delightful and helpful. We had a fiasco with missing luggage in Rome, and the hotel staff was the only staff on our journey that actually called and worked hard to get our luggage delivered. They went above and beyond the call of duty! Finally, we inquired about day trips and they recommended Cinque Terre- which was incredible! If you have a chance to spend a day or two there, I would encourage it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nmignogna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed for two days at this hotel. Excellent location. We could walk to everywhere and at times took bathroom breaks at hotel between site visits. Subway, Mcdonalds, Laundry all very close to this place.
Room was very good for four people. Breakfast was great. They helped us book museum tours. Customer service was professional, but not warm.
Internet was really slow.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shankar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUELFOMANAGER, Manager at Il Guelfo Bianco, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Shankar N,

we thank you for your review and we are happy you did appreciate our location, he room and our breakfast . As for your request we did assign a room on the back side even if as I wrote several times rooms overlooking Via Cavoru have a tripel glasses and a double windows so they are not noisy at all (even if Via Cavour is a 70% pedestrian street).
We are just a bit sorry you had a feeling our staff is not too warm. You wrote "professional but not warm". I hope you can believe me we really do our best to guarantee an enjoyble and pleasant stay to all of our customers. We are always very happy to help people with museum reservation, tours and restaurant suggestions. You see this is a very busy season and we have to be like speedy Gonzalez every minute to do our job at its best. We do apologize if we were not able to show our emotions .
Internet: we do have a wi/fi system here which has been improved several months ago . We really care about this service (we do offer it free of charge) as we know that now people really need to be connected always and all over. When the hotel is very busy like now, it could happen that internet is slower than usual as many people are using it at the same time in fact we are trying to find a way to improve it again. However I would like to inform all of you that we do have a wi/fi system protected by a password : our wi/fi is “hotspot il guelfo bianco”; when you want to start to use you have to option : 1- you can use through your facebook account or 2 option “self service” ; if you choose “option self service” you have to enter your name last name and your email address and automatically you get the user and password and you are ready to surf. Remind always to do first your choice otherwise you cannot surf on internet and you are unable to download your emails. I know that everybody knows how to use the wi/fi system and we do give all details when people check in . Just remind in case you have problems to use it PLEASE ASK AT THE FRONT DESK STAFF. We are always happy to help people in this matter (we can say that now we are very good to solve technical problems. Do not be shy to ask for our help)
Museum reservations: as I wrote we can make museums reservations: we do suggest to book in advance at least tickets for Accademia and Uffizi Gallery to avoid to wait too much time on line. Just remind when you ask to make these booking we need to know exact day and approx time you wish to visit these museums if not we cannot proceed to make the bookings.We really hop eto welcome you and your family once again if you come back in Florence and we do hope next time to be able also very warm and not just professional.
Best regards.
Antonella Rocchini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I picked this hotel based upon TripAdvisor reviews and photos and was not disappointed. The hotel easily confirmed reservations online, and through email, established reservations at my desired dates and times for the Accademia and Uffizi galleries. The room we received was very clean, large, and with an ample bath. Staff could not have been more pleasant or courteous. The location is 2 blocks from the square, making walking easy to all sites. We arrived via the train and walked to the hotel in about 15 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The biggest plus point of this hotel is its location which is within short walking distance to Duomo and most, if not all attractions in Florence. We stayed in a room on the first floor. Although there was a lift, we had to carry our luggages up a stairway (of a few steps) as the lift stops on the "first level" of the first floor while our room was in the "second level" of the first floor. This is probably due to the original architecture of the house.

The room itself was clean and comfortable, with the room size slightly bigger than usual European standard. Bathroom was also clean but smelled strongly of ammonia on our first day but the smell went away after that. The room is oldish or antique-looking so if you like such decor, I recommend this.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superdoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I think the 5 star reviews made me expect more than it was, so my disappointment could be related to over promising and under delivering. We stayed in a room in an inner courtyard, which I recommend. The McDonalds next door is pretty active and loud at night. It really was the absolute best location we could have asked for, EXTREMELY close to the Duomo. I wasn't overly impressed with the old decor, but I can see how one might think it's charming. If that's your thing, you'll love it. It's just not mine. I also thought the bed was hard, but maybe I just like a much softer bed. It's not my favorite hotel ever, but it's charming and unique. It was very clean. We'd probably stay here again due to the location alone.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JoyTravelsALot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUELFOMANAGER, Manager at Il Guelfo Bianco, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Joysgetti,

we thank you for your review just a bit sorry you expect more than it was. We are glad you did appreciate the room overlooking the courtyard. I am a bit surprise you could hear noisy from McDonalds as it’s quite hard to hear from the rooms on the back side (McDonald is on Via Cavour and as I wrote several times between our hotel and the McD there is a chemist and a jewelery shop.
You wrote you were not impressed with the old décor but all information we have on our webpage are very clear: our hotel is housed in two adjoining late 15th century palaces and all of our rooms and drawing rooms have antique and original décor and all antique and original furnitures. If you do not like this kind of décor you definitely should book a different kind of hotels. We never advertize our hotel like a modern hotel. Beds are all equipped with orthopedic mattress (some of the best we could find on sale) . While it’s so easy for us to change a pillow if someone prefer a softer pillow we cannot offer a choice a mattress .
However I am happy you did appreciate the cleaning and the location.
Of course if you decide to come back to visit us you will be always the welcome and we do hope we can continue to improve pour hotel with the best comforts and the news the market could offers but we will not change our décor .
Best regards .
Antonella Rocchini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia Suburbs
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We booked 2 rooms for our party of 6 adults. Upon check in we found that one room was upgraded to an apartment! The other room had beautiful furnishings and a high ceilings with lovely detail. Both of our rooms had windows overlooking the street with views of the Duomo! Walking distance to all of Florence's sites and the train station. Nice toiletries provided in upgraded bathrooms. Breakfast was also a nice surprise with organic offerings and even cappucino. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window to the street if you enjoy people watching and seeing the Duomo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 971travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#40 of 412 in Florence
2,721 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 412 in Florence
3,501 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#36 of 412 in Florence
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 412 in Florence
1,945 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#44 of 412 in Florence
2,088 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#39 of 412 in Florence
1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Guelfo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Property: Il Guelfo Bianco
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 29, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Florence
#18 Business Hotel in Florence
#25 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Guelfo Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's housed in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (12 till 10,30 pm but on Sunday it closes at 3,00 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Il Guelfo Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing