We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel! Perfect Location! A Must Stay!”
Review of Il Guelfo Bianco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Il Guelfo Bianco
Ranked #27 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel! Perfect Location! A Must Stay!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This boutique hotel was perfect! The rooms were great size. We had three rooms with two adult each room and was perfect size. All three rooms had balconies with wonderful views. The staff was awesome and so helpful. The hotel was in a perfect location, we walked everywhere. If you stay here you will not be sorry. I can't recommend this hotel enough! The breakfast was very good too. We will stay here again and again.

Room Tip: Ask for a terrace or balcony. All three of our rooms had one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlhosek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,647
    503
    81
    15
    5
See reviews for
551
1,133
76
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The hotel is very centrally located and feels very boutique. All rooms are different so I can only refer to two where I stayed which were the cheapest available and so not very big, but clean and well equipped. The staff varied from extremely nice and helpful to non caring- we had 4 different reception employees and each had a different agenda.
Oh, and they did offer valet parking without mentioning how much it costs. That was painful (54 Euro for 48 hours) although I understand that this may be the price for parking in that area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohadresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUELFOMANAGER, Manager at Il Guelfo Bianco, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Ohadresh,

thanks for your review. As you wrote all rooms are different here and of course the cheapest are not as large as the most expensive ones even if all of our rooms are equipped with best comforts and original antique furniture. I just wish to point our some info about the car parking: our hotel is located in the limited traffic zone so the customers who have a reservations her are allowed to drive till in front of the hotel and than park the car here for 10/15 minutes to load and unload the suitcases. Then cars must to be parked into a garage because no way to leave the car parked on the street. We do work with a garage close by and daily rate is euro 27 or 31 or 33 (including free valet service when you arrive and when you leave) and this not the most expensive garage (if you park at the train station you will pay 2 euro per hour and for 24 hours it will be about 48 euros) . There is also a way to save money parking the car into the garage out of the limited traffic zone (1 km far from here) paying euro 22 per day.
Regarding our staff I am sorry you had not the same feeling with everybody you met at the front desk we try to be a good team (as we have people who works here since many years) and we do work very hard every day to guarantee an enjoyable stay to everybody. Sometimes its’ not so easy to take care immediately to all of the people in a short time especially during the high season when the hotel is quite full everyday. The “agenda” is for everybody the same: the customers’ satisfaction.

I really hope to welcome you in the future and I remain with my best regards.
Antonella Rocchini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Guelfo Bianco is the best of the real Italian hotel. The decor is beautiful while remaining warm,cozy and interesting. The breakfasts are very good as is the Bistro. As always, the people make the difference. Antonella is so helpful and friendly as is all the staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Our room was warm and inviting. It was very clean and pretty. Gorgeous windows with high, beamed ceilings. True to pictures on their site. The hotel is quiet and the staff recommendations for restaurants were spot on. There's a small restaurant downstairs that is really lovely. The food was great and the service was amazing. The guy who served us every time was cute, charming and knows food and wine well. But the best part is the location. Wow. Everything is within walking distance. I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennGraves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worc's
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Warm and friendly run hotel in perfect location for visiting all the attractions of Florence. Room was charming full of character with a comfortable bed. Lovely breakfast with lots of choice, fresh food & excellent coffee. We felt very welcome & enjoyed our stay, wouldn't hesitate to return or recommend. We didn't experience any problems with wifi connection as mentioned in other reviews.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank M0Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at Il Guelfo Bianco for three nights on a family trip through Italy. For our family of four, we reserved a junior suite. The suite was quite comfortable, although it is not really a suite per se, but really a very large single room with 4 beds (one king and two twins on the other side of the room). The room itself was quite comfortable, and very interesting, with vintage wood paneling and very solid construction. Overall, my wife and I, along with our two daughters, slept quite comfortably.
Breakfast was very good. On the morning that we stayed out very late and did not make it down in time for breakfast, the staff brought the food to our room, which was much appreciated.
The location of the hotel is outstanding. Literally, a five minute walk to the Duomo, and five minutes to the Galleria dell'Academia. The Uffizi is no more than 10 minutes from the hotel.

Others have complained of road noise, but with the windows closed, this was not a problem at all.

As others have mentioned, the internet is very slow, to the point of almost being unusable. An increase in the bandwidth would be a substantial upgrade, and that is the major point that precludes us from giving the hotel a five star rating.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ayk41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUELFOMANAGER, Manager at Il Guelfo Bianco, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Ayk41,
Thanks for your review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
Regarding internet: as I already wrote several times we improved our wi/fi system several months ago . We do paid a provider to have a 20 mega bites speed but it semes they can guarantee in the city center a max of 10 mega bites speed. We are working on it to see if we can find a way to solve this problem and I hope to have news as soon as.
We know that a very good wi/fi connection is so important and we know that people love to be connected always and all over and we will try do our best to find a good comprimise. Keep faith....
Thanks again and bye bye
Antonella Rocchini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel is so close to the heart of Florence's shopping, restaurant and tourist district but just one block off so as to be quaint and quiet. The staff was very, very accommodating of our needs and requests. The rooms were good size and clean. The hotel was very quaint and uniquely decorated. Loved the location and would definitely stay here again. The coffee shop next door was great for late night visiting when the day was done. Loved it!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinWith4Kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#24 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,873 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#36 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,645 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#35 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orcagna Hotel
#34 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,443 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Guelfo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Property: Il Guelfo Bianco
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 29, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Florence
#18 Business Hotel in Florence
#25 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Guelfo Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's housed in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (12 till 10,30 pm but on Sunday it closes at 3,00 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Il Guelfo Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing