We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, VERY hard beds, stylish hotel”
Review of Il Guelfo Bianco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Il Guelfo Bianco
Ranked #29 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location, VERY hard beds, stylish hotel”
Reviewed 26 December 2009

Il Guelfo Bianco is a very stylish, artistic hotel in a great location; five minutes from Duomo and about ten or so from Academia Museum, a short walk to San Lorenzo market and train station. Very clean, staff very helpful. Rooms vary in size from smaller to suite size; beds and pillows - very, very hard; bathroom size depends on room size. Breakfast is in Italian style - meats, breads, yogurt, cheeses, some cereal, some fruits, coffee, juices etc. All in all, a great hotel if you can withstand the hard beds and kind of dark (not well lit) rooms. Frommers gives an accurate description also.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel0916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUELFOMANAGER, hotel manager at Il Guelfo Bianco, responded to this review, 29 December 2009
Dear Customers,

first of all I wish to thank you for writing a review about your stay. We are happy you had nice words for all of our staff and our services. As you wrote our rooms are different in size starting from the executive ones, which have a standard size but equipped with best comforts and antique fornitures, up to the junior suite, which are much larger.
In all of our rooms we have energy conservation bulbs because as I wrote many times WE CARE A LOT about our enviroment and this kind of bulbs have a light quite soft when you switch them on.
Our beds have new mattress called “privilege beauty rest” by Simmons. They have an high quality anatomic support and offer an unbeatable comfort; they have a patented system called “High Comfort Process” to intensify the comfort. We choose these kind of mattress hoping to offer the best on the market. We are sorry you found them so hard.
Well, I really hope to welcome you here once again whenever you come back in Florence. We always consider our customers as good friends when they leave the hotel and we hope to meet them again. We will keep in mind your advices hoping next time you can have also a good memories about our hotel “night and day”.
We wish you an Happy New Year
Antonella Rocchini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,660
    509
    82
    15
    5
See reviews for
553
1,144
78
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
amman
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2009

I decided to stay here after an extensive review of reviews. I was apprehensive about booking a place to stay over the internet, since I had never done it before. Well it turned out to be better than I could have imagined! Communication and booking by email was smooth, the room was exactly as I had requested, quiet and spacious. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, the location was great - 5 minute walk to the duomo, a longer but enjoyable walk to the river (why bother going to Florence if you don't intend to enjoy every detail while you stroll?!). As a solo female traveler I felt very comfortable staying here, as well as being out late on foot in the area.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank misom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
467 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2009

We have stayed in Florence many times, but this was our first stay at Il Guelfo Bianco . . . the staff were friendly and very helpful. We booked two rooms which were both very spacious and the bathrooms were well appointed. Breakfast was typical Italian fare with fantastic coffee and fresh juices. I would highly recommend this hotel and would/will stay again. The location of this property is also fantastic . . . everything is very walkable. Bravo!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mis_Adventurous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2009

My husband and I stayed here in October. It was our first trip to Italy. The hotel is beautiful and has alot of character. Our room was spacious with alot of detail. The bathroom was a good size also. The hotel has a excellent location. We walked everywhere. But most importantly, the staff, especially Daniele, was very helpful with reccomendations and reservations. We relied on the staff alot and they went out of their way to be accommodating. Many thanks to Daniele! We would definitely stay at Il Guelfo Bianco again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cfosterfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut, USA
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2009

We were thrilled with the hotel, the staff, the breakfast and the location! Our group consited of 2 couples, one had never traveled to Italy and the help from the staff on where to go and what do do was just what we needed. We ate at restaurants that were recommended and had excellent food. Daniele was enthusiastic and couldn't do enough for us- and speaks perfect English! The hotel is overflowing with character and beautiful antiques. We found our room to be large and very clean. Since Florence is a walking city, the location couldn't be better. We have stayed at other hotels in Florence and we would definitley be back to this one!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJM321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwinton
1 review
Reviewed 6 December 2009

My wife Patti and I have traveled to Italy many times and this was our first time staying at hotel il guelfo bianco. We will definitely return. The location is perfect, the service was outstanding especially our friend Danielle. He made our stay in Florence truly feel like we were with good close family. Our friends Carl and Gail had never traveled to Florence and I know they would agree that we will be back! Our room was a suite! It was the largest hotel room we've ever enjoyed in Italy. After a nice healthy breakfast we were off to a busy day of siteseeing and tourist activities. We we able to walk to all the sites with ease. With the help of our hotel staff we enjoyed excellent food every evening. They referred us to several local resttaurants that had exceptional food at fair prices.
Before leaving to come to Italy, my wife realized she accidently left her wallet home with her license nad credit cards. Although I was driving with Carl as a backup and I had several cards we share she still felt very uncomfortable. When we told this to Danielle he immediately offered suggestions on how to get the wallet shiped overnite (at a reasonable cost) in time to arrive before we left Florence. The vacation took a trun for the better when Patti's wallet arrived at the hotel just as he arranged! We are truly grateful for his help and direction in making this happen.
We will highly recommend hotel il guelfo bianco and look forward to our next visit in 2010.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarwintonTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
1 review
Reviewed 6 December 2009

Hotel il Guelfo Bianco is a terrific hotel!! The location is great- very close to the duomo and the academia and the staff is really wonderful and always very helpful. Daniele was great in helping us make reservations and suggestions on where to go and there was another girl working (unfortunately I do not remember her name) who really tried to help us when we found out our flight home was cancelled, overall everyone really took care of us while we stayed in Florence. Also,the room was beautiful and the breakfast was delicious! I will definitely be staying there next time!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJM0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#37 of 422 in Florence
2,673 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 422 in Florence
1,895 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#40 of 422 in Florence
1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orcagna Hotel
#35 of 422 in Florence
773 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 422 in Florence
3,465 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#50 of 422 in Florence
2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Guelfo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Property: Il Guelfo Bianco
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 29, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Florence
#18 Business Hotel in Florence
#25 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Guelfo Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's housed in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (12 till 10,30 pm but on Sunday it closes at 3,00 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Il Guelfo Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing