We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice solid option in florence....it wont disappoint”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Guelfo Bianco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Il Guelfo Bianco
Ranked #26 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
RI
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A nice solid option in florence....it wont disappoint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2010

We stayed at this hotel in Sept 2009 for a quick 2 day detour from a nearby wedding. The hotel is very well located and within walking distance to everything (it is a walking city).

We found our rooms to be very spacious, clean, and comfortable. As others have said, the rooms on the lower floors have a bit of street noise, but it did not really bother us.

The staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast buffet was nice but some of the items (such as fruit salad) had an extra surcharge which was a bit odd.

All in all this a nice mid priced option in florence.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAG458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,629
    498
    81
    15
    4
See reviews for
545
1,117
76
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2010

What a superb hotel Il Guelfo Bianco is! Our family (4 adults) stayed for two weeks in two charming, spacious deluxe double rooms. Rooms are spotlessly clean. All of the staff, without exception, are more than friendly - they actually go out of their way to be helpful. Great restaurant recommendations, organised day trips, breakfast was delicious, the location couldn't be more central to all the sights of Florence - our stay was faultless. And even after two weeks, we didnt want to leave! It's better than wonderful!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrisbaneAnnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2010

Good hotel in excellent location. Clean, quiet, spacious.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2010

This was my husbands 1st trip overseas; not mine, i'd backpacked all over italy w/ my siblings before. That being said, i am used to the hostel life, my hubby not so much. So i was looking for a hotel that would be on the luxurious side. This hotel exceeded expectations. Turns out i was the fussy one.

I work night shift & sleep in late. We had a room on the street and i like to sleep w/ the windows open for fresh air, bad idea. A flock of scooters seemed to wake me every 5 mins. & the car exhaust was faint, but evident. It was only rough like that during "rush hour" - yes, even in Italy there is a little bit of a rush. And even though it was the weekend they were able to switch us to a room in the back for the remaining 2 nights.

Then I got food poisoning (NOT there) & they extended our stay another night. Even though the room we were in was booked for that night, they upgraded those people to a larger room to accommodate me.

The rooms were clean & huge, beds very comfortable & laundry service available. The bathrooms beautifully tiled in bright colors. The food was excellent as was the coffee, the latter I know I am fussy about. I drink my coffee black & if its too old, weak or of poor quality I cant drink it, delicious! There was a wine tasting one night & and olive oli tasting another night. The staff were helpful, especially when i got sick & my poor husband had to maneuver Florence on his own without knowing any Italian. He was already a nervous traveler to begin w/, but the desk service was very helpful in directing him to a restaurant he'd like & to a pharmacy where i was in need of things. Internet was available for a fee & there were work areas just past the lobby as well as newspapers, other reading materials & a bar! Of course its difficult internet reception at times, these are centuries old buildings & wireless cant penetrate. The location cant be beat. Just a 5 minute walk to the duomo, dozens of fine dining establishments & impressive shopping, even though I am NOT a shopper. I cant wait to come back & would recommend this to anyone looking for a beautiful place in this beautiful city.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ljcannata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2010

The warm reception, the unexpected upgrade, the cozy and elegant atmosphere of the rooms, the delicious breakfast and the efficient service were highlights of our stay at Il Guelfo Bianco, in Firenze. Centrally located, just two blocks from Acaddemia, Il Duomo, and the Market.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MClarkRiodeJaneiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athens
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2010

Il Guelfo Bianco is an excellent choice for all, is a wonderful Hotel with large comfortable, clean rooms. All employee were polite and helpfull. We also got a free breakfast buffet. The location is ideal for shoping, museums, restaurants and all the turistic attractions. I would definitely stay at this hotel again

I recomment this hotel for An Amazing honeymoon, A Romantic getaway, girlfriend getaway, older travelers, families with young children, families with teenagers and all kind of tourists.
It worths every star it has!

Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mpolyzou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2010

This was my first time in Florence. I was really looking forward to it and i wanted everything to be perfect including the hotel i would stay at. My friend with whom i made this trip was in florence before and she told me to allow her to book a room at this hotel she had stayed many times before. And her choice was the best! Il Guelfo Bianco! Where shall i start? The decoration: very warm. The furniture: elegant and well selected. The location: perfect, right in the centre! The rooms: very cosy and well functioning. The bed was so comfortable that i wanted to stay in bed all day! The breakfast, what can i say about it? So big selection of everything. There was something to cover all tastes, and everything was so fresh! Above all i loved the people working there. It was not just another smile, they trully wanted us to enjoy ourselves and they helped us a lot: they booked for us tickets for the sites, they organized excursions, and all the suggestions they made for our lunch and dinner, was exactly what we had asked them for. Right on the spot. For sure i will return not only in Florence but also at "Il Guelfo Bianco". Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iroathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#24 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,844 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#38 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,620 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#35 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orcagna Hotel
#32 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,418 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Guelfo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Property: Il Guelfo Bianco
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 29, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Florence
#18 Business Hotel in Florence
#25 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Guelfo Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's housed in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (12 till 10,30 pm but on Sunday it closes at 3,00 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Il Guelfo Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing