We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic experience in Florence!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Guelfo Bianco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Il Guelfo Bianco
Ranked #26 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience in Florence!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2010

I stayed at Il Guelfo Bianco for three nights at the end of my two week trip to Italy, and it was a great way to finish! This is a family-run hotel in an excellent location...less than a 5 minute walk to the Accademia and Duomo and about a 10 minute walk to the Uffizi and train station. The hotel includes a great buffet breakfast and the restaurant Il Desco is a favourite for locals at lunch. The rooms ooze with history and character and I loved the linens and furnishings. The best quality of this charming hotel however is its staff, who are highly attentive, very friendly and treat you like one of the family. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LLT69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,627
    496
    81
    15
    4
See reviews for
544
1,115
76
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2010

The staff was helpful and spoke excellent English. The rooms were clean and spacious. The location was great for visiting the Galleria d'Accademia and the Santa Maria Basilica. We had a room with windows facing the street so noise was a concern, but when the windows were closed we couldn't hear a thing outside. Very nice hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colemanb27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2010

Our overnight stay began with a very hospitable and friendly Daniele greeting us at the lobby. Then our surprise at such a large and well decorated room - and a great bathtub! The only one we saw in our week stay in Italy! Daniele gave us a recommendation to a great little bar by the river (Art Bar) and was very helpful with directions, information on tours etc. The employees were all very comfortable with English , which is always nice. Breakfast was great also. All in all, we have nothing negative to say about this little hotel - it was absolutely delightful.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2010

The location and room were great but the staff and their helpfulness put them over the top. Honest and true on tours, made arrangements for us at no additional cost of stress. Really made it a great experiience. I only gave low score to the bed because all Italian hotels I've been in use two twin matresses to make a queen so you're dealing with a crack in the middle. Otherwise, great place and the restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clubwms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2010

The hotel is one the best three star hotel I have ever been. The interior was a mix of new and old with good taste. The situation good not been better, 500 meters from the Duomo. Many thanks I owe also to the hotel stuff. They were kind and helpful and I got the feeling that they realy enjoyed to serve their customers.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank virtaset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2010

Everything about this hotel is amazing! The Staff was very helpful, friendly, and courteous. The breakfast in the morning had a plethora of delicious things to choose from (the waiter even remembered how I like my coffee in the morning) The location was perfect for site seeing, shopping, and just down the street from fantastic restaurants. The room and bathroom was HUGE, very clean, and it had a lot of character. I would definitely stay in this hotel again next time I go to Florence!!! I give it two thumbs up!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmccreary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2010

Hotel Il Guelfo Bianco
This is a fabulous hotel rated as a three star but really is an under-priced four star. It is placed in the city centre about a 3 minute walk from the Piazza Duomo. The rooms are spacious and well-appointed. It is has a bit of an art deco feel with art pieces placed around the lobby. The buffet breakfast is a great value and mostly organic using local produce from Tuscany. It was one of the best breakfasts I have had in a long time. The staff is friendly, helpful, and a joy to interact with - offering great restaurant recommendations. I look forward to my next visit to Firenze and this cosy hotel. Emran Qureshi, Ottawa, Canada

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank desidudeno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,843 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#37 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,616 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#34 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orcagna Hotel
#32 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#10 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,418 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Guelfo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Property: Il Guelfo Bianco
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 29, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Florence
#18 Business Hotel in Florence
#25 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Guelfo Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's housed in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (12 till 10,30 pm but on Sunday it closes at 3,00 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Il Guelfo Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing