We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely staff, very comfortable rooms”
Review of Il Guelfo Bianco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Il Guelfo Bianco
Ranked #28 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely staff, very comfortable rooms”
Reviewed 14 November 2010

We stayed in this hotel for an Autumn mini break of 3 nights. Found it on internet, and had to change our travel plans a few times. However, the hotel staff responded quickly and helpfully to our emails and nothing was too much trouble. They made us feel very welcome, and we loved our room. The location is perfect. The breakfast and bistro downstairs was lovely too. Would definitely stay there again! It really made our trip! Thanks to the hotel staff once again!

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LB6g08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,658
    508
    82
    15
    5
See reviews for
552
1,143
77
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2010

This lovely historical hotel (I believe it was a 15th Century residence) is well kept, clean and serves one of the best breakfasts (included in the price) anywhere we travelled in Italy. The hotel has a lovely courtyard where you can take your breakfast, weather permitting, and in the afternoon we would get a bottle of wine & sit in the courtyard enjoying it. The hotel is reasonable, clean and the beds and baths are comfortable; free internet is offered as well and the location is excellent. The rooms were a little dated and not decorated to my taste, but it was well kept. Another suggestion is the rooms be equipped with much better lighting. Since the building is very old, the rooms tend to be dark and better lighting might improve the atmosphere of the rooms significantly.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maggie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUELFOMANAGER, Manager at Il Guelfo Bianco, responded to this review, 13 November 2010
Dear Madam,

we are really very happy you appreciate our buffet breakfast becasue we offer evry day fresh and high quaility products to offer a "good breakfast" and not just "a breakfast" to hel people to start the day in the best way possible. We are also very proud of our staff tehre because tehy really care about the customer's satisfaction and they are always ready to listen good advice by the customers and report then to me and to the owner to try to offer a better service.
Our hotel is housed in a late 15th century building completely renewed and either the rooms or the drawing rooms are all equipped with antique fornitures and everywhere you could read information and review about our hotel, you can read about it. I am sorry the decorations you found in your rooms (which have the same antique style of all of them even if they are different each other) dind't repond to your taste.
Thanks to some customer's suggestion we already changed all the bulbs in the lamps in every rooms to offer a lighter atmosphere.
Of course we would love to have always a 5 from a review written by a customer and when we received a three (which is just "sufficient" we are a bit sad, considering we try to offer always "the best" and we like the best score.
The most important thing for us is you had a good memory about Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel and whenever you decide to come back you will choose our house again.
Once again "THANK YOU" to find time to write about our hotel on TRIP.
Best regards.
Antonella Rocchini (htl mngr)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hooksett, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2010

I recently travelled to Italy with three other girlfriends. The reason for the trip was to see my daughter who was studying abroad in Florence. We went from Florence, to Venice, back to Florence then Rome. On our second stay in Florence during the week, we stayed at the Il Guelfo Bianco. The staff were very pleasant, helpful and accommodating to our English language. The hotel was located close to the train station which was a plus. The Galleria dell’Accademia with Michelangelo’s David was also a couple blocks away from this hotel. A very romantic and comfortable hotel with lots of space in our room for four women. Bathroom was large with a fabulous shower. The complimentary breakfast was everything we could have hoped for and more. I truly felt pampered at the Guelfo Bianco and would without a doubt stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcaron1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2010

I traveled with three of my friends and we all slept in one room. The accomodations were wonderful. Beds were comfortable and the room was quite large. We had a balcony overlooking the street and the furnishings in the room were just exquisite. Wonderful antiques...a fresco painted on the ceiling. Such old world charm.

I can't say enough about Daniele at the front desk. She was so helpful with all of our questions and gave great suggestions as to places to go.

The breakfast was a culinary delight. So many things to choose from. I would go back in a minute. I highly recommend this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prima111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2010

This hotel had outstanding service from the breatfast in the morning to the staff members making reservations at all the local restaurants/tourist attractions! The rooms were very clean & spacious. it simply was amazing through out our stay in Florence. Thanks again Hotel Il Guelfo Bianco we'll be back!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tpm81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2010

When planning our family's trip to Italy earlier this year, I used tripadvisor.com extensively in choosing our lodging. Based on the website's high ranking of Hotel Il Guelfo Bianco, I decided to make it one of my finalists for our stay in Florence (Firenze).

The staff of the hotel was extremely courteous and prompt in responding to my inquiries, and were very helpful in arranging two rooms for us, including a room with three beds... perfect for our two teenage sons and our mid twenties daughter. Our communication before our arrival was so reassuring and filled with humor, I felt as though we had friends waiting for us on our arrival to Firenze.

We arrived by train, and took a pleasant and perfectly safe ten minute stroll from the station through the heart of historic Firenze, past the Baptistry, the Duomo and one of the Medici palaces. The hotel was initially inconspicuous, as with many boutique hotels in Italy, but was no significant problem. It was only a three or four minute walk from the Duomo.

Simply stated, the hotel is just perfectly located. It is only a couple of minutes to the Galleria dell’Accademia, which houses Michaelangelo's "David", is a ten minute walk to the Uffizi, and a fifteen minute walk to San Croce. All these walks are wonderful experiences in and of themselves, with the streets largely devoid of traffic and loaded with restaurants, gelato shops,artisans shops , leather goods and historic sites. As mentioned above, our family never felt unsafe walking Firenze, whether day or night.

On arrival to the hotel, we were treated as friends arriving after a long journey. Check in was simple and quick, and even though we were a little early, our room were ready. The rooms themselves were truly spectacular. They were large, with a separate sitting area, immaculately clean, and beautifully furnished. As a physician, I have been to many conferences at five star hotels throughout the US, and I would put the room that my wife and I stayed in the top three that I have experienced in my lifetime. The hotel's website shows photos of the rooms. Most hotels show photos of only their finest suites. What you see on the website is very much going to your experience. Finally, truth in advertising!

We are typical Americans, in that we are very much seriously hooked to our electronics. As such, it was really nice, after a week in Italy before we arrived in Firenze, to enjoy the ability to finally have a secure and powerful WiFI connection. After a week away from home, we also appreciated some little subtle nuances. The satellite TV had ESPN (US), so I was able to watch a college football game. My kids were ecstatic to see a McDonald's three doors down (I know that sounds pathetic, but it is just reality; Italy, and Firenze, has some of the most wonderful food in the world, but they were ready for a burger). The staff at the hotel all spoke impeccable English, which accentuated our comfort.

One doesn't go to Italy to experience American culture, so though these nuances were present, don't worry; the hotel is very Italian. The staff was happy to help us refine our attempts to speak their language, in a most cheerful way. The morning meal was easily the most extensive buffet of any of the lodging that we encountered duing our trip, with a rich assortment of breads, pastries, meats, cheeses, fruit, not to mention complimentary espresso. Our first day, we unpacked and sauntered down to the hotels adjacent bistro, where a very friendly and kind gentleman whipped up delicious sandwiches for our late lunch. It couldn't have been a better experience.

After several days of fettuccine, busy sightseeing, gelato, museum tours, wine, and indescribable and emotional memories for our family, we regretfully left our friends at the Il Guelfo Bianco to continue on our journey. All in our family felt that is was our favorite lodging during our trip, by far, and felt like a home we had to leave. Give strong consideration to making it your home, too.

PS - We would have given it six stars if that was an option.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JeffMcKenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa Grande, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2010

My wife and I had a short stay here and found it to be up to par with the reviews we had read on-line. Shamz got us off on the right foot with a complimentary antipasta ( nicely done, not to mention TASTY ! ) dish along with two beers. The young ladies working the breakfast buffet we're friendly and hospitable as well. I should mention the front of house staff we're quick to give us sightseeing tips and transportation advice . Thanks for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbo152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#36 of 422 in Florence
2,670 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 422 in Florence
1,891 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#42 of 422 in Florence
1,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orcagna Hotel
#35 of 422 in Florence
772 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 422 in Florence
3,460 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#51 of 422 in Florence
2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Guelfo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Property: Il Guelfo Bianco
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 29, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Florence
#18 Business Hotel in Florence
#25 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Guelfo Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's housed in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (12 till 10,30 pm but on Sunday it closes at 3,00 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Il Guelfo Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing