We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not the best”
Review of Hotel Argentina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Argentina
Ranked #382 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We arrived at 11.30 pm (as warned when booked) but were not expected, We had booked a 2 double bedded room but it wasnt what we got.After some mulling over we were put into room 13 which was an internal room (very depressing) We asked to be moved the following morning, as the room was dimly lit the fridge did not work and and we had a view of a wall. We went to room 7 but although it was brighter it still wasnt what we had booked, basic no t.v the noise from the road at night was ongoing. Very disappointed as it put a damper on our trip to such a beautiful city. Also we gave up on breakfast, by 8.30am apart from a couple of croissants there was no choice, not good. Definately not what we were told we were getting, Such a shame!!

Room Tip: Make sure you're aware of what the room consists of before booking,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angela k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2012

Air conditioning was broken in our room, not going to cut it for summer in Florence. In addiont, room seemed in poor condition. Clean, but everything was old. Missing handles in the bathroom. Overall, the hotel did seem to spend anything on upkeep. Would not go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

If you can't stand the heat, stay out of THIS kitchen! Though our room had an air conditioner, the fact that it didn't work was of little concern to the staff.
Not recommended and would not stay here again...

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Fifendrum54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

This hotel needs a major refurb. The room was very clean but there were too many issues that need little to sort out. There were tiles missing on the bathroom floor, loose wall paper, very old in- room tv not working as well as the socket, air conditioning unit was present but not working, unable to access hotel free wifi from the rooms, loose chandelier fixing. Also the breakfast was very poor with stale croissants and a self service coffee machine making the worst coffee I have ever tasted. We ended up having our breakfast at the bar by the hotel.
We were also asked to pay a staying tax of 3 euros each per night which was not advertised anywhere when we booked and certainly not made aware when we arrived.
Overall this is at one star hotel, the staff was courteous and the room was very clean but they need to invest some money in bringing the rooms to the 21st century.
Location wise the hotel is around 15 minutes walk from the centre and about 5 mins from the main station of Santa Maria Novella.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We arrived to be put in Room 10. Fridge dirty and did not work, television did not work and shower screen collapsed. Pillows dirty, although linen clean. we then moved to room 4. marginally better. Very smelly in both rooms. Damp. No way a three star. Will not recommend or revisit. Look for another hotel in similar area. Location was the only plus.

Worst hotel I have every had the misfortune to stay in.

Reception staff in essense were okay, but I have met better.

Florence was beautiful though

Room Tip: Insist on room 10 out of the two, as the bathroom was quite modern, albeit the shower leaked and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Denise r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

For the price of 120 Euros, the rooms are good. Bathroom spacious & modern. Walking distance to most tourist spots in Florence. Easy excess to railway station, eateries, money exchange, laundromat, mini markets.
No noise inspite of situated on a main road.
friendly staff.

Negative: NO FREE DRINKING WATER. THIS IS ABSURD.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajesh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

3 star prices for a NO STAR hotel. Stayed 5 nights B&B in room 3.
Shower broken though useable.
TV Did Not work throughout our stay.
Advertised WiFi not available in room nor in Public Areas.
Breakfast was okay & Room was clean but uncomfortable.
Reception staff uninterested in our complaints,saying they were Albanian and everything that was wrong was the fault of the Italians~yes,I remain puzzled!!
Plus points,good location near River Arno and about 10 minutes walk from main rail station and a few minutes more to the Attractions of this Fabulous city.
There are some good restaurants & Bars quite near the hotel.
Had we not paid in advance though an agent,we would have moved to a different hotel.

Room Tip: Look for another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddiemu2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#294 of 411 in Florence
243 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Palazzuolo
Hotel Palazzuolo
#335 of 411 in Florence
244 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Donatello
Hotel Donatello
#268 of 411 in Florence
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Select Hotel
#336 of 411 in Florence
497 reviews
Hotel Meridiana
#266 of 411 in Florence
387 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Ariele Hotel
Ariele Hotel
#263 of 411 in Florence
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Argentina

Address: Via Curtatone 12, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #382 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £34 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Argentina 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Argentina was designed to make your stay a memorable one: in fact, in our establishment you will find a very friendly and relaxing atmosphere as well as the very best service, at the very best rates Florence has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argentina Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing