We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgustingly Dirty Dump”
Review of Hotel Argentina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Argentina
Ranked #377 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

I don't ask for much when it comes to hotel rooms. I completely understand that older European hotels lack some of the ammenities found elsewhere - that's perfectly okay. But this hotel left me crawling out of my skin!

Where to begin? Well, for starters, the mattress was STAINED! Really stained! I'm actually pretty sure my matress was moldy.

There was fabric patterning on the wall that also bore a brown, moldy stain. And the mildew level in my room had me coughing all night.

The wallpaper was peeling, the pillow was full of dust and grime...it was nauseating!

I wouldn't wish this hotel on my worst enemy. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else.

Anywhere else!

Camp in a cardboard box on the street corner before you books room here.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jessjmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 58 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

My friend and I spent 2 nights at this hotel while visiting Florence. it's located in a quit area and very close to the main attractions and not so far from the train station.
the staff was very helpful, giving us all the information we needed.
reasonable price, breakfast included.
I recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank titimZa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The staff were very helpful with information about getting around Florence. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay with them. Will definitely stay again.
The only problem a as their free wifi didn't work so hard no phone service during my time there. Staff made calls in Florence for me.


  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Christina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Even though the hall looked a bit run down, the room itself was refurbished and clean. Very large bathroom with new appliances. WiFi was free but only available in the main hall. Standard buffet breakfast, nothing special. Location is great, walking distance to all major sights. Would stay there again

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

no hot water for two days, had to take turns in using another room to get showered on another floor. the room was not cleaned in between so soap, dirty towels etc left from previous user. unacceptable. doesn't even deserve one star. I asked to change rooms but none available. basic breakfast. room shabby, noisy and very dated.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kayjackson8116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel September 2013 when we visited Florence, we were placed in this hotel for two nights, the room in which we were apparently newly refurbished and called the superior ... it is not so ... overall value for money you get a fair service, a perfect terrace which is worth more than any room especially when you come back from a long walk or eat breakfast in the morning on it.
wifi did not work in the room nor in the lobby ..
Breakfast was satisfactory, the distance to the center of all events is 10-15 min walk.
160 euros for two nights is ok price.
Parking .. blue zone parking price first hour is 2 euros for every additional 3 euros a ...
Hotel works with local garage and prices for hotel guests is 20 euros for 24 hours, you will not find a better deal...
all in all, and if he visited Florence, I would be staying in this hotel again

Room Tip: Room No. 12 is ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I spent several days in this hotel in July 2013. The room was very good for a hotel with two to three stars and with reasonable prices. The air conditioning did work perfectly, the room was very clean and the bathroom was good. There was a little bit of traffic noise from the street, but that was not a problem. The breakfast was really good.
For a hotel with reasonable prices, my experience was very good and this hotel is much better than many other hotels with similar ratings and prices in different cities. Last not least, the hotel is very centrally located close to main sights and railway station.
I was really positively surprised with the hotel after having read many bad comments on this website.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anton362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
HHB Hotel
HHB Hotel
#360 of 410 in Florence
144 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Spagna
Hotel Spagna
#354 of 410 in Florence
421 reviews
Hotel Meridiana
#267 of 410 in Florence
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Elite
Hotel Elite
#261 of 410 in Florence
255 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Palazzuolo
Hotel Palazzuolo
#325 of 410 in Florence
241 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Malaspina
Hotel Malaspina
#281 of 410 in Florence
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Argentina

Address: Via Curtatone 12, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #377 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £43 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Argentina 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Argentina was designed to make your stay a memorable one: in fact, in our establishment you will find a very friendly and relaxing atmosphere as well as the very best service, at the very best rates Florence has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argentina Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing