We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A minor disappointment..”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Londra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Londra
Ranked #175 of 421 Hotels in Florence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A minor disappointment..”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I stayed at Hotel Londra inn Florence with a friend last week (13/07/14 - 19/07/14) for an art course. The rooms were extremely reasonably priced for a four star hotel: they were clean and pleasant (although quite basic and bare).

Initially, we were put in a room without a balcony and with such a poor view of the back of other ugly hotels and roofing we asked to move. Unfortunately, there was no space to move for the first night, but the staff were very helpful and allowed us to move the next morning. Our new room had a balcony facing the street. It still was not the typical "florentine" beautiful view but it was so much better and it was so nice to sit there for sunset. Unfortunately, there was no balcony furniture, but we just took a bedside table and two chairs and left them outside.

We missed breakfast four times because it needs at 10.00pm so not ideal if you are going out the night before or just not an early riser. The staff were friendly.

My main disappointment with Londra is that it simply does not live up to the pictures or description. The garden is SO much smaller than you would expect. The "gym" is pathetic and the sauna broke whilst we were using it. It seems about 20 years old. Also, the location really wasn't great with a 15 minute walk into town which was inconvenient. It is the wrong side of the train station and can get dodgy at night.

Overall, it is a reasonably priced hotel and basic and clean. The rooms were soundproofed as well. However, I really question if it should be four stars..

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony to avoid poor views and enjoy the benefits of a sunny balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    500
    290
    74
    63
See reviews for
257
361
44
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
169 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We spent 6 nights in room 607, the top floor of the hotel. View of the city were excellent and each room features a relatively strong window. Ours could tilt open and you could air dry clothes that were washed in the sink.

Free wifi worked very well, except for a few hours one night when there was an outage. The hotel takes about 8 minutes to reach if you walk fast from the train station Santa Maria Novella. Take the airport bus from FLR and it takes less than 30 minutes for 6 euros.

Breakfast was good but repetitive each day from 630-1000am. The room had a frig which really was a plus but you have to go to one of two other floors if you want ice. There was no ice bucket in the room and the maid, when she ever got there, did no refresh creamers. No tissues. They did have two rolls of toilet paper, a tub and shower. As is typical none of the light switches are marked and there are no 110VAC plugs so you must have a converter.

There is an awning over the balcony but to close it or get a better view of the city you must literally climb through the tilted window. There is no balcony furniture. The so-called 'soundproof rooms' are not quite that except from street noise. You can hear people talking in the hall or if out on their balcony. Overall in spite of the minor annoyances, the bed was comfortable, no smoking in the hotel and the staff very helpful. In the restaurant if you are charging a meal, you do not see the bill unless you ask for it. After 5 times we decided to check it out and found all charges were in order.

There are 2 PCs in the lobby but I never could figure out how to type the @ symbol. Overall I still highly recommend this hotel experience.

Room Tip: 6th floor, end room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDM77059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I chose this hotel as it is close the to main SMN train station. The hotel surroundings are quiet at night but well lit. The hotel exterior left much to be desired for. Its an old fashion hotel ( nothing contemporary as the pictures might lead you to think). The staff at the hotel seems ok. The humour was dry but I like it! (for example, I asked where the bus station was (to get to the Mall) and he laughed and said that I am here to shop, when I asked if the hotel wifi connection needed a password..he replied that people these days cannot live without the internet...It may come across as being blunt to others). The rooms were old and musty (nothing like the professional pictures!). Lighting was with halogen bulbs..so its dark and gloomy. Breakfast was average at best, nothing fancy or great. The hotel is supposed to be 4 stars...I will rate it as a low 3 stars. It has seen its heyday a decade or so ago. Stay if you only need a bed to rest your weary body and need a place close to the station.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaunwanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I spent a week at this hotel and enjoyed my stay very much. It is very close to the Florence SNM train station, yet is off the main street so doesn't have the noise and traffic one would expect from its location. Housekeeping was very good. Breakfast, which was included in our room rate, was excellent and large. Although espresso was not a part of the breakfast buffet, it was available on request with no trouble. I noticed a few spots on walls and carpet that looked like they could stand some sprucing up, but nothing major. My only complaint, if it can be called a complaint, is that there was no concierge service, and the front desk staff was not particularly helpful in getting local transportation information, recommending off-site places to eat or visit, etc. Otherwise, I was happy to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcnicolb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The rooms are clean and the size spacious by European standards. It is near the Railroad station but a bit far from the historical center of Florence. I had a room facing the street which surprisingly had very little traffic so it was quiet. The free breakfast great with a large selections of choices.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EDUARDO H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel from October 24 to 27, 2013 as a family. We chose this as our hotel in Florence mainly because it had a parking lot. We were driving from Milan and we planned to plan to go around Tuscany, in San Gimignano, Sienna and Montepulciano and we needed accessible parking. The location of the hotel is nice as it is near the central part of Florence. You could walk anywhere. It is near the train and the bus stations and the famous Florence leather market. We booked a double room and a triple room. Both were large, furnished adequately and clean. The bathrooms were likewise of good size and clean. The front office personnel are friendly enough, though of course, there is still that language barrier. They gave us very good dining suggestions. All the Florentine restaurants they suggested turned out great. Breakfast was likewise good with a good variety of food to choose from. They even serve champagne for breakfast if anyone cares for it. Overall, Hotel Londra was a marvelous stay in Florence!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilda U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
893 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The Internet was not working well. The bathroom tub has one of those ridiculous little glass deflectors and no shower curtain. It is not a pleasant showering experience. The A/C is weak. There is a nice atrium area on the ground floor for relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherokeeMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ambasciatori
Hotel Ambasciatori
#203 of 421 in Florence
1,172 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#110 of 421 in Florence
195 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#78 of 421 in Florence
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Embassy
Hotel Embassy
#141 of 421 in Florence
796 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Club Florence
Hotel Club Florence
#137 of 421 in Florence
755 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Delle Nazioni Hotel
Delle Nazioni Hotel
#190 of 421 in Florence
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Londra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Londra

Property: Hotel Londra
Address: Via Iacopo da Diacceto 18/20, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Londra 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Six-story Hotel situated near Convention Hall & Trade Center, 100 meters from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Londra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Londra Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing