We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Londra
Ranked #179 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Florence is one of the most beautiful cities in the world. One area that is, sadly, not beautiful is the one around the railway station of Santa Maria Novella, devastated by WW2 bombings and quite ugly. Here is where the Hotel Londra is situated, in an ugly, 1960s building. Yes, is it near the station; yes, it is near the conference centre; yes, it is walking distance from the fantastic Duomo etc; but that does not justify the shabbiness of the rooms, the unfriendliness of the staff, the ants in the rooms, the lights not working, the insufficient air conditioning, the doors not closing properly... what a pity! It deserves a better management.

Room Tip: They boast "Ferrari speed wifi", but it's one of the slowest I have ever experienced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

171 - 177 of 1,315 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

I stayed for 4 nights with Hotel Londra in May and it was a pleasant stay. I had 2 triple rooms for my family of 6 and we got upgraded. The rooms were very modern, comfortable and clean. It was not particularly spacious but I didn't feel like it was very cramped. Breakfast was adequate though the varieties did not change during our stay at all. There is champagne for those who enjoy a little bubbly in the mornings.

The location of the hotel was quiet but yet walkable to the city centre for sightseeing and shopping. The wifi worked pretty well as well. There seemed to be large groups staying in the hotel during my stay but I never thought that it was noisy or crowded which is a plus. All in all, a pretty enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank joantham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We had 3 nights at this hotel. First impressions it appeared ok but once we started using the facilities we discovered it was very flawed. On the plus side they offered tea and coffee making facilities - the only hotel on our tour to do so. Sadly this was outweighed by the negatives of a bathroom that became a swimming pool each time the shower was used, a broken toilet where the water ran all night, Poorly maintained gym equipment and out of order sauna. Dirty carpets in the communial areas and stairs.
The breakfast was ok but staff unfriendly and rude regarding seating - barking orders at the guests really isn't acceptable! We also had an evening meal there which was very average.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank SteffyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I stayed at Hotel Londra inn Florence with a friend last week (13/07/14 - 19/07/14) for an art course. The rooms were extremely reasonably priced for a four star hotel: they were clean and pleasant (although quite basic and bare).

Initially, we were put in a room without a balcony and with such a poor view of the back of other ugly hotels and roofing we asked to move. Unfortunately, there was no space to move for the first night, but the staff were very helpful and allowed us to move the next morning. Our new room had a balcony facing the street. It still was not the typical "florentine" beautiful view but it was so much better and it was so nice to sit there for sunset. Unfortunately, there was no balcony furniture, but we just took a bedside table and two chairs and left them outside.

We missed breakfast four times because it needs at 10.00pm so not ideal if you are going out the night before or just not an early riser. The staff were friendly.

My main disappointment with Londra is that it simply does not live up to the pictures or description. The garden is SO much smaller than you would expect. The "gym" is pathetic and the sauna broke whilst we were using it. It seems about 20 years old. Also, the location really wasn't great with a 15 minute walk into town which was inconvenient. It is the wrong side of the train station and can get dodgy at night.

Overall, it is a reasonably priced hotel and basic and clean. The rooms were soundproofed as well. However, I really question if it should be four stars..

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony to avoid poor views and enjoy the benefits of a sunny balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Theo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We spent 6 nights in room 607, the top floor of the hotel. View of the city were excellent and each room features a relatively strong window. Ours could tilt open and you could air dry clothes that were washed in the sink.

Free wifi worked very well, except for a few hours one night when there was an outage. The hotel takes about 8 minutes to reach if you walk fast from the train station Santa Maria Novella. Take the airport bus from FLR and it takes less than 30 minutes for 6 euros.

Breakfast was good but repetitive each day from 630-1000am. The room had a frig which really was a plus but you have to go to one of two other floors if you want ice. There was no ice bucket in the room and the maid, when she ever got there, did no refresh creamers. No tissues. They did have two rolls of toilet paper, a tub and shower. As is typical none of the light switches are marked and there are no 110VAC plugs so you must have a converter.

There is an awning over the balcony but to close it or get a better view of the city you must literally climb through the tilted window. There is no balcony furniture. The so-called 'soundproof rooms' are not quite that except from street noise. You can hear people talking in the hall or if out on their balcony. Overall in spite of the minor annoyances, the bed was comfortable, no smoking in the hotel and the staff very helpful. In the restaurant if you are charging a meal, you do not see the bill unless you ask for it. After 5 times we decided to check it out and found all charges were in order.

There are 2 PCs in the lobby but I never could figure out how to type the @ symbol. Overall I still highly recommend this hotel experience.

Room Tip: 6th floor, end room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank PDM77059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I chose this hotel as it is close the to main SMN train station. The hotel surroundings are quiet at night but well lit. The hotel exterior left much to be desired for. Its an old fashion hotel ( nothing contemporary as the pictures might lead you to think). The staff at the hotel seems ok. The humour was dry but I like it! (for example, I asked where the bus station was (to get to the Mall) and he laughed and said that I am here to shop, when I asked if the hotel wifi connection needed a password..he replied that people these days cannot live without the internet...It may come across as being blunt to others). The rooms were old and musty (nothing like the professional pictures!). Lighting was with halogen bulbs..so its dark and gloomy. Breakfast was average at best, nothing fancy or great. The hotel is supposed to be 4 stars...I will rate it as a low 3 stars. It has seen its heyday a decade or so ago. Stay if you only need a bed to rest your weary body and need a place close to the station.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Shaunwanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I spent a week at this hotel and enjoyed my stay very much. It is very close to the Florence SNM train station, yet is off the main street so doesn't have the noise and traffic one would expect from its location. Housekeeping was very good. Breakfast, which was included in our room rate, was excellent and large. Although espresso was not a part of the breakfast buffet, it was available on request with no trouble. I noticed a few spots on walls and carpet that looked like they could stand some sprucing up, but nothing major. My only complaint, if it can be called a complaint, is that there was no concierge service, and the front desk staff was not particularly helpful in getting local transportation information, recommending off-site places to eat or visit, etc. Otherwise, I was happy to stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcnicolb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
c-hotels Diplomat
c-hotels Diplomat
#118 of 410 in Florence
267 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
c-hotels Ambasciatori
c-hotels Ambasciatori
#269 of 410 in Florence
135 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#94 of 410 in Florence
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Delle Nazioni Hotel
Delle Nazioni Hotel
#183 of 410 in Florence
1,377 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Embassy
Hotel Embassy
#143 of 410 in Florence
862 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Kraft Hotel
Kraft Hotel
#86 of 410 in Florence
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Londra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Londra

Address: Via Iacopo da Diacceto 18/20, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £76 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Londra 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Six-story Hotel situated near Convention Hall & Trade Center, 100 meters from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Londra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Londra Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing