We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”
Review of Hotel Jane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Jane
Ranked #188 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Aberdeen
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
“Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We spent a very pleasant 7 days in Florence from 20-27 March. I can highly recommend Hotel Jane and would definitely stay there again. The location is ideal, hotel located on a quite street but within easy walking distance of all the main tourist attractions.

Our room (40) was large and lovely with a great window facing the street. The window kept out street noise, however I found the room to be fairly noisy from the hallway.

The room was very clean and wireless internet in the room was very useful and worked well. The bed was extremely comfortable and the lovely soft towels were changed daily. In general we found the staff to be very helpful, particularly Lucia at reception

The breakfast was delicious and presented nicely. The room has had a revamp since the photos shown on here - unfortunately I don't have a photo of the new modern look and wallpaper – ladies shoes!! New coffee dispenser installed during our stay, Americano, cappuccino, hot chocolate – lovely.

I can also highly recommend the restaurant 'La Taverna'. The food was extremely good and it was also very reasonable. It is only a couple of streets away in Via Arnolfo. We ended up eating there every night.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedDons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    288
    119
    33
    13
See reviews for
105
277
19
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Me and my girlfriend (both early 20's) decided to go to Florence for our first holiday last september (2012) and found the hotel Jane on trip advisor and decided to stay seeing as though the reviews sounded promising. The hotel isn't exactly central to the city centre, but if you don't mind a 10-15 minute walk, it's fine. The hotel is located on a quiet side street close to the river, and staff were welcoming on our arrival. Hotel Jane isn't what I would call modern, and has questionable decor in parts, however our room was clean and was visited daily by the cleaner. Our bathroom was nice, and we had a nice view from our window over the streets of Florence. Room size was small, but I imagine this to be quite normal in Florence, and furthermore, the walls happen to be quite thin. Nonetheless, these things are all minimal issues. The breakfast was quite nice, but nothing amazing, cold meats, cereal, fruit juice yoghurts and so on. The hotel is situated in quite a nice place really, as you're not bombarded with all the hustle and noise of central Florence, but close enough to walk along the river each day back in to enjoy the beautiful streets and river. Overall this was a nice hotel for the money, it was clean, comfortable, and had good service. If anyone complains about this hotel then they need to review how much they paid, as if you want luxury, then you need to pay for it. For me it had all I could want, and besides, you will be spending 90% of your day out seeing Florence and eating its beautiful foods! The only little issues I had was that there wasn't any English tv for when I got back and just wanted to kick back, the wi- fi was slow/hardly worked, and last but not least one or two Mosquitos somehow always managed to into our room which did manage to bite us a few times. Again these moans are all trivial really, hotel Jane is a lovely hotel which I would recommend to anyone wanting to stay in Florence on a budget.

Room Tip: Go on the higher floors, as the views can be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We found this lovely hotel in Florence on Tripadvisor. The place, located in a quiet neighborhood, was very comfortable and homely.

We reached the hotel by taking Bus No 14 from the Firenze station and got off at the second bus stop on Via Arnoflo. The gentleman on the reception was kind enough to let us check-in before the actual check in time. We found the room to be simple but clean and comfortable. However, we felt that the rooms were a bit small in size - but this didn't really pose any problem for us. The bathroom was very clean and spacious. The hotel provided a nice and healthy breakfast which was a plus point. The wifi connectivity was also very good. Overall, I would say that Hotel Jane is a perfect option for an economical traveler. I would highly recommend this.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgunjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Super charming, clean, great location, breakfast was good! We stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed ourselves. We didn't have a problem with it, but the bathroom and shower were tiny. Unless you are a larger person, I wouldn't make this a deal breaker, because for the value it was great and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Very clean and comfortable hotel. Nice furniture. Breakfast served in the morning. Located near a busy street with lots of restaurants and trendy shops. Went by foot to the historical center (15-30 minutes walk).

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giona64, Responsabile reception at Hotel Jane, responded to this review, 3 February 2013
Dear Guest,
thank so much for your nice review!
We hope to welcoming you again at Hotel Jane.
We wish you all the best.
All the Staff
Hotel Jane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We spent a very pleasant five days in Florence over the festive period and I can highly recommend Hotel Jane and would definitely stay there again. The location is ideal, it is in a quiet street but within easy walking distance of all the main tourist attractions.

The room was very clean and wireless internet in the room was very useful and worked well. The bed was extremely comfortable and the lovely soft towels were changed daily. In general we found the staff to be very helpful, particularly Lucia at reception who helped us buy advance tickets for the Uffizi Gallery (recommended otherwise the queues are horrendous).

The only drawbacks, which could easily be resolved, were the lack of any English TV channel, surely it would be easy enough to add CNN, or BBC World service? Also breakfast can be a bit hit or miss depending on how busy it is when you go. Supplies tended to run out and although the lady tried her best to keep up, it meant that sometimes there was very little choice. Also for vegetarians there was not much on offer for protein except one type of cheese slices. The addition of some hard boiled eggs would make a big difference.

I can also highly recommend the restaurant 'La Taverna' that the hotel suggested we eat in. The food was extremely good and it was also very reasonable – a nice surprise! It is only a couple of streets away in Via Arnolfo. We ended up eating there every night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellamanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giona64, Responsabile reception at Hotel Jane, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Dear Guest,
thanks a lot for your beautiful review, we are glad you appreciated our service,room location and you enjoied your stay at Hotel Jane.
We promise we will do our best to have CNN and BBC as soon as possible.
Look forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Jane.
We wish all the best.
Kind Regards
Lucia and
All the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We only stayed in this hotel for one night. The hotel was close to the river and other sights in Florence. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed Christmas Day so there was not much open and they were able to suggest a place for dinner. The room was a little smaller than the other hotels we had stayed during our vacation, but we were only staying the one night and it didn't really matter. We didn't get to have breakfast because our flight was leaving early in the morning. This hotel does have parking, reserved blocked off spaces they unblock when you arrive at the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 25LoveToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Ferrucci
#209 of 411 in Florence
495 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Il Poeta Dante
Hotel Il Poeta Dante
#187 of 411 in Florence
293 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#89 of 411 in Florence
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florent
#172 of 411 in Florence
171 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Bonifacio
Hotel Bonifacio
#155 of 411 in Florence
371 reviews
Hotel Bologna
#139 of 411 in Florence
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jane

Property: Hotel Jane
Address: Via Orcagna 56-58, 50121, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jane 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Jane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jane Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing