We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff , good Ambience”
Review of Hotel Jane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Jane
Ranked #198 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Although it was difficult to locate the hotel itself was very comfortable , the breakfast was simple but filling and staff was very helpful, they spoke fluent English and were able to help us locate the near by tourist places .

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nagma Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 67 of 604 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

I spent 3 nights at the hotel. The room and bathroom are little bit old, but clean and usable. It's around 700m from the trains station (I went walking, with a hand luggage...) and it has a bus stop near, so it's easy to go to the centre. The breakfast is very simple. The staff was nice and attended my demands (breakfast little bit earlier). The lady of front desk (I forgot her name...) was very nice and give me tips of restaurants (there are, at least, two very good restaurants near), transport and even helped me to book two tours, which I recommend (walk tour by Florence 5,00 euro and Toscana day tour to Piza, San Mirgione, Vinci and Siena). If you look for a budget hotel (not that much...) and don't mind about simple breakfast and old clean room, you will like it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fabiomti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Our five-day stay at the Jane was very pleasant. All of the staff spoke good English and no request was too difficult for them. Our room was of good size and the bed was comfortable. The small refrigerator in the room was much appreciated. Breakfast was good, and the available wi-fi worked well. We walked to the small square nearby to catch the local bus into the center of the city - very convenient. We ate at a number of the neighborhood restaurant (La Taverna was our favorite) and enjoyed the local flavor of the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank waldo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

I am a hotelier and visited so many countries and stayed in so many hotels. But i can tell you these italians they dont know anything about hotel business , even though 3 star or 2 star doesnt matter, they dont know how to greet the customer.

Hotel is a standard hotel, poor breakfast facilities, all cutlery is dirty. You can hear all the noise coming from next room.

Thank you,

Nihal

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Sevuknih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Was nervous at first because I had actually booked the Orcagna Hotel across the street, only to find a sign that it was closed for renovations and that they had moved all reservations to the Jane. But in the end, I was very happy with my stay at the Jane. The staff (who all spoke English) were very friendly and helpful, and my room was clean, modern and large. The walls were a little thin, though, as I could hear neighbors talking and shutting doors a bit, but the sounds didn't go late so I slept fine. A decent breakfast and free Wi-Fi were included. Keep in mind that it's around a 20 minute walk to the Duomo area, so if you are going back and forth to your hotel throughout the day, you'll feel it in your legs (but there are buses nearby that go to the train station) . On the plus side, though, because it's slightly out of the center, the neighborhood has a very "local" feel, and was wonderfully free from tourists (ie: no restaurants with menus written in English anywhere to be found!), so for me, it was worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mezaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giona64, Responsabile reception at Hotel Jane, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your review about our hotel and for the beautiful words !! .We are very happy if you enjoied you stay at Hotel Jane, in fact is 20 minutes far from the center but less traffic less noise and also bus service is good.
Look forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Jane.
Kind Regards
The Reception and
all the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We spent three nights at this hotel. We chose it because Florence is very expensive and we did not want to drive through the historic area and all the hassles associated with driving in a “traffic limited zone”. Our room was tiny. Once we placed our two suitcases on the floor, there was no space at all to step. The bathroom was tiny by even European standards. The shower, if you can call it, was probably one third the size of an average shower. As someone who is petite I could not be in the shower without rubbing up against the walls and turning around was a bit tough. Front desk was nice but nothing special. The breakfast was pretty good. Although on some days they would offer freshly made coffee from the bar and on other days it would only be available from a small self operated machine. The only thing that truly stood out was the neighborhood itself. There are lots of cute shops and restaurants which I would have never seen had we stayed in the very center. To walk to the center by foot, it would take 25 min or so. You can also catch a bus one block away and be in the city in 10 min.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexandriaGirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We just finished our 5th stay at the Hotel Jane in Florence. Obviously we like the hotel and for a number of reasons. The location is good - 20 minutes walk from the Duomo. There are vine and coffee bars, restaurants and a wide variety of stores in close proximity to the hotel. There is also free parking in front of the hotel for 5 cars; otherwise you pay to park on the street or use the hotel parking lot for 15e per day.

The staff is multi-lingual, friendly and very helpful. Breakfast is good and the breakfast room is in a nice setting. The rooms are comfortable and modern, and the radiators do a good job of warming the rooms in the winter. The Wi-Fi works well throughout the hotel, and there is a refrigerator in each room. If one travels in Italy you will note that hotel rooms in Florence cost more money than in Milan, Pisa, Lucca and Rome. Thus, comparing the cost of a 3 star hotel room in Rome to one in Florence may not be a valid comparison. Bottom line - the Hotel Jane is a clean, and comfortable hotel that works fine unless you absolutely have to stay within a 1/2 mile of the Duomo, or have difficulty walking.

jr

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jay r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giona64, Responsabile reception at Hotel Jane, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Guest,
thanks so much for your beautiful review about our hotel.
We are very happy if you enjoied your stay.
Hope to welcoming you again soon.
Kind Regards
All the Staff
Hotel Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Bologna
#138 of 410 in Florence
337 reviews
Hotel La Fortezza
#65 of 410 in Florence
338 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#41 of 410 in Florence
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#95 of 410 in Florence
767 reviews
B&B Hotel Firenze City Center
#274 of 410 in Florence
665 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#159 of 410 in Florence
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jane

Address: Via Orcagna 56-58, 50121, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #198 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £44 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jane 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Jane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jane Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing