We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“open airy location”
Review of Hotel Malaspina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Malaspina
Ranked #282 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
127 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“open airy location”
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Great 3 star hotel in the heart of Florence - located on the edge of a lovely open airy square. Just a nice 3 block walk from the "biz" . I cannot pay this hotel more credit than say it restored my belief in finding a good clean central 3 star hotel in Firenze . The room we had was a great size with a full bathroom and a typical 3 star hotel breakfast - enough food and choice to set you up for the morning. The bonus for me was the coffee machine that dispensed a good quality brew - I always find it strange when in hotels in Italy that the coffee is always terrible yet you can go to the cheapest or worst cafe bar and get a superb cup !
For this reviewer all I can say is you get more than you pay for in this hotel - if you want 3star this is one of the best !

Room Tip: We had Room 304 = excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GlenLoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    165
    124
    48
    31
See reviews for
74
214
27
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Just a short walk from the train station we were greeted by extremely friendly and helpful staff! The room was small but had everything we needed and was good value for money! Perfect for young travellers on a budget, also has free wifi! Would definitely stay again..

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nikkinoo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Just average, that's it. Plus they don't let the ac work. Bragged about some legal order . The best option they had was to open the window to noisy street which provided Mosquitos to held an orchestra programme in our ears whole night.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ankita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012 via mobile

A nice, clean, and comfortable place with a great breakfast and a friendly staff. We stayed 4 nights and it was quiet and comfortable, a great place to unwind after a day of walking thru Florence. Stefano was at the desk when we arrived and tracked some of our luggage down that had been lost while we enjoyed the sites of the city. He went out of his way to suggest restaurants and sites that were off the tourist path and to help us find our way around.
It is close to all but far enough away to be quiet. A great experience!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 52tbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Last minute booking through Easy Jet. The Hotel was easy to find (thanks to previous comments on Trip Advisor) When we arrived there was an overwhelming smell of 'drains' in the reception (this lasted the whole of our four day stay) Not a very good first impression! The person behind the desk checked us in, he spoke no English (I admit my Italian is no good either!) and couldn't explain anything. He gave us a key with the number on and pointed round the corner. Luckily we saw a lift and found our room (no 106) on the first floor. We opened the door to what I describe as a corridor with two single beds placed head to head. Not ideal for a romantic 25th wedding anniversary celebration :(

I went down stairs to say that we would like the room to be changed and tried to explain why, we were told to wait. After a short while, a man came and asked what our problem was, when I explained, he begrudgingly said that the hotel was fully booked, but he would move us (I assume some other poor couple got room 106!) We were given room 108. This was a very small room overlooking a small square at the back of the building, with no natural light. The bed was a double, but was shabby looking and very, very uncomfortable, There was only on chair in the room, so one of us had to sit on the bed. There were cobweb on the ceiling, there were brown marks on the walls, we later discovered these marks dead mosquitoes! The Hair dryer in the bathroom was broken and whilst a very nice young man who spoke good English tried to fix it, it didn't help the problem and I was unable to dry my hair for three days, not the end of the world I agree, but not what the blurb promised.

The staff generally were unfriendly (apart from the young man mentioned above) They seemed to be happy to carry on with their own conversations, and not worry about guests.

Florence itself is the most breath taking city we have ever been too, and we shall return, however, not to this Hotel!

The moral of the story I guess, is 'you get what you pay for' we will be more careful in future!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NxN61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colchester
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We booked this hotel through Avios and were not disappointed.

It took us 10 minutes to walk to the hotel through the street from the station (Via Nazionale, the road next to McDonalds) which was straight forward but somewhat hussle/bussle whilst wheeling our small trolly bags along the narrow pavements.

We arrived at the Piazza della Indipendenza and it took us a few minutes to find the location of the hotel….. It’s literally on the top right hand corner. A good location to walk to all the sites.

Check in was quick and easy even though my partner practiced his newly self learnt Italian, the receptionist was patient and helpful (by replying in English)! Upon arrival we paid 3 euros per person per night city tax.

Our room was clean, comfortable and of good size. There was no tea or coffee making facilities, but a mini bar, for which the prices were not too bad. The air conditioning was on and humming away, but was adequate and didn’t bother us.

It didn’t worry us, but if you like your TV it was Italian channels only.

Breakfast was a small buffet consisting of the usual cereal, yoghurt, fruit, cheese, cold meat, pastries and bread. Coffee was from a machine, and it seemed a bit of a hunt for a tea bag, though once found there was a selection of Twinings tea. It was all we needed to get us started for a day of walking and sightseeing.

There is a very small bar at the hotel, which we never actually saw manned … I think you asked the reception. A little disappointing we felt as there was no tea/coffee making or a soft chair in the room.

One more mention was that the shower was not the best. It was clean and spacious but the power was weak and only just luke warm, but it got us clean.

For three nights this hotel was perfectly adequate for our needs and we would certainly recommend it for a short break.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jnofrills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Last minute decision to join family trip to Florence,couldn't fit in with them,booked this hotel using Tripadvisor as it it had good reviews.The biggest bonus as a single traveller is that the room had its own bathroom,but also that its rates were extremely reasonable.Very good location,room and bathroom spotlessly clean,public areas also very clean,The reception staff were very helpful.Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twolounginglizzards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Donatello
Hotel Donatello
#279 of 421 in Florence
3.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
#235 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Hotel La Fortezza
#58 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Palazzo Vecchio
Hotel Palazzo Vecchio
#189 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
San Marco
Hotel de la Pace
Hotel de la Pace
#171 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Hotel Panama
#241 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Malaspina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Malaspina

Property: Hotel Malaspina
Address: Piazza Dell'Indipendenza 24, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #282 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Malaspina 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the same hospitality accorded Dante at the Castello di Fosdinovo in Lunigiana, the descendants of the Marquis Malaspina have opened their Florence residence on Piazza dell’Indipendenza to offer modern hospitality with that touch and culture that makes Hotel Malaspina a truly charming hotel.The lady of the house, Benedetta Torrigiani Malaspina, has created elegant rooms with period furniture with inviting halls and parlors, where the intimate atmosphere resembling a private home is enhanced by the excellent comforts, superior among those proposed by 3 star hotels in Florence. Starting with the garage just steps from the hotel (a valet takes your car and brings it back when you want it) and reception open 24h.The TV room and lobby are very pleasant, ideal situations for relaxing or socializing over a cup of coffee or glass of Tuscan wine served by the bar reserved for guests and open from 8 in the morning until midnight.Those staying at Hotel Malaspina for business can also use a conference room which can hold up to 20 people.The pretty breakfast room offers a plentiful buffet with sweet and savory foods, typical Florentine sweets, juices and hot beverages. Guests can obtain all the information they need at the reception for visiting the city and our concierge service makes reservations for tickets to the most important museums and sights, music and theater performances, recommends and makes reservations for restaurants, guided tours and tours to the surrounding areas and transfers to and from the airport (plane and train tickets can also be purchased). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Malaspina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malaspina Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing