We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location”
Review of Hotel Malaspina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Malaspina
Ranked #282 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 29 May 2008

The hotel is just close enough to the main sights like the Galleria and Duomo, but far enough away from the madness of central Firenze. It's also very close to the train station, which was invaluable to us. There aren't many good places to eat in the immediate vicinity but we didn't mind walking a bit. The staff was always friendly and the breakfast was small but decent. There was nothing particularly outstanding about our stay, but we also had no complaints and I think that's more important. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — upon arrival we could not go to our room as it was not ready yet, which was frustrating because we had just flown in
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SilverPlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    165
    124
    48
    31
See reviews for
74
214
27
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYLON
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2008

My friends and I stayed in a triple room in Malaspina and were satisfied with the accommodations. The people working at the front desk were perfectly polite (although not exuberantly friendly). Our room was clean, and the towels were surprisingly nice and thick. The water pressure in the shower was also very good. Our biggest complaint about the room was that it was a bit stuffy, and the AC didn't seem to work that well.

Breakfast was also satisfactory. However, the coffee was pretty awful---
but I read that one reviewer had excellent espresso during their stay there. We actually did not see or even know that they were serving espresso...so it might be worth asking them about it.

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — Room was stuffy
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler0022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2008

This hotel is in a wonderful location. It is close enough to walk to from the train terminal (unless you have a ton of luggage). Florence is a pretty easy city to get around and we had no problem at all walking to all of the sights around town. It was only a 5 minute walk to the Accademia Museum.

The hotel room was nice but nothing elaborate. There was kind of a funny smell in the air but once we opened the window it went away. The bathroom is small but perfectly acceptable. Room was clean which is what's most important.

The breakfast is good but minimal. You can get a drink there but there is not really a bar so to speak.

There is one girl on the staff that was very helpful to us but the rest of the staff that we spoke with were not especially friendly or helpful. The one thing that really upset me about this hotel is that we did some laundry while we were there and they charged us a ridiculous amount for it. It was certainly less than a full load of laundry and they charged us over 99 Euros for it! I complained and asked for a manager but there was nobody in at the time. Apparently they had prices on the 2nd sheet of the laundry form but no prices on the first page. I felt like it was trickery and told them so. I expected it to be expensive to do laundry at a hotel but I found this charge to be way out of line. The guy at the desk at the time didn't really care that I was upset either.

Overall, there was nothing wrong w/ the hotel itself and the location was great. Just beware of anything that you have to pay for and ask ahead of time what the charge is.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Expensive Laundry Service
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bengalcatlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmalaspina, owner and manager at Hotel Malaspina, responded to this review, 29 April 2008
First of all thank you for your review.
The only thing I do not understand is your complaint for the laundry service.
Inside each room, in the wardrobe you can find our laundry list and a plastic bag.
The laundry list has two copies.
The first one is white and the second one is yellow.
The white one is the one to be filled and goes to the laundry place.
The yellow one is with all the prices and this stay with us at all time. This is the copy with the different prices for each item and it is used to charge the guest's bill.
I still have your list with me. They are listes 24 items and been washed and ironed for you.
The total cost charged was euro. 99,50
Which is a balance of Euro. 4,14 for each item.
This is a normal price and not very expensive at all.
If you go to any laundry service in Florence you will spend more money then euro. 99,50.
Thank you and best regards.
Yours Sincerely,

Marco Nori Bufalini
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dutchess County NY USA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2008

Much has already been said by other reviewers, here are some specific points:

- excellent location if you are attending an event at the Fortezza da Basso (conference center). However it is a bit farther away from some of the main Firenze attractions than many of the other hotels (which is a plus in my mind, you're out of the 'storm')

- our room was on the via Nazionale side which has car/truck noise 24x7 if the window is open (none when window closed, but then the room was a bit stuffy). Possibly the rooms on the Piazza Indipendenza are quieter, it's worth asking (and also you'll have more of a view, with trees)

- the hotel is only a "five minute walk" from the train station if you walk very fast, not possible if you are lugging bags. Closer to 10-15 minutes especially if the sidewalk is crowded. Same to the Duomo et al

- we liked the unpretentious spaghetteria (there's a nice garden-ish room in the back) right down the block on the via Nazionale as well as the little cafe across the piazza from the hotel (corner of Nazionale)

- 2 out of the 4 front desk staff we interacted with were not friendly, although one seemed to warm up after the first couple of days. One was on the phone (not with customers, seemingly) almost constantly. The others were fine.

- the towels were indeed great, fluffy, large

- our room (a triple) was fine, nothing amazing but good for a 3-star

- the breakfast was also fine, better than some, worse than others. On the first morning no one came by to offer espresso/capuccino so we didn't know it was available, and the other coffee is not good. However the second and third morning we were asked and the espresso was quite good.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HudsonValleyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmalaspina, Owner and manager at Hotel Malaspina, responded to this review, 29 April 2008
Firs of all thank you for your review.
I am sorry but you have mentioned that your room was on Via Nazionale side.This is not true, Via Nazionale is not around the Hotel.
This street is at about 100 meters away from us!!
Our Hotel is centrally located and when you keep the windows opened, is normal to have some noise from the street.
You should have mentioned that we do have a 4 glasses window, not to have noise from outside.
Please let us know what you expect for a very good breakfast. Our GOAL is to give a far better service.
Thank you and best regards.
Marco Nori Bufalini
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
110 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2007

Stayed here for 3 days in October. The rooms were spotlessly clean as were the bathrooms.Beds were very comfortable. Our room had two sets of double glazing ensuring a very good night's sleep.
The location is perfect for walking anywhere in Florence and very convenient for the railway station, which was how we arrived. The trains in Italy are amazingly cheap!
Breakfast was adequate but not a great deal of choice, they even ran out of bread one morning (we were last down!).
I thoroughly recommend this place for value for money.

  • Liked — bedrooms
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2007

My wife, 6 year old daughter and I stayed at the Hotel Mapaspina for two nights in July 07. It is excellently located, no more than a five minute walk to the old city squares in the centre of Florence. It is situated directly in front of a lovely little park which makes a very pleasant place to sit out at the start or end of your days in Florence. The hotel was very clean and the room we stayed in was very spacious - bigger than rooms in hotels we've stayed in for three times the price. By the way, do not book direclty with the hotel. We used an online agency and it was less than half the price that it would have cost direct with the hotel.

Breakfast was included in the price and was a very well laid out buffet style with pastries, cereal, yogurts, eggs, fruit, etc. There is no restaurant there, but with so many only a few minutes walk away, it's not an issue. There is a lovely small bar on the ground floor though. Parking is dealt with by the hotel - you drop the car off, they park it for you and when you want it again you have it within ten minutes. Be aware however that the parking is not cheap in Florence. It cost us €25 per day.

Overall, cannot fault the hotel. Friendly staff, great location, great price, very quiet and relaxed. We would recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in Florence.

  • Liked — Style, cleanliness, location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cfkire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2007

Okay, that's probably an understatement. We expected much more, especially since we were on our honeymoon. The hotel was only a couple blocks from a train station, and there was a cute park in front, but these were the only good points whatsoever. The staff is not friendly and was not helpful at all. Anytime we asked a question it was like we were putting them out of their way. The breakfast was just okay; but the worst of our four destinations. The staff entered our room severals times a day, even if we had the Do Not Disturb sign up. We did not feel like "guests". Our room was large, but empty and very plain. The bathroom looked nice, however the lights were broken and their were sewer fumes coming into the room. When we mentioned this to the front desk, their response was to just keep the door closed. We were not impressed with Florence in general. We heard many similar complaints from other tourists we met. If you're not into art, the only good thing about Florence is Piazza Michelangelo where you can see the beautiful skyline of Florence. We tried to get out of Florence, but the trains were on strike so we were trapped. We recommend staying in the countryside of Tuscany and taking a day trip or two to Florence. We didn't encounter these problems anywhere else we went in Italy.

  • Disliked — staff
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank duka24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmalaspina, Owner and manager at Hotel Malaspina, responded to this review, 29 April 2008
First of all thank you very much for your review.
NOT IMPRESSED WITH FLORENCE IN GENERAL?

Please do not come to Florence again, this is one of the most beautiful CITY in the world.

Thank you and best regards.

Yours Sincerely,

Marco Nori Bufalini
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Donatello
Hotel Donatello
#278 of 421 in Florence
3.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
#236 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Hotel La Fortezza
#60 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Palazzo Vecchio
Hotel Palazzo Vecchio
#185 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
San Marco
Hotel de la Pace
Hotel de la Pace
#177 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Hotel Panama
#241 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Malaspina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Malaspina

Property: Hotel Malaspina
Address: Piazza Dell'Indipendenza 24, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #282 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Malaspina 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the same hospitality accorded Dante at the Castello di Fosdinovo in Lunigiana, the descendants of the Marquis Malaspina have opened their Florence residence on Piazza dell’Indipendenza to offer modern hospitality with that touch and culture that makes Hotel Malaspina a truly charming hotel.The lady of the house, Benedetta Torrigiani Malaspina, has created elegant rooms with period furniture with inviting halls and parlors, where the intimate atmosphere resembling a private home is enhanced by the excellent comforts, superior among those proposed by 3 star hotels in Florence. Starting with the garage just steps from the hotel (a valet takes your car and brings it back when you want it) and reception open 24h.The TV room and lobby are very pleasant, ideal situations for relaxing or socializing over a cup of coffee or glass of Tuscan wine served by the bar reserved for guests and open from 8 in the morning until midnight.Those staying at Hotel Malaspina for business can also use a conference room which can hold up to 20 people.The pretty breakfast room offers a plentiful buffet with sweet and savory foods, typical Florentine sweets, juices and hot beverages. Guests can obtain all the information they need at the reception for visiting the city and our concierge service makes reservations for tickets to the most important museums and sights, music and theater performances, recommends and makes reservations for restaurants, guided tours and tours to the surrounding areas and transfers to and from the airport (plane and train tickets can also be purchased). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Malaspina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malaspina Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing