We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible and it stinks”
Review of Hotel Malaspina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Malaspina
Ranked #290 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This hotel smells so bad, it is dirty and there are so many bugs it is unbelievable. The first night we arrived the room smelled like rotting meat and I got two huge mosquito bites. I would never recommend anyone to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Nono2398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Very nice 3 stars hotel. It's neer the city centre - 5 mit walking and you are at the start of the san lorenzo market where you will find beautiful leather bags!

10 min walking and you are at the amazing Dumo of florence.

The hotel is neer alot of great resturants and in front of it is the nice piazza delle independecia.

Great service at the front desk by Stefano who was in tuch with us before arriving to confirm ouwere rezervations.


The brecfest is nice with bread, hum & chees, and all kinds of sweets. They have coffee maschine- watch out and don't drink to much becouse it's free and it is a GREAT coffee!!!!!

Over all very nice simple hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Daniela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights when visited Florence. I had no problems with anything, found the hotel clean and in a quiet place overlooking the Piazza dell'Indipendenza, nice green square, unlike many other hotels located in busy streets like via Nazionale that I've passed on the way.
Location is very convenient for both bus/train station - only 10 minutes walk and main sights -Galleria del'Academia and Duomo are 10 minutes walk from the hotel.
Any question I've asked from the reception was dealt with immediately.
Breakfast was great, continental with fresh ingredients, unlimited coffee. WiFi connection was reliable.
I would recommend this hotel and planning to come back there in the future.

Room Tip: Single rooms are quite small, but do not be put off by this, my room was clean, had everything I nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel for four nights. Firstly the guy who checked us in was very unfriendly and kept our passports for 3 hours for 'registration' purposes, when we came back to collect them later that night we were then told that everytime we leave the hotel we needed to leave them with the room key. Also when i asked for wifi login and about the shower in the room he sounded annoyed, had he given us this info when we earlier on during the day we wouldn't be asking him this. For the first 2 days we had to leave the bath running for about 4 mins before water was hot enough to shower and the shower was not powerful, always felt that you didn't rinse the shampoo/ conditioner out of your hair properly. Also wifi wasn't very strong, kept cutting out.

The other guys in reception, were a lot more friendly and helpful. Just be aware of the guy with glasses.

Breakfast was very basic and not exciting. Would have rather brought breakfast from one of the shops outside. There is a supermarket on the via Niazonle near the train station.

The hotel is about 10 min walk from train station and Duomo.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank 558winnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmalaspina, Proprietario at Hotel Malaspina, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Madam,

first of all, thank you very much for your comments on our Hotel.
I would like to reply to your opinions:
1. we do ask passport for each of our guest, in order to register it for the Italian police. This is the law in Italy. We do normally do all the registrations in the afternoon. In the morning we are very busy with all the departures.We do also offer the possibility to make a photocopy at the arrival time.
2. we do ask to leave the key at reception everytime our guest leave the Hotel. This is for security of the Hotel and passport is not needed anymore. I do not understand which was your problem.
3. we do offer free wi-fi and is very powerful in all areas of our Hotel. This year we have spent a good amount of money to increase this service. You should think that the problem maybe with your device.
4. none of my receptionist have glasses.
5. we are a three star Hotel and our breakfast is not basic at all. We do offer a lot of variety.
Finally.....there is not a supermarket in Nazionale street.

I am very disappointed on your comments and I will do my best to increase service in my business.

Looking forward to welcoming back to the Hotel Malaspina, I send you my best regards.

Yours Sincerely,

Marco Nori Bufalini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

i was with the group in Malaspina. The stuff really was not professional. They let the passports to wrong persons. They didn´t say welcome, hello etc. They could not organize cold wine or spumante. They did not even looked into your face. Only the woman who cleans is normal and helpful. I couldn´t believe that we are in Italy!
The breakfast is poor. The beds are so hard and the pillows like stone. We could not sleep because of our old and terrible bed. It keeps noice if you even sit on it. And then there is the traffic.

Room Tip: Do not take a room near the street; the noice is terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Venlatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This hotel was great in comparison with the other hotels in which I stayed in Italy. As per usual, just to make sure we got to the right place, we hired a cab to take us there from the train station. There was no need as it was only a 10 min walk from there, as we would come to find out later. It is right by a park, close to restaurants, the staff are friendly, and the breakfast was great. The rooms were NOT typically European in that the twin beds were not parallel to each other, but rather head to head with a small cabinet separating them. It may have just been the layout of the room, but this was great. Also for Europe, the bathroom was s p a c i o u s. Overall, a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon and overall had a good experience at this hotel. It has some lovely features and doesn't feel as bland as a lot of hotels. The room we had was a good size and had its own balcony overlooking a park. The biggest disappointment of the rooms is that there are no tea and coffee making facilities supplied and were not available when we asked at reception.
The breakfast room is downstairs in the basement and provides a fairly standard continental breakfast but no fresh fruit which was a shame.
The location is great as it's not too far from the station and close by are lots of eateries and shops that are a bit cheaper than some in the main town centre.

Room Tip: Room 104 has a balcony and overlooks the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Donatello
Hotel Donatello
#270 of 410 in Florence
603 reviews
San Lorenzo
Galileo Hotel
Galileo Hotel
#229 of 410 in Florence
436 reviews
Hotel Annalena
#216 of 410 in Florence
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#303 of 410 in Florence
242 reviews
Hotel Alex
#221 of 410 in Florence
271 reviews
Select Hotel
#334 of 410 in Florence
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Malaspina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Malaspina

Address: Piazza Dell'Indipendenza 24, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #290 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £41 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Malaspina 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the same hospitality accorded Dante at the Castello di Fosdinovo in Lunigiana, the descendants of the Marquis Malaspina have opened their Florence residence on Piazza dell’Indipendenza to offer modern hospitality with that touch and culture that makes Hotel Malaspina a truly charming hotel.The lady of the house, Benedetta Torrigiani Malaspina, has created elegant rooms with period furniture with inviting halls and parlors, where the intimate atmosphere resembling a private home is enhanced by the excellent comforts, superior among those proposed by 3 star hotels in Florence. Starting with the garage just steps from the hotel (a valet takes your car and brings it back when you want it) and reception open 24h.The TV room and lobby are very pleasant, ideal situations for relaxing or socializing over a cup of coffee or glass of Tuscan wine served by the bar reserved for guests and open from 8 in the morning until midnight.Those staying at Hotel Malaspina for business can also use a conference room which can hold up to 20 people.The pretty breakfast room offers a plentiful buffet with sweet and savory foods, typical Florentine sweets, juices and hot beverages. Guests can obtain all the information they need at the reception for visiting the city and our concierge service makes reservations for tickets to the most important museums and sights, music and theater performances, recommends and makes reservations for restaurants, guided tours and tours to the surrounding areas and transfers to and from the airport (plane and train tickets can also be purchased). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Malaspina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malaspina Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing