We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant in ever respect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Firenze Anglo American

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
NH Firenze Anglo American
Ranked #104 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Trewern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant in ever respect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

Have just returned from spending a week in Florence in the Anglo American, from the moment we booked in until the moment we left we were treated as honoured guests by all the staff. The double room was immaculate with brilliant white clean bedding, the bathroom although showing some wear round the vanity unit was also very clean with masses of towels. The breakfast was self service with plenty of choice including fried bacon, sausage and scrambled egg, most unusual to get a cooked breakfast in Italy. As this was the first time we had been to Florence the reception went out of their way to provide maps of the city and highlight on them all the major sights plus printing off bus and timetables for us went we went to Sienna for a couple of days. We have been to Italy many times before and never had a bad experience but this was realy excellent ! One thing we noticed this time is that the cost of eating out is very very expensive with a simple evening meal costing anywhere between 50 - 80 euros, that is with sharing the salad starter and no dessert !! If you can try to get a half board deal, most of our spending momey went on eating out

Room Tip: Experian proved cheaper than self booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham-Ellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    482
    206
    62
    54
See reviews for
199
512
45
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

After reading some of the reviews i was a little apprehensive about the hotel. i ahd booked via priceline so didn't know what to expect. thankfully the hotel was good value. it was about 15 minutes to the main area and only a few seconds walk from the river, so a pleasant walk to where ever you wanted to go. rooms probably need a bit of a update but i didn't not feel they were unclean, small or inadequate. bed was comfortable, bathroom was a little small but clean and shower was hot. breakfast was included and was good, lots of variety. did not sample of the delights of the restaurant and the bar didn't seem that appealing, not that it wasn't nice, but it was quite small and quiet. i'd have rather gone out to have a drink at a local bar than stay for drinks there. overall, i was happy to pay £60 per night for a kingsize bed. wouldn't have paid much more.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GunnettUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

We picked this hotel because it is close to the train station, walking distance 10-15 minutes. We had booked a superior room but when we saw it we decided it was a bit small to stay there for 3 days and for 10 Euros a day you could upgeade to a larger room so we did. The room had been remodeled to a modern all white design without pictures on the wall, which is nice because hotel pictures are always ugly. Had a giant California king bed, sitting area, coat rack & flat screen TV. The bathroom was large enough and had a shower shield instead of a curtain. We picked this room after they showed us three. The window looked out to the front of the hotel, which is quiet and nice. The river is very close & you follow it about a half mile down to the busy area where the museums and Ponte Vecchio are. Pleasant walk even at night. In the daytime look over the wall in the river & you will see swans, beavers & other crazy birds.
The staff are very helpful. The breakfast was very nicely displayed and plenty to choose from. The only problem we had was our shower backed up quite a bit so be aware. We took quick showers but should have mentioned it to them but didn't. I'm sure they would have taken care of it.
This is a nice hotel & I reccommend it especially if you are moving about on the trains. We were going home and had to get to the Florence airport & they had a taxi show up in one minute for a set 20 Euros.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CocoaArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2011

4 Star for Italy YES.. Location is great, close to the river for a nice walk to the sites. Breakfast was better then most in Italy. Staff helped when it was needed. Free internet in Lobby which was unheard of in Italy. If you want internet in your room it will cost you but this is typical everywhere. Very quiet location, clean and spacious. Use the stairs as the elevator will only fit your luggage. There was some ongoing construction but heard nothing.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Schmootz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2011

First of all, I advise not to risk your trip through Priceline bidding to get this hotel if you are staying multiple days in Florance. Find a decent one to stay, charge will be the same after NH's "everything is excluded" policy! EURO 30 for breakfast, 24EURO for parking, 10 EURO for room internet, 10 EURO for room upgrade. My standard room was crappy; hot water was dripping. After a chilly shower, I paid 10 Euro for an upgrade. They gave me a crappy loft, but hot water worked well on shower. The concierge man speaks good English but not a genuine person, Don't be fooled by its lobby; seems NH spent all its money on its lobby and dinning room but guest rooms. Overall, I had an unpleasant stay out there

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sophyeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2010

The hotel is undergoing some renovation, thus some inconvenience to patrons is occurring. The customer service is horrendous here, customers are treated as an inconvenience when anything is wrong with their room and are made to wait and wait for any assistance. This is a shame as the hotel is really lovely in its furnishings and surrounds but could never recommend it for customer service. The reception staff should not have jobs!!!! It advertises a good wifi service but in the rooms it is hopeless and can only really use in the lobby of the hotel - not at all convenient at 1am!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessa078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2010

The NH Anglo American Hotel is a very good hotel in a convenient part of town. Excellent for all of Florence's main sights. Good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KulturReise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze
NH Firenze
#91 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Uffizi
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#76 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Kraft Hotel
Kraft Hotel
#88 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
San Lorenzo
Mercure Firenze Centro
Mercure Firenze Centro
#86 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Starhotels Michelangelo
Starhotels Michelangelo
#120 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Firenze Anglo American? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Firenze Anglo American

Property: NH Firenze Anglo American
Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 9 | Porta al Prato, Borgo Ognisanti Area, 50123, Florence, Italy (Formerly NH Anglo American)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#115 Family Hotel in Florence
#116 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Firenze Anglo American 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Firenze Anglo American is set in a quiet yet central location in Florence, between the Lungarno area and Borgo Ognissanti. The classically-styled hotel preserves all of its unique original features and reflects a fascinating age of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your NH Firenze Anglo American reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Anglo American Hotel Florence
Nh Hotels Florence
Nh Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing