We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NH Anglo American”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Firenze Anglo American
Ranked #114 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
new jersey, usa
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“NH Anglo American”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This is a very nice hotel with very spacious rooms, comfortable beds and modern clean bathrooms. The location is great - you can walk everywhere. there is a need for refurbishing - carpets, wall paper but it is a very comfortable stay. The main lobby reception area is updated and there is a great central courtyard. Staff is very accommodating. The only complaint - how can you get bad coffee in Italy - well they serve it from a machine - really this is not Port Authority New York.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy123_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    534
    223
    72
    56
See reviews for
232
559
50
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Not that close to city center, ceiling started leaking the first night, hotel staff wasn't as nice as you'd expect for a 4 star hotel and air conditioning didnt work. If you can find someplace else this hotel is best avoided

Helpful?
1 Thank aetherid
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel for 2 nights through Hotwire so I got the room at a good price. I think it's good for the money considering it's about a 30 second walk from the beautiful Arno river.

The hotel is also a manageable walk from the train station - just 15 minutes or so. Neither my mum nor I travel light and we managed just fine although for older patrons so a taxi might be a good idea. The daily 15 minute walk to the Ponte Vecchio was also enjoyable as it was along the river and if meant the hotel was in a quieter area away from the crowds.

Staff were helpful and friendly. The main lady at the check in desk seemed to work a lot and had a very good handle of English so check in and out was a breeze.

Breakfast was really nice. A good selection in an airy space which retained its traditional features - cornicing, mirrors, etc. - but was also furnished with modern tables and chairs. There were meats and cheese, cereals, fruit, yoghurts and pastries all to a high standard. Even my mum thought so and she's usually very picky.

Internet was a bit intermittent at times - apparently they had a problem our last night - but a million times better than the first time I stayed at an NH hotel when I had to keep connecting every 30 minutes.

Rooms were typical European decor - nothing groundbreaking but nice - and very clean although the wallpaper was peeling off in our room.

All in all, a good stay. I would recommend and stay here again when I go back

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jthomon808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Although this place is not easily accesible from florence train station, once in the hotel its all worth it. Right from the lobby to the room, the hotel reflects distinct character and great style in terms of its architecture.
The hotel can do better by updating its electronic features like TV and other items in the room. The breakfast served was extensive and delicious.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hitlersmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Salem, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2013

The hotel stay was booked through a tour company. Realizing the hotel is older, I was still disappointed. The wallpaper was peeling, the towel bar in the bathroom was falling off and the baseboards appeared to have not been cleaned. The breakfast was very good. The location was good. I would not recommend this hotel based on above reasons.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2013

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL! I booked my stay at the hotel 5 months in advance and upon arrival at the set check-in time I was turned away as the hotel had over booked and sent to another hotel away from all my family and friends - not great when you are a lone female!

I complained to the central customer service and they were more useless than the hotel!

Stay here at your own peril!

Room Tip: If you want to choose a good room, stay at another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This hotel has good location:
- slightly away from the centre but in a walking distance
- quiet since it's in a residential area
- very close to the train station
- near the river

The bed is fabulous.

The staff is excellent, very friendly and helpful.
The breakfast is great as well with a wide variety of foods.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sergiomontelobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze
NH Firenze
#93 of 412 in Florence
1,042 reviews
Duomo
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Santa Maria Novella
Starhotels Michelangelo
Starhotels Michelangelo
#128 of 412 in Florence
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#44 of 412 in Florence
1,144 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#119 of 412 in Florence
228 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Kraft Hotel
Kraft Hotel
#87 of 412 in Florence
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Firenze Anglo American? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Firenze Anglo American

Property: NH Firenze Anglo American
Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 9 | Porta al Prato, Borgo Ognisanti Area, 50123, Florence, Italy (Formerly NH Anglo American)
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#115 Family Hotel in Florence
#116 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Firenze Anglo American 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Firenze Anglo American is set in a quiet yet central location in Florence, between the Lungarno area and Borgo Ognissanti. The classically-styled hotel preserves all of its unique original features and reflects a fascinating age of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, NHHotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your NH Firenze Anglo American reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Anglo American Hotel Florence
Nh Hotels Florence
Nh Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing