We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Boutique Hotel in the centre of Florence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
1865 Residenza d'epoca
Ranked #1 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Cinzia & Michel warmly welcomed us to their beautiful hotel for our weekend in Florence. The welcome included a detailed explanation of all the interesting things to see in this wonderful city and they provided us with a map and books we could borrow about the historic sights. We were then shown to a sumptuous room overlooking a renaissance garden. The room was very modern with flat screen TV, open plan wardrobe, aircon, security safe, remote lighting and a beautiful, modern marble shower-room. We then set out to explore the city with all of their highly recommended restaurants that most tourists don't know about, marked out on the map.

The following morning we were greeted with a wide selection of local and home-made produce for breakfast; freshly made scrambled eggs, breads, fresh fruit, cheeses, hams, croissants, jams and pannacotta, washed down with excellent fresh coffee, teas and fruit juices. It was a great start to the day, and of course, Cinzia and Michel were again on hand to help recommend more sights to us on our second day in Florence and for the rest of our week in Tuscany.

Each night before bed, we enjoyed complimentary liquors and local sweet wine in their beautiful renaissance lounge. The bed was very comfortable and our room was quiet and perfect for our romantic weekend away. We will definitely be returning next year and have recommended the hotel to our friends. A real bijou in the centre of Florence. Thank you again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aurore B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 664 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

The decoration is the italian style of the 19th century as the name of the residence, however, all the advanced mordern facilities are so harmonically incorporated into it. The restored original "fresco" ceiling of each room is a must.

From the moment I entered the building, I start to love absolutely everything:
- Facilities and Comfort: all the details you thought about and you haven't thought about is considered in 1865. Remote light and sound control, soundproofing, robe, slippers, paraben free cosmetics, etc.
- Location: just beside the Sinagoga. There is a children's playground green park in front of the building, if you travel with young children, it's a plus. 15 min to the main monuments in the old town.
- Staff/ Owner: Cinzia and Michel are wonderful, they made our stay as comfortable as at home and they recommended us where to go, where to eat with very personalized options as we brought our two-year-old son. Michel is a good chef, please try his Panna Cotta!

Room Tip: All the rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guagua1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed as a couple in one of the larger rooms and were completely happy with the furnishings, and grand size of the walk-in closet, separate large bathroom and sink and bathtub areas. The original 19th century ceiling painting added to the cozy, country estate-like splendor that made us smile each morning. The location of this B&B, while not (thankfully) in the middle of the historic district, is an easy walk to all of the wonderful sights in Florence. The neighborhood is quite hip and has a varying range of quality restaurants no further than a 5-minute walk.

Our hosts, Michel and Cinzia, were completely welcoming, friendly, considerate and helpful with tips and reservations they offered to arrange. Throughout our eight day stay, we were greeted with smiling and sincere interest in our past and future touring plans. As a B&B, 1865 is perfect for people traveling solo or as a couple wanting a relaxed stay. We definitely recommend the B&B to anyone visiting Florence and especially to those traveling there their first time.

Tip: ask Cinzia to borrow her Secret Florence book to research some secret sights in the city.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SeriouslyEnRoute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the 1865 Rezidenza d'epoca and Michel and Cinzia succeed in creating a comfortable environment for their guests.

We spent 6 nights in the Dostoyevsky room and slept soundly every night, enjoying the very comfortable king size bed and ample, self-controlled a/c.

The living room, equipped with an Illy espresso machine, pastries, bottles of water, fruit and brandy/cognac, was a nice place to refresh in the afternoon and to unwind before bedtime. Other guests frequently gathered in this space and the communal breakfast is provided in the same room, so you may have to engage with your fellow guests at times. Just be warned... People have different levels of decorum. I don't think it is appropriate to wear pajamas to breakfast or to engage in loud conversations with people who are not hotel guests in common areas, but some people clearly have more casual styles.

The friendly style of this B & B has lovely benefits. We borrowed guidebooks from their library, the owners gave us excellent restaurant and gelato recommendations, made reservations, arranged for Uffizi tickets, and were always available to answer questions. They clearly aim to take care of their guests, and they succeed.

The hotel is located in a quiet, residential neighborhood, but Florence is such a walkable city that we never had to walk very far and enjoyed the quiet.

We only have one complaint. We made our reservation nine months in advance and requested one of the larger garden view rooms. The website clearly indicates that they will not guarantee a specific room but that they would try to accommodate requests. We acknowledge that we were warned that there were no promises. Nevertheless, given the overwhelmingly positive reviews, our advanced planning and the length of our stay, we hoped and expected that we would be given one of our requested rooms. We were not. As I wrote, our room was comfortable and we slept well, but it was not nearly as nice as the rooms we had requested .... Rooms, it turns out, that were given to people who stayed for fewer nights. (I did look in one of these rooms while it was in between guests and it was far superior to our room.) Consequently, the room itself was a bit of a letdown.

If you have your heart set on a particular room, know that you may not get it. If that is not important to you, the service is warm and friendly, the accommodations are comfortable, and the location is quiet without being inconvenient.


Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Stacey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife stay one night in this beautiful state of art b&b, michel who can speak was a wonderful host and recommend many magic place to visit including a traditionnel small italian restaurant where we have a delightful meal for a very affordable price, he help me with the car to find a garage, the room was outstanding very authentic and well design with a magic view on the garden, the breakfast was simple but with very good quality food and delicious illy coffee, the location is perfect with Everything Around beetwin 5 to 15 minutes walking distance, i highly recommend this B&B thank you michel for your smile and help we will visit again

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Johann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This place is a hidden gem with some of the best restaurants in the city only 2 min away. We stayed here for three nights on the last part of our Italy trip and it was by far the highlight of our trip. Michel and his wife Cinzia are gentle and kind and very informative. Michel was so gracious when we first arrived in the early morning. We were catching a train to Siena and asked if we could dropout bags off early as we would be arriving back in Florence late in the evening. Not only did Michel accommodate our request he offered us a cappuccino and croissant for breakfast. The rooms are so meticulous and stunning and we stayed in the room with the beautiful fresco painted ceilings. This place is sexy and stunning! Thank you again Michel and Cinzia for everything. We will look forward to coming back.

Room Tip: Henry James is the biggest and sexiest room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Legit2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My husband and I found the highly rated 1865 Residenza d'epoca inn Florence on Trip Advisor, and it was even better than the reviews!! Michel and Cinzia were wonderful hosts and the large rooms and modern bath were impeccable. The portable A/C unit in the room was nice to have when the weather got warmer. We particularly enjoyed the breakfast buffet featuring plenty of fresh fruit, meats, cheeses and delicious breads and eggs cooked to order. Michel was always happy to spend time with us helping to plan out our day. He gave us some wonderful recommendations for local restaurants and called to make the reservations for us! It was on a quiet side street away from the traffic noise, and we could walk to all the sights in Florence!
We highly recommend this B&B, and couldn't have asked for a better place to stay!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
B&B Monte Oliveto
#2 of 659 in Florence
401 reviews
Fiorenza B&B
#3 of 659 in Florence
821 reviews
Relais Villa Antea
#7 of 659 in Florence
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
San Giuliano Inn
San Giuliano Inn
#6 of 659 in Florence
344 reviews
Il Giglio d'Oro
#4 of 659 in Florence
728 reviews
Santa Croce
La Maison du Sage
La Maison du Sage
#5 of 659 in Florence
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1865 Residenza d'epoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1865 Residenza d'epoca

Address: Via Luigi Carlo Farini 12 | Florence, 50121, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: £114 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 1865 Residenza d'epoca 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive new guesthouse, 1865, with 5 luxurious bedrooms, has just opened in a historic building in a residential part of central Florence. Precious design elements combined with period features create an atmosphere of great charm and elegance.Each room is individually designed and furnished, and has a luxurious travertine bathroom, LCD television, air conditioning, free wi-fi. The mattresses, bed linen, bathrobes, and personal toiletries are of first quality, and all made locally in Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your 1865 Residenza d'epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing