We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet location,ok hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De Rose Palace Hotel
Ranked #226 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed here in may 2014 for 4 nights(room 302).overrated for 4 star hotel.some broken things (shower head,missing tail on ceiling.the bed was very uncomfortable. The staff are courteous and helpful and the breakfast up to standard.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank armen707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

From the moment we walked into this hotel the staff was nothing but rude! Upon arrival, I started to spell our last name for the check-in clerk, something I do by second nature because our last name is a bit unique. Before I could finish, he snapped at me that he knew who we were. He gave us no information about breakfast timings (which was terrible by the way), wifi, or other things that are always explained during check-in.

Then, the next day, when I asked that our shower drain be fixed (it was clogged which was obviously disgusting), the clerk at the desk told me it would have to wait till the next day. When I asked him to send someone that day so we could take proper showers, he proceeded to tell me that maybe in our country (the US), it could be fixed right away, but he was not Superman. Clearly they have no problems making jabs at Americans. When I told him he was rude and that is no way to speak to guests, he straightened up his attitude and sent the cleaning lady to fix the drain, which took no more than 2 minutes. The hotel itself was fine, but if you're looking for a place that treats you with respect, don't stay here!

Stayed: May 2014
3  Thank pgurnani1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The hotel is older but very clean. It could use some maintenance (no soap dish in the shower, tiles are a bit moldy, air condition didn't work). We had a triple room. It was large with a small bathroom. If you like the old world charm, this place is for you. We stayed there for 6 nights. Breakfast was good with several choices (meat, rolls, cheese etc) although the same every single day. Most staff speaks English. When we arrived the front desk person on duty gave us a nice map and explained where to go. The hotel is only 2 blocks away from the river and about 15 min walk from the main attractions. Nice, quiet and safe location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Baseball15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Set in a quiet street close to the river Arno this hotel has old world charm yet with reasonable facilities. The staff are courteous and helpful and the breakfast up to standard. Attractions like the Ponte vecchio and Duomo are within twenty minutes walking distance which may seem like a long stride for some but bear in mind you're walking through the streets or Florence, a trip in itself! Many good value restaurants within reach.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidLeedham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed here in April 2014 for 4 nights. Good location next to the river and 10 minute walk to the centre of the city. Two english speaking concierges (we think they were brothers) were helpful as was the older gentleman who seemed to be on duty each evening
Our room on the top floor (room 306) was decidedly tired - peeling paint, dated bathroom, small TV. There was refurbishment going on the floor below so perhaps next year the place will have improved

Room Tip: ask for a room that has been refurbushed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonparrott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This was the biggest hotel room we stayed at on our trip. It was clean and updated very nicely. The only negative was the bath tub was dirty and the cold water in the tub was not working. Breakfast was very good and the hotel is close to everything.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The hotel was wonderful, with charming décor and clean, comfortable rooms. The front desk staff was great and so helpful with reservations, directions, suggestions and general friendliness. They were fun and patient with four old women. The breakfast was good and we also enjoyed the use of the sitting area in the lobby to meet and plan. The valet parking service gave prompt service for pick-up and delivery. I would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have fireplaces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti
Hotel Palazzo Ognissanti
#196 of 409 in Florence
979 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Embassy
Hotel Embassy
#143 of 409 in Florence
859 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Club Hotel
Club Hotel
#129 of 409 in Florence
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Vasari Palace
Hotel Vasari Palace
#150 of 409 in Florence
509 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Nizza
Hotel Nizza
#161 of 409 in Florence
438 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Executive Florence
Hotel Executive Florence
#68 of 409 in Florence
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Rose Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Rose Palace Hotel

Address: Via Solferino 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#106 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £49 - £674 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Rose Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a traditional Florentine mansion, in a peaceful neighbourhood just a short walk from Ponte Vecchio and Florence central train station, De Rose Palace Hotel is the ideal place to discover all the attractions of downtown Florence while enjoying a peaceful, intimate accommodation.TYPICAL FLORENTINE DECOR -Graceful ambiences decorated with handcrafted furniture reflect the traditional atmosphere of old Florence.WHIRLPOOL BATHROOMS AND MODERN COMFORTS -18 classic rooms showcase baths or showers, modern comforts including air conditioning, satellite Sky TV LCD with soccer and movie channel free. All rooms with Wi-Fi Internet connection free and kettle with tea and coffee. A PEACEFUL, UPSCALE LOCATION -De Rose Palace Hotel is located near the banks of the Arno river, in the elegant residential area of Florence's Opera House, just a short walk away from Florence's major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Rose Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Rose Palace Florence
Hotel De Rose Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing