We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be careful, they double book the rooms!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Medici

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Medici
Ranked #378 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Ramat Gan, Israel
1 review
“Be careful, they double book the rooms!”
Reviewed 12 May 2011

We paid in advance for two rooms and had a valid voucher. When we got to the hotel, they told us all kinds of stories and sent us to a different hotel. The other hotel was awful.
very very bad experience.

Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Moris_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    131
    204
    134
    237
See reviews for
136
277
87
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

If returning to Florence I would definitely stay at the Medici again due to the location and price.
The room was clean and comfortable.
We were in room 605 which had an amazing view of the Duomo!!!
The breakfast was nothing to shout home about. It was 2 bread rolls each, a small packet of biscuits, 2 slices of toast, jam and butter. It was edible but slightly boring ... great for the price though.
The area that the hotel is in is the shopping district ... fantastic ice-cream and patisseries. Right nextdoor to Miu Miu.
If arriving in Florence by train you can either walk to distance in about 10-15 minutes ... or follow the signs to the tram stop, cross over the road, turn right, take your fist left and board the C2 bus. Stay on this for 3 stops (press the bell when you see the Miss60 shop on your left hand side). It drops you right outside Miu Miu.

Room Tip: room 604, 605 or 606 for amazing views of Duomo
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayleyandmarvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2010

Basic hotel in the very centre of the city. Nothing special. Our room was big but without TV set. On the other hand in the centre of Florence there are too much to do apart from watch TV.

The main "pro" of Medici is fabulous roof terrace with the incredible view to Duomo. Bring a bottle of Limoncello or wine and spend a good time!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andres16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2010

As i traveled with my wife and my two year old son,it was the worst place i have ever stayed in my life , the noise from street is like sitting beside a 747 windows dont lock so the room is like a freezer . Toilet smells of week old urine ,as a chef the breakfeast was stale bead roll and a tea bag yum yum. please dont stay hear!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chef17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

The + is the location of this hotel is great 5 minutes of anywhere you want to go ,the view you get from the roof terrace is amazing ,bring a bottle wine and enjoy the view . and that's why a would recommend to a friend but that's all.
the - no air conditioning bring ear plugs if you want to get any sleep with the window open. one word for breakfast bad .

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NDMTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmar, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2010

I stayed with my sisters and cousin on our first trip to Florence and were amazed by the ideal location of the hotel which sits in the shadow of the Duomo. The rooms were basic and clean which suited our needs just fine and we especially enjoyed relaxing on the rooftop terrace with a bottle of wine after a long day of site seeing. Just a hint - don't pull the strings in the bathroom. As first time European visitors, we mistakenly tugged on one of the mysterious cords setting off an alarm in our room!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjcass5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

We either remember the best or worst things about our traveling experience. For this hotel, it has become the lowest standard. We actually booked this hotel in 1999 for 5 nights (way before Tripadvisor was born) but wanted to check out as soon as we arrived after seeing the conditions of the hotel first hand. The rude staff threatened that we stay at least one night which we did. I couldn't wait until the next morning to find another hotel. To this day, whenever we check into an unknown hotel, we always kid each other by saying "we hope it's not another Medici." Not more be said?

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelbug96825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Costantini
Costantini
#331 of 421 in Florence
197 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Spagna
Hotel Spagna
#363 of 421 in Florence
391 reviews
Duomo
Albergo Firenze
Albergo Firenze
#187 of 421 in Florence
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#152 of 421 in Florence
449 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Villani
Hotel Villani
#204 of 421 in Florence
91 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Giappone
Hotel Giappone
#269 of 421 in Florence
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Medici

Property: Hotel Medici
Address: Via De' Medici 6, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #378 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Medici 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medici Hotel Florence
Hotel Medici Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing