We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Hotel Medici

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Medici
Ranked #376 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Amazing location for a trip to Florence - in the heart of the city. The view of the Duomo against a night sky is just breath - taking. Rooms were basic but always clean. Breakfast very simple - rolls, butter, jam, hot chocolate, coffee and juice. Was quite noisy outside at night but so tired from all the sightseeing didn't really notice it. MOST of the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Beware of mosquitoes in Florence - they found me!!! Go prepared!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tuppence001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (854)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 178 of 854 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2011

As every review says: the location is excellent. You need only one minute to reach Duomo. The view from the terrace (the 6th floor of the hotel) is also perfect.
Rooms are clean, but a little bit tidy. There wasn't TV in my room. There were only bed, cupboard, table, chair and minimum of space. The view from the room was the street, so if you are a light sleeper, the street can wake you up early in the morning, so does bell. But it was Ok for me.
I can't say that the staff was very helpful, 'cause I didn't need help, but they spoke good English, except one groomy old man.
Also I can't share my opinion about breakfast, 'cause I overslept it. It lasts 'till 10 a.m.
Generally, I liked Hotel Medici. The price is definitely the best for the hotel of that location. So, it was worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R0zaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

I stayed there for 2 nights and couldn't get away fast enough. The rooftop terrace was lovely and the location was top notch, but those were the only redeeming qualities about this hotel. I could not sleep... the streets were so loud and I think there was some kind of school group that stayed in the hotel at the same time. The room was threadbare. I would pay more for a more comfortable experience.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank smfuray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This hotel was very difficult to find-even with GPS. There is a small sign on the side of the building and I don't believe the actual door is marked. (It is right beside the little outdoor cafe). Once we found the hotel, the reception was friendly and spoke English well.

We got our key (rather large and old fashioned- can leave at reception when you go out) and headed up the elevator to the 6th floor. Our room ended up being in the attic (up a very small spiral staircase). The door to the room was also very narrow- it could cause problems if you have bulky luggage. The room we had was for 3 ppl- 1 double bed and another single bed on the other side. The room was clean but quite old. There was a window that looked out over the rooftops. The bathroom was clean, however the shower is just the shower head and a curtain that can be pulled to block off the toilet.
This room had an air conditioner (thank goodness!) however we were told this is the only room with a/c, I don't think we would have been able to stay here if we didn't have a/c as it was very HOT during our stay!

The terrace on the 6th floor (for all the guests) has a great view of the Duomo and across Florence. The rooms from this floor have doors that open right onto the terrace. There is not a lot of seating up there either.

There is a tv room with some old couches on the same floor as the breakfast room. This is also where your bags are stored if you aren't leaving til later in the day. Not secured.

The breakfast (included) was not great. The juice machine has 2 kinds of juice (very sweet orange drink and grapefruit). The breakfast is bread rolls (not overly fresh) with jam and a little package of cookies and a package of cracker/toast? It comes with coffee (pretty good) or hot chocolate I beleive. The staff is generally run off their feet here and are not that friendly, also there is no info about what to do there. Just sit down and hopefully someone will come over in time.

Our experience with this place was average, I wouldn't pay very much for this hotel and I would ask for the attic room if you need a/c. The location, however, is very good- you can walk to the train station and to almost all attractions in Florence.

Room Tip: Only the attic room has A/C!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travellingtammi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The room is definitely not your North American room, but hey you’re in Florence. Need I say more? There is a great roof top terrace where there are definitely some photo opportunities especially of the Duomo at night. The hotel is located near the train station (about a 5 minute walk with 2 suitcases so don’t waste your Euro on a cab) and is honestly centrally located from everything. The room has a bed, a small desk, wardrobe and tiny tiny bathroom. But the breakfast is included which is good and the room was clean. If you’re the type that likes to say in your room and watch TV when away then this isn’t the hotel for you. But if you want to get out and experience Florence then this hotel is just fine but they do sweep the streets at 4 in the morning. PS. The restaurant downstairs from the hotel is called Robiglio is EXCELLENT.

Room Tip: The hotel is fairly small but try to get a higher room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank newtravellerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

The rooftop terrace would make EM Forster wilt! The view across to the Duomo took the breath away of every person I watched coming out for a look! This is a two star hotel ideally placed in the centre of the city - minutes away from ANYTHING! I stayed here in 1991 and it is now a much more substantial business. The room was clean and changed everyday - the bed was really comfortable (but that might just be me!) - however no AC meant keeping the window open and all that means for noise in the centre of a busy Italian city - most of the night. There is no TV or wifi and the toilet and shower facilities are basic (2 star after all) and the breakfast included the worst coffee in Italy. There is little doubt that I would happily revisit Florence from here - It is so convenient... even for a nice GROM gelato!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Defurdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Safe, clean and threadbare hotel. Little worn around the edges. Rates are very reasonable for Florence. You are right in the middle of things. Hotel is not airconditioned. Using the fan and keeping the windows open takes the edge off but.... streets are loud with outdoor nightclubs, street sweepers and street performers until 1:00 am. Around 6:00 am the trash and recycling pick up starts followed shortly by the pastry delivery trucks. Probably much more comfortable when it is cooler and you can leave the windows closed. Be aware the breakfast included with the room is limited to coffee, tea, juice, rolls, butter and jams. We spent an addtional night in apartments they rent a few blocks away to have air conditioning. They cost more but were much more comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ben1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Costantini
Costantini
#350 of 411 in Florence
217 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#177 of 411 in Florence
499 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Olimpia
Hotel Olimpia
#290 of 411 in Florence
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Albergo Firenze
Albergo Firenze
#213 of 411 in Florence
708 reviews
B&B Hotel Firenze Novoli
#200 of 411 in Florence
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Medici

Address: Via De' Medici 6, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #376 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £33 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Medici 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medici Hotel Florence
Hotel Medici Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing