We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is not Always Everything”
Review of Hotel Medici

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Medici
Ranked #382 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“Location is not Always Everything”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

There is no doubt that Medici is in an excellent location. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. But the drawbacks significantly outweigh the location. The noise in the street below including tourists partying late into the evening, the garbage trolleys rolling over the cobblestone and the church bells chiming made it very difficult to sleep since the old windows when closed were not able to block out the noise. There is no air conditioning, although a fan was provided, and because of the noise we couldn't have the windows open. Since the room was small, it got very stuffy. The staff were somewhat helpful, but did not go out of their way to provide service. Breakfast is minimal: hard bread rolls and packaged biscuits. Wifi is available but only in the lounge area on the first floor. It would not work in the room on the fourth floor. There was no TV which didn't make a difference to us but might make a difference to some. The hotel is not clean. There are marks and dirt on the walls that have obviously been there for quite some time. The floors were dusty and not swept and on our first night the bathroom was not cleaned nor were our damp towels replaced. We would not choose the Medici again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    132
    206
    138
    244
See reviews for
139
287
89
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The title says it all. When I arrived, I was greeted with the sorry we're overbooked line. The lady at the desk already had a map waiting for where I needed to walk to. I had read the reviews about this happening to other people, and I put up a pretty decent argument...which led to the " no understand English" line.
The place I was sent to was a disaster, 15min walk away. It was also 1/2 the list price of hotel Medici. This is likely the scam. Overbook, then sub-out the excess to other hotels. When I argued about the price difference, I was told that b/c this new place had cable (12 channels on a 12" TV) and AC (the cord was cut off), that they would not be giving me a refund. I called my booking company and was moved back to Medici the very next day. Let me say this: unless they cleared the entire 3rd floor that one night I missed, this place was not overbooked!!

Just. Don't. Go.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kadob8182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Hotel Medici is in a very good location but at nights after 12 o'clock garbage trucks come to the street to take the garbages from the under- road garbage cans. There are nearly 8 under-road garbage cans in the street where the Hotel Medici is located and it nearly takes 1 hour to collect them all for the truck.
Room's wall paints were horrible. There were foot-prints on the wall.
Breakfast was very poor, only butter and jam with a 1 day old bread.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TugceCay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Nice hotel. Breakfast was minimal but as expected. The room, however was large. We got an apartment a little down the road. It had airconditioning and was large and clean.The location was excellent. We would recommend this hotel.


  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Freddy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2013

For the price I believe I could stay in a better place. The hotel staff is awful! People are in a tremendous bad mood every single day. The breakfast is even worse, better have it outside. Due to good location you may find many options easily.
Rooms are very old and warm, and don't have air conditioner. The bathroom is really small. At least they have hair dryer (oh yeah, makes all the difference!). The room I got was pretty close to the kitchen, at 6:30am they start working there and you can listen to people speaking loud. Looks like they are inside your room! And not sure about the other hotels nearby, but one thing that really bothered me were the bells from the church ringing early in the morning every day. I tend to believe if you want to be in the city center it will happen anyway.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glauci F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

There is probably no better position for a Hotel in Florence than the Medici. Very central with probably one of the best views of the Duomo especially from the top floor or terrace. However, I stayed in the one of the rooms at the top with superb views of the Duomo and Florence but you will find you will share this experience with many other guests and visitors who are quite happy to drink, smoke and talk loudly right outside your room on the top floor terrace as they wind down into the early hours.
Don't expect much sleep with this going on right outside your room as most nights this went onto 1am or 2am although it is supposed to close this area off at 11pm.
Breakfast is simple. Coffee, juice, 2 x bread rolls with jam and some biscuits. Not great but plenty of options outside for breakfast.
Overall the ever changing staff were polite. Rooms are basic but suitable. Some top floor rooms share a shower/toilet by the way. Depends on what you are used to. 5 star it is not but then neither is the price.
I stayed for 9 nights but 2/3 would have been better. Late night noise would put me off of the top floor but I would stay here again for price and location.

Room Tip: Top floor to be avoided if you want to sleep before 1am or 2am due to late night party freaks plus d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hermes0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The hotel is in a great spot in Florence, and the view of the Santa Maria del Fiore Church it's amazing. The rooms are simple, but nice, with no air conditioning but with a fan in the room, the bathroom is small and the shower with curtains. The breakfest was a problem, there are just a few tables available and two of the biggest tables were reserved for a group that never showed up while we were waiting so we had to wait in the line for a free table, as a lot of other people. The terrace is cute, nice, with flowers and the best view, makes it worth the stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jehssicad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Costantini
Costantini
#334 of 422 in Florence
202 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Spagna
Hotel Spagna
#362 of 422 in Florence
399 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#281 of 422 in Florence
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Elite
Hotel Elite
#260 of 422 in Florence
249 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Olimpia
Hotel Olimpia
#285 of 422 in Florence
287 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Abaco
Hotel Abaco
#239 of 422 in Florence
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Medici

Property: Hotel Medici
Address: Via De' Medici 6, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #382 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Medici 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medici Hotel Florence
Hotel Medici Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing