We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BAD RESERVATION MANAGEMENT”
Review of Hotel Medici

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Medici
Ranked #380 of 421 Hotels in Florence
ca
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“BAD RESERVATION MANAGEMENT”
Reviewed 5 June 2010

I booked in for 2 separate stays at this hotel after reading the favorable comments on Trip Advisor. The first booking got to the hotel and they told us the hotel was full and that they had booked us into another hotel. What a shock after a long flight, carrying baggage from train station thru busy Florence streets, only to hear we had to go back to the station to a hotel we had not been able to research etc. The hotel they booked us into was poor.
The 2nd visit their reservation system was again disappointing. for the 2 night stay, we were told that we had to change rooms the 2nd night. This was unacceptable to me and I told them quite clearly how poor that had been. In the end we managed to stay 2 nights in the same room.
The rooms are small,, the bath room very very small. The rooms are adequate, but don't expect anything. The elevator broke down so carrying your baggage up to 6th floor was not fun. The breakfast was very poor with only some bread rolls and jelly. My stay in less expensive hotels in Italy always provided a very good breakfast. The staff were unfriendly. I would not recommend this hotel as you just don't know if your reservation is going to be honored and that gives me a bad impression.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dedicatedtraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    131
    206
    135
    241
See reviews for
137
281
89
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

The staff were busy, always seemed preoccupied, but they were respectful. The rooms were sparsely furnished, the bathroom shower was only separated by a shower curtain from the rest of the bathroom and the water drained into a drain in the middle of the bathroom. There was a night club below our 3rd floor room on the street. They had a free continental breakfast. They were within a couple blocks of the Duemo, kind of on a side street not real easy to find. The best part of the stay though was the AWESOME view from the 6th floor terrace, made it worth the stay!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kjfrozen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2010

I thought this hotel was fantastic, fantastic value for money right in the heart of Florence. We were actually put into an apartment a couple of minutes away from the hotel which was clean and tidy and surprsingly spacious!! It was quite noisy at night but that is just Florence and nothing to do with the hotel at all. The rood top terrace of the main hotel is very impressive.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gil293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2010

We stayed at Hotel Medici for 3 nights in May and were pleased. If you are looking for a great location (1 minute from Duomo and an amazing rooftop terrace view) and a clean, safe place to stay than this is for you. It should be noted that it can be a bit loud in the early AM as it is in the center of the city but when we closed the windows it was not too bad. And for the location we were willing to deal with the noise. Also it has no air conditioning which was not an issue for us as we went in the Spring but would be important factor for summer travel. Breakfast was included and consisted of rolls and jam along with juice and coffee. It also has an elevator which was nice. Overall we were pleased and would recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank srich1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2010

We stayed here for a couple of nights with my son and Italian daughter - in - law. On the positive side - the location is fantastic - two minutes from the Duomo, five from the Uffizi and the Ponte Vecchio and ten from the Pitti Palace. From the sixth floor you get a great view of the Duomo amd a very annoyed man standing in his room doorway in his underpants.
It's basic to put it mildly. Great for backpackers but if you want any hint of luxury, give it a wide berth. Guests seems to range from school parties to well seasoned travellers to dazed visitors wishing they spent a few more euros on a bit more comfort.
Rooms are Ok though ours was small but hey, you're only going to sleep in them so it really doesn't matter. Sleep? You may get an hour or so between the sounds of Firenze by night dying down and the street sweepers/delivery trucks getting into full swing. If you're lucky enough to have an en suite shower and loo (as we did) it's a good idea to reverse in since it's unlikely you'll be able to turn around to come out forwards. Watch out for the towels - they're like tablecloths and are very, very thin and - so work out what part of your body you want to dry first before you need to wring them out.
Breakfast was a bit of a riot when we were there, quite a queue at peak times - and all for two small rolls and a biscuit each. Dining room is big and impersonal and right next to the 'lounge' - home to a couple of sofas, TV (one channel), sideboard and many cases and rucksacks awaiting collection.
There's a weird smell about the place - not pleasant and difficult to describe, so if you happen to be in Florence, stick your head round the door and have a whiff.
Staff seemed friendly enough, but there again, they didn't have to stay there.
No doubt that this hotel is fine if you're backpacking around the continent and you don't mind the basic facilities - but for most others the minuses outweigh the pluses.
Would I recommend it?
Only if I didn't like you

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MooseandEddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Australia
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2010

Hotel was very central but my stay was marred by having to share a toilet with school boys (although I had booked a room with private facilities). I asked to move rooms but was told there were none available. I asked three times for a change of rooms and for something to be done about the school children who were up partying loudly until 3am in the mornings. After my return home the travel agent followed up my complaint and I was told that I hadn't spoken to anyone and that they would have fixed it for me then and there!
Unfortunately the positive aspects of this hotel are overwhelmed by the negative experiences of not being heard, being given an incorrect booking and having a week of broken sleep. The central position of the Hotel and the views from the roof terrace were great and the breakfast adequate although fighting to get a table was unpleasant.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussietravelle055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2010

Like another reviewer, we were lucky enough to get Room 606 - the only room on the top floor which doesn't have to share a toilet/shower with all the other guests. We would have hated staying in any other room. The view out on the shared top floor balcony is great - you can get there from the hallway if you're staying on another floor - and the position right next to the dome is brilliant.

Our room was small but clean and quiet, we got two single beds despite requesting a double, though they could be pushed together. The staff were helpful and gave a smile whenever you spoke to them. If you can get a room with its own shower and loo, this is a good budget stay. Otherwise, look elsewhere. Fair enough it's a two-star hotel, but I wouldn't pay this much money for hostel-level shared amenities.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superjamielol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Costantini
Costantini
#334 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Spagna
Hotel Spagna
#362 of 421 in Florence
3.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#152 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Albergo Firenze
Albergo Firenze
#195 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Villani
Hotel Villani
#204 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Giappone
Hotel Giappone
#269 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Medici

Property: Hotel Medici
Address: Via De' Medici 6, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #380 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Medici 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medici Hotel Florence
Hotel Medici Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing