We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it once again!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Orto De Medici

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Orto De Medici
Ranked #49 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
brossard, qc. canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Loved it once again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

This was our second stay at this romantic hotel and we appreciate it just as much as the first time. The staff here is top notch...hospitable and effecient. They really make you feel that it is a pleasure to answer your questions, make a reservation for you, call a taxi or serve you a cappucino ( even when their delicious breakfast is self-serve!) The bedrooms are comfortable and immaculate. I highly recommend this well situated hotel and next time I'm in Florence, I'll stay there once again.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lpansieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Dear Madame, thanks for your new review. I am glad you found again what you expected, enjoying our hospitality and efficiency of the staff, the breakfast and the bedrooms. So we llok forward to seeing you again in Florence! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,915 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,163
    594
    110
    27
    21
See reviews for
402
957
92
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

The location of this hotel is fantastic, with only a 5 minute walk to the center of Florence and the Duomo. We were also able to walk to the train station about 15 minutes away.

The morning breakfast is quite nice. It is all cold selections, but includes fresh breads, yogurt, and meats, along with fresh coffee and tea selections. The rooms are very large, although a little plain. The bathroom was marble and was very nice. The hotel was very very clean and had a wonderful front foyer for lounging and hopping on the computers. They also have an upstairs library where you can sit and relax and read as well.

I stayed in the room that accomodates three facing the garden and it entered into the hotel lobby with a window out into the downstairs garden.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shoeft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
I am happy to read how you enjoyed the location of the hotel, the breakfast, the room and the bathrooms. You had a room with view on the garden, make sure to select the "view" option when you make your reservation!
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

The hotel is about 15-20 mins walk from the train station. The street in front of the hotel pretty much leads to the Duomo, so its location is quite good for the tourist attractions. The hotel room is VERY spacious and carries some rustic and authentic taste on furniture and floor bricks. The hotel staffs are courteous and helpful.

Our only gripe is the lukewarm water and quick awkward setup/position for shower. The shower is just barely lukewarm (at least for us during our stay, a couple of days) for unknown reasons. I am a person routinely taking cold shower even during winter at home, so I usually don't complain about water temperature. Extra careful maneuver is also required for taking shower due to the compromising position, pretty much like shower in a sit up bathtub arrangement, without shower curtain. Hope the prolonged and excessive shower splatter won't do damage to the hotel property.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackblackterrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Dear Guest. The "short" road to the train station is just 10 minutes walk, be carefull you take "Via Nazionale" and the "Via XXVII Aprile", because if you pass through the Duomo or through San Lorenzo it will take much more time to arrive. As regards the water, if you think it is not warm enough, pelase inform the lobby. We just had maintenance at the boiler and we usually solve eventual issues within the same day. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Beautiful, classic hotel in a great location, safe neighborhood within walking distance of all the major sights and Santa Maria Novella Train Station. Staff is very warm and gracious. Hotel is immaculate. Rooms are spacious. Our daughter had just completed a semester abroad in Florence and some of the other students came to the hotel and hung out in the lobby while they were waiting for their flights. The staff was very accommodating. They made the students feel welcome. Breakfast was wonderful. Very nice personal touches such as guest-accessible computers in the lobby and luggage storage. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend this gem of a hotel to other visitors to Florence.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YMacun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Thank you for the nice review! We do our best to be always accommodating and welcoming, so reading your feedback made us very proud and happy. Gald to read how you enjoyed some features of the horel, such as the breakfast, in the lobby and luggage storage. We hope to see you soon back to Florence then! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

It was our first time in Florence, and this was a convenient location, a nice place. The staff was friendly, the rooms clean and roomy, and breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: We liked the garden view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DWLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Dear Guest, I am glad to read how you enjoyed your stay in a garden view room. We do our best to be friendly and to offer you spotless rooms. Thanks for the appreciation for the breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chudleigh, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Spent four nights in this lovely hotel - staff were friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is thinking of travelling to Florence

Room Tip: Ask for Room 40 on top floor for balcony and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Dear Guest, the room #40 is our Superior Room with private balcony and top floor view. Please recommend it to your friends is thinking of travelling to Florence! Thank you.
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Hotel Orto De Medici is ideally located and was part of what made our Christmas stay this December so special. The hotel is elegant, but not pretentious and offers genuine hospitality in lovely surroundings. My mother and I had our own rooms which were standard with on suite shower rooms but were spacious and perfect for our needs.
The location is excellent and walking to all of the major areas is extremely easy from this location, we also walked from the coach/train station to the hotel on arrival with our bags, which is completely feasible.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Depends how much you want to spend, we had the entry level rooms on the 1st floor and mine was next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Dear Guest, I appreciate your feedback, thanks for sharing your impressions with other travellers. Room 14/15 are classic rooms with view: they are very nice and available at very convenient prices!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#28 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#47 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#43 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#38 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orto De Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orto De Medici

Property: Hotel Orto De Medici
Address: Via San Gallo, 30, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Florence
#36 Family Hotel in Florence
#46 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orto De Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence Hotel Orto de' Medici’s location is ideal because while located in the “historic center” of Florence it is just outside the noisy hustle and bustle…which is only a short walk away. When walking through our hotel in Florence, you really do feel like you are in a classic and upscale historic building. The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly, and from the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome. Each room is uniquely and elegantly appointed, a restful oasis for the busy traveler. The bathroom is very spacious and the shower is wonderful after a long day of sightseeing. Breakfast, with plenty to select from, is served in a cozy room that spills out into a welcoming patio and a beautiful little garden. The hotel lobby and reading rooms are a nice place to relax after a full day of sightseeing (plus free internet - either wifi or with brand new Apple computers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Orto De Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orto De Medici Hotel
Orto De Medici Florence
Hotel Orto De Medici Florence Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing