We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great find.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Orto De Medici
Ranked #51 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
1 review
“What a great find.”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I booked two rooms at the hotel, one triple for my sister, husband and I and one for my aunt and uncle. The rooms were large, clean, nicely furnished and had very good linens. The bathrooms were especially roomy and clean. It was a delight to stay there. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. The area was really nice and quiet, with a bus into town right outside the door. But the real surprise considering the small price of the rooms were the breakfast and the wine hour in the evening. The breakfast room was charming and the many choices of danish, cheese, cereal, coffee youghurt etc were wonderful in my experience of Italian breakfast choices. In the evening they set out olives, red and white wine, small snacks and nuts. I will definitely advise all of my friends travelling to Florence to stay here and I will stay there again if I return. Forgot to mention free Internet (which was a godsend to us).

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luigi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear Guest,
What a nice review! I think you have just given an excellent vision of the hotel for your friends and our future guests. We hope you visit Florence again soon. Thank you.
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,239
    623
    114
    27
    21
See reviews for
427
1,010
97
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I found my room small and uncomfortable. I woke up to no hot water and a disappointing breakfast. I don't suggest you stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard-tor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear Guest,
We are all sorry you did not enjoy your stay. I personally apologize for the inconvenience. Unfortunately in a hotel like in a home we do experience technical problems that we try to fix as soon as possible. As for the rooms we do have an area in the hotel with very beautiful modern rooms, the deluxe rooms, that were renovated in 2009. If you are ever in Florence again maybe you will give us a second chance and try a different room. Best Regards.
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Spacious, clean, quiet, comfortable rooms. Relaxing outdoor areas. Central location and helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grumpiestcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear Guest,
We appreciate you leaving a review. I believe you highlighted some great main points of the Hotel! Thank you.
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

A three star hotel that is very conveniently-located on a quite street (Via San Gallo), close to the Duoma, Accademia and the Palazzo de Medici Riccardi. Many good restaurants are also nearby. Our 1st room was in their new wing which is far superior to the 2nd room we had to switch to when we extended our stay. The hotel is clean, a little formal and a pleasant place to stay. Most staff speak English and are helpful. Breakfasts are ample and tasty. The breakfast staff didn’t speak English but once they knew you’re eating preferences, they were very helpful and pleasant – a nice way to start a day! Their Internet support is a little behind as you can’t print anything from the 2 computers made available to guests. It can be (and was a) pain to us when we wanted to print our Florence Passes which we purchased online. We were up to 1 AM with the night desk manager trying to get the passes printed on his printer. While most of the front desk staff were helpful, it was like pulling teeth trying to get cooperation with several of them. They need to add some warmth to the front desk staff and be better prepared for guests who would like to print out their itineraries and local passes.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MP336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Madame, I really thank you for your review. It is full of suggestions for improvement, so it is especially precious for us. We offer free use of Mac Computers and free Wi-Fi in all the hotel, but we cannot offer printing system so far. If you can send the pages to print to us with email attachment then we will print them for free (max 10 pages per room), otherwise we can indicate you an internet café nearby, where you can print, up to 10.00 pm, with a few coins.
Thank you very much
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We chose this hotel based on the great reviews but were disappointed to find our room not as expected.  Clearly the previous reviewers had not stayed in rom 3 on level 1 At check in the receptionist immediately advised us that as we were early he had several additional room choices for us. However he then went on to say these alternative rooms would cost an additional 25 euro per night. We politely declined and decided to stick with our "classic double" reservation. We were then given the key to what the receptionist described as a "nice quiet room" on the first floor.  As it turned out the room we were given is what is described on their website as a "double room for single use".  There was only one set of towels and a bit short on space for two people. The window view is of an enclosed alley, nothing pretty about it and produces very little natural light in the room . I was so so disappointed. It is my husband's first visit to Florence and we are celebrating his half century birthday. I was so looking forward to enjoying a great fiorentine hotel with him in this renaiseance city.  I spent much time reading reviews on hotels before choosing Orto de Medeci and i felt very let down. We did query the room we were given with reception as I believe we booked and paid for the higher category room but they did not agree.  They showed us a better room two levels above but they said we would have to pay extra for it.  Unfortunately this experience has made us feel quite cheated by  Orto de Medici hotel  and that's the last thing you want to feel on holiday. Leaving the room aside, the hotel has a lovely common area for breakfast and the bar area is also very pleasant. We are here Zfor three nights and tonight is our second. As I write this I am listening to music that is playing in the common areas right outside our room. So be warned that these rooms are not sound proofed as described and we were awoken bright and early this morning by the sound of people having breakfast with clanking forks and spoons etc. Not the greatest way to start our day. So based on our experience I would not recommend this hotel as it has not delivered on expectations with respect to the room at all and unfortunately that overshadows the entire experience. Sad really that our memories of Florence will forever be tainted in this way. 

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinabert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Madame, I am sorry for your disappointing. When you book a room you should be careful to select the best option for your need. We have 5 different typologies, as regards the double: Classic, Classic with view, Superior, Deluxe and Junior Suite. We do not have a "double room for single use" typology: it is just a discount we offer to clients who want to use a double room even if they are single, just one person. I am also sorry for the mistake with towels, I could give you as many extra as you needed, just if you had ask. If rooms are available we offer the possibility to upgrade at last minute, with a small extra fee which is much smaller than the regular fare. Many reviews say that people usually appreciates this possibility.

We just gave you the category you booked, the pictures are quite clear on the website. I apologize if there was some confusion at the reservation form, and I will forward your complain to the internet booking system provider, to make it even more clear and simple.
I am pleased your nevertheless enjoyed some features like the common areas for breakfast and the terrace bar.
Thank you
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

This hotel is really lovely, old world charm with great facilities. Our bedroom was large and roomy. The bathroom was a little small, good idea would be to replace bath with a shower. Reception staff, piano bar staff, breakfast room staff & housekeeping staff are all so warm, friendly & helpful. The hotel is very clean, wel maintained & has a great history. The location is perfect for sightseeing, we walked everywhere, the Duomo, Michaelangelo's David, other sights are very close to the hotel. The hotel is in a limited traffic zone, ring hotel ahead of arrival. Breakfast was included and was a nice spread.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenni03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Madame, your review is full of nice tips for the next guests, so I hope it will be read many times. Thanks for your suggestions!
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We had booked a classic room but were surprised to see that they had given us a quad room. It was more space than we needed but we were happy nonetheless. The decor and furnishings added to the Florentine ambiance. The rooms were clean and comfortable as well as the bathroom. The location is very close to many of the sights. The Accademia Gallery is only a five minutes walk from the hotel. There are restaurants, shops, and food markets nearby. Having free WiFi was very convenient and the signal was strong considering our room was at the far end of the hall. The only minor thing I would change is to remove the half-bath tub/shower and just install a regular full standing shower. The height of the tub made it difficult to step in and out. Overall, it's a great place to stay and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Guest, thanks for your review! You are welcome to be upgraded to larger rooms if they are available. Thanks for remarking some positive features, like the location, the free WiFi, and the decoration. Thanks also for the sugegstion about the bathroom.
Grazie!
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 422 in Florence
1,891 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#29 of 422 in Florence
2,268 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#42 of 422 in Florence
1,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orcagna Hotel
#35 of 422 in Florence
773 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 422 in Florence
1,719 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#59 of 422 in Florence
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orto De Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orto De Medici

Property: Hotel Orto De Medici
Address: Via San Gallo, 30, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Florence
#36 Family Hotel in Florence
#46 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orto De Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence Hotel Orto de' Medici’s location is ideal because while located in the “historic center” of Florence it is just outside the noisy hustle and bustle…which is only a short walk away. When walking through our hotel in Florence, you really do feel like you are in a classic and upscale historic building. The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly, and from the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome. Each room is uniquely and elegantly appointed, a restful oasis for the busy traveler. The bathroom is very spacious and the shower is wonderful after a long day of sightseeing. Breakfast, with plenty to select from, is served in a cozy room that spills out into a welcoming patio and a beautiful little garden. The hotel lobby and reading rooms are a nice place to relax after a full day of sightseeing (plus free internet - either wifi or with brand new Apple computers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Orto De Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orto De Medici Hotel
Orto De Medici Florence
Hotel Orto De Medici Florence Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing