We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly Mixed Feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Orto De Medici
Ranked #38 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2012

On balance we liked this little hotel. It had a charming courtyard and a wonderful little patio area for having an end-of-day drink in a pleasant, relaxed environment. There are two Apple computers in the lobby that can be used for free to access the Internet. The location is convenient to a number of good restaurants and was but a short walk away from some major attractions. Hotel employees were friendly and polite. And, of course, Florence itself is wonderful
The drawbacks, slight though they may be, were in the areas of staff sophistication and room atmosphere. The staff, with but one exception, was very young and it showed. When you asked a question, they seemed somewhat timid, perhaps because they weren't really sure of the answer. The young woman who checked us in was clearly shy and rarely smiled, perhaps again because of uncertainty and inexperience. She was, however, efficient and professional. Generally speaking, the young staff was nice enough and tried to be helpful. The more important drawback was in the way our room was designed and decorated. It was spacious and well furnished but the design was modern and minimalist, giving it a rather cold feel that was oddly out of character with the rest of the hotel and with Florence itself. The floor was natural hardwood and there was almost no color anywhere except for black and white. It was if the designer had designed the room for other designers rather than for weary travelers look for warmth and comfort. The good news is our bed was king-size and comfortable and our bathroom was modern and clean. And the room was air conditioned. There were no "glasses" as such in the room, only "plastics." Then again, this is not five-star hotel so I suppose such skimping is to be expected.
The hotel's public areas are direct opposites of its rooms, meaning they are warm, charming and inviting. In addition to the patio bar area, there is a very nice breakfast area that serves a nice and varied continental buffet spread each morning, complete with good coffee and an assortment of juices. I can't help but wonder if the rooms and the rest of the hotel were designed and decorated by different people with different views.
Be advised that our room may not have been typical for the hotel. It was on the ground floor and had obviously been renovated in the recent past. I was told that other rooms, on other levels, are more traditional and old school.
Don't take this review as a recommendation that you not stay at the Orto De Medici. It really is a nice little hotel with its own brand of Italian charm and the staff is very friendly despite being a bit shy, reserved and tentative at times. It is in many ways a very Italian place, the modern room decorations notwithstanding. Best of all, there is nothing "snooty" about the place.
The hotel was easy to use. Although there was no taxi stand out front, at checkout time a desk clerk quickly called a cab to take us to the train station. The cabbie arrived promptly. The desk was also quick to extend our checkout time upon request. The normal time is 11 a.m., which is a bit early.
Incidentally, the train station is about a 20-minute walk from the hotel for those inclined toward foot power. But be advised that the narrow, busy streets and sidewalks in Florence make carrying or pulling luggage more than a little inconvenient. The cab fare was only 11 euros which to us seemed like a good deal.
We very much enjoyed the Hotel Orto De Medici and would recommend it to anyone looking for a comfortable, charming, smaller hotel in a convenient location. Just as long as you don't crave a lot of rich colors in your room.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RonANorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the review. I'm happy you enjoyed most aspects of the hotel and would recommend staying with us. We appreciate the minor negative comments they will help us grow professionally. Yes we do have different room styles. In the garden, we have the deluxe rooms that were renovated in 2009. If you enjoy a more classic Florentine style you can book either a Classic room or a Superior room. All the Superior rooms have a balcony that lets you view the rooftops of Florence. In Piazza San Marco, which is a 2 minute walk from the hotel, you can usually find many taxis parked. However, the front desk staff will always help and call taxis for clients. Check-out time is at 11:00 am. Sometimes we have the possibility of extending the time, but if unfortunately we can not extend check-out time we have a room where you can leave your luggage and come back whenever you please to get it.
Nicki Sciortino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,066 - 1,072 of 2,217 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2012

It is a very good hotel, good service, the breakfast was ok, i can recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amirtpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Nicki Sciortino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I booked two rooms at the hotel, one triple for my sister, husband and I and one for my aunt and uncle. The rooms were large, clean, nicely furnished and had very good linens. The bathrooms were especially roomy and clean. It was a delight to stay there. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. The area was really nice and quiet, with a bus into town right outside the door. But the real surprise considering the small price of the rooms were the breakfast and the wine hour in the evening. The breakfast room was charming and the many choices of danish, cheese, cereal, coffee youghurt etc were wonderful in my experience of Italian breakfast choices. In the evening they set out olives, red and white wine, small snacks and nuts. I will definitely advise all of my friends travelling to Florence to stay here and I will stay there again if I return. Forgot to mention free Internet (which was a godsend to us).

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luigi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Dear Guest,
What a nice review! I think you have just given an excellent vision of the hotel for your friends and our future guests. We hope you visit Florence again soon. Thank you.
Nicki Sciortino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I found my room small and uncomfortable. I woke up to no hot water and a disappointing breakfast. I don't suggest you stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard-tor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Dear Guest,
We are all sorry you did not enjoy your stay. I personally apologize for the inconvenience. Unfortunately in a hotel like in a home we do experience technical problems that we try to fix as soon as possible. As for the rooms we do have an area in the hotel with very beautiful modern rooms, the deluxe rooms, that were renovated in 2009. If you are ever in Florence again maybe you will give us a second chance and try a different room. Best Regards.
Nicki Sciortino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Spacious, clean, quiet, comfortable rooms. Relaxing outdoor areas. Central location and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grumpiestcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Dear Guest,
We appreciate you leaving a review. I believe you highlighted some great main points of the Hotel! Thank you.
Nicki Sciortino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

A three star hotel that is very conveniently-located on a quite street (Via San Gallo), close to the Duoma, Accademia and the Palazzo de Medici Riccardi. Many good restaurants are also nearby. Our 1st room was in their new wing which is far superior to the 2nd room we had to switch to when we extended our stay. The hotel is clean, a little formal and a pleasant place to stay. Most staff speak English and are helpful. Breakfasts are ample and tasty. The breakfast staff didn’t speak English but once they knew you’re eating preferences, they were very helpful and pleasant – a nice way to start a day! Their Internet support is a little behind as you can’t print anything from the 2 computers made available to guests. It can be (and was a) pain to us when we wanted to print our Florence Passes which we purchased online. We were up to 1 AM with the night desk manager trying to get the passes printed on his printer. While most of the front desk staff were helpful, it was like pulling teeth trying to get cooperation with several of them. They need to add some warmth to the front desk staff and be better prepared for guests who would like to print out their itineraries and local passes.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MP336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Dear Madame, I really thank you for your review. It is full of suggestions for improvement, so it is especially precious for us. We offer free use of Mac Computers and free Wi-Fi in all the hotel, but we cannot offer printing system so far. If you can send the pages to print to us with email attachment then we will print them for free (max 10 pages per room), otherwise we can indicate you an internet café nearby, where you can print, up to 10.00 pm, with a few coins.
Thank you very much
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We chose this hotel based on the great reviews but were disappointed to find our room not as expected.  Clearly the previous reviewers had not stayed in rom 3 on level 1 At check in the receptionist immediately advised us that as we were early he had several additional room choices for us. However he then went on to say these alternative rooms would cost an additional 25 euro per night. We politely declined and decided to stick with our "classic double" reservation. We were then given the key to what the receptionist described as a "nice quiet room" on the first floor.  As it turned out the room we were given is what is described on their website as a "double room for single use".  There was only one set of towels and a bit short on space for two people. The window view is of an enclosed alley, nothing pretty about it and produces very little natural light in the room . I was so so disappointed. It is my husband's first visit to Florence and we are celebrating his half century birthday. I was so looking forward to enjoying a great fiorentine hotel with him in this renaiseance city.  I spent much time reading reviews on hotels before choosing Orto de Medeci and i felt very let down. We did query the room we were given with reception as I believe we booked and paid for the higher category room but they did not agree.  They showed us a better room two levels above but they said we would have to pay extra for it.  Unfortunately this experience has made us feel quite cheated by  Orto de Medici hotel  and that's the last thing you want to feel on holiday. Leaving the room aside, the hotel has a lovely common area for breakfast and the bar area is also very pleasant. We are here Zfor three nights and tonight is our second. As I write this I am listening to music that is playing in the common areas right outside our room. So be warned that these rooms are not sound proofed as described and we were awoken bright and early this morning by the sound of people having breakfast with clanking forks and spoons etc. Not the greatest way to start our day. So based on our experience I would not recommend this hotel as it has not delivered on expectations with respect to the room at all and unfortunately that overshadows the entire experience. Sad really that our memories of Florence will forever be tainted in this way. 

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tinabert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Dear Madame, I am sorry for your disappointing. When you book a room you should be careful to select the best option for your need. We have 5 different typologies, as regards the double: Classic, Classic with view, Superior, Deluxe and Junior Suite. We do not have a "double room for single use" typology: it is just a discount we offer to clients who want to use a double room even if they are single, just one person. I am also sorry for the mistake with towels, I could give you as many extra as you needed, just if you had ask. If rooms are available we offer the possibility to upgrade at last minute, with a small extra fee which is much smaller than the regular fare. Many reviews say that people usually appreciates this possibility.

We just gave you the category you booked, the pictures are quite clear on the website. I apologize if there was some confusion at the reservation form, and I will forward your complain to the internet booking system provider, to make it even more clear and simple.
I am pleased your nevertheless enjoyed some features like the common areas for breakfast and the terrace bar.
Thank you
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#27 of 410 in Florence
2,388 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 410 in Florence
1,843 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#43 of 410 in Florence
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#51 of 410 in Florence
2,821 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#24 of 410 in Florence
2,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orto De Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orto De Medici

Address: Via San Gallo, 30, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Florence
#36 Family Hotel in Florence
#46 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £67 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orto De Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence Hotel Orto de' Medici’s location is ideal because while located in the “historic center” of Florence it is just outside the noisy hustle and bustle…which is only a short walk away. When walking through our hotel in Florence, you really do feel like you are in a classic and upscale historic building. The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly, and from the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome. Each room is uniquely and elegantly appointed, a restful oasis for the busy traveler. The bathroom is very spacious and the shower is wonderful after a long day of sightseeing. Breakfast, with plenty to select from, is served in a cozy room that spills out into a welcoming patio and a beautiful little garden. The hotel lobby and reading rooms are a nice place to relax after a full day of sightseeing (plus free internet - either wifi or with brand new Apple computers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Orto De Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orto De Medici Hotel
Orto De Medici Florence
Hotel Orto De Medici Florence Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing