We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very comfortable stay!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Orto De Medici

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Orto De Medici
Ranked #49 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Spring Lake, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A very comfortable stay!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Orto De Medici. The staff was knowledgeable, Spoke English very well and was so helpful with their recommendations, especially directing us to great dinner locations. It was always very clean and I will stay there next time I plan to return to Florence>

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kndfo1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Thank you for writng a review! We are happy to read you had a wonderful stay with us. Come back to Florence soon.
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,161
    593
    110
    27
    21
See reviews for
402
955
92
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

I found this hotel via tripadvisor and from the time I book my reservations to the last minute I spent at Orto, all the staff were extremely helpful. My room was quite beyond my expectations. Very large and with a view to the main street. To start my day, breakfast is very good indeed with plenty of food. The staff (from reception to the breakfast area) is always doing their best to make you feel welcome and ready to give you details on what to do and see. One of the things that really called my attention were the stairs. I was on the 3rd floor (room 32), but I always made a point to climb down the stairs just to admire the amazing stairways. On the walls there are some paintings. It is like staying in a museum. The hotel is only a few blocks from the historical centre. If you want to go straight to Uffizzi, as you leave the hotel turn left on Via degli Arrazieri, then right on Via Cavour.. a few blocks down, you are at the Duomo. The room is furnished with period furniture which is quite expected for the type of hotel. There is a large screen TV (cable) - only 3 channels in English, but you would spend most of your time outside anyway. The wi-fi signal was fine. The area outside is very quiet and there´s a nice place around the corner to have a snack. If you dont have a lot of luggage, you can actually walk from S.M.Novella train station by taking Via Nazionale up to Piazza Independencia, then turn right on Via XXVII Aprile, walk three blocks and turn left on Via Gallo.. and there you are - the hotel is on your right. To go back to the train station, just to the same the other way around. On my way back, I bought a bus ticket and took bus Line 1 E(although all the buses stop at the train station).

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Dear Guest,
I thank you for your precious review. We are happy to read how you enjoyed your holiday in Florence, saving good memories for home and for you next travel.
Grazie!
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

Florence is a nice compact city, and this hotel is located just outside of the centre in a relatively quiet street.
Our room was on the front with an enormous bed and a well equipped bathroom plus a chandelier!
Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice, toast, boiled eggs, hams, cheeses, croissants and coffee, all served in a frescoed dining area, with the chance to breakfast outside in warmer weather.
Reception were helpful, maps and umbrellas ready and waiting.
Warning for all, you cannot be quiet on the parquet floor on the first floor.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Front Office Manager at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear guest,
Thanks for your message. I appreciate how you enjoyed the room, the breakfast, the reception staff and the staff. I have to correct you since the hotel is inside the city centre, in a relatively quiet street.
Hope to see you back soon!
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

Wasn't too sure what to expect with this hotel but was very very pleased with my decision to stay here. They are very professional and ready to help you. The hotel is in a great location so it is close to everything. The wifi is available no matter what level you are on and the signal is pretty decent and doesn't cut out. They have imacs available if you don't have a device yourself. Would stay again here as they really impressed me.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Thank you very much for your review! It's great to hear you where impressed by us. Please come back to visit us and Florence!
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Orto De Medici between Christmas and New Year's Eve 2012. The location of the Hotel is perfect, just outside of the very bustling area of the Duomo, close to the wonderful Convento and museo di San Marco and the Accademia. The area is very quiet. The staff of the hotel is friendly and very professional. Our room was perfect with a very large and comfortable bed,a nice little balcony with a view on San Marco and a super clean bathroom. Since it was winter we couldn't take advantage of the patio, which must be perfect when the temperature allows to have breakfast outside. Last but not least the good value of the hotel in a city like Florence that can be quite expensive.

Room Tip: Room 45 is a great place to enjoy a few days in the wonderful city of Florence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank philippe5394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
We greatly appreciate your detailed review! Please do come back in the Spring so you can take advantage of the patio, where breakfast is served until the end of the Summer. Thank you again.
Ciao from Florence!
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

A very nice place with a very good service level, very good price.
Just enjoy a lot this stay by the Orto de Medici hotel, very close from all key places of Florence.
Thanks for this nice vacations !
Jean-Yves.

Room Tip: I was on ground floor nearby the garden. Very nice ans quiet place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Yves L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Thank you for writing a review! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and vacation. Please come back and visit.
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
206 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

This hotel was beautiful and my family of four was very comfortable. Very helpful staff and a good breakfast buffett. The hotel only serves a breakfast, but with the location of the hotel there is no need - there are plenty of great places to eat in the area.
The location is wonderful- all the great tourist sites are within walking distance.

As a side note: If you drive into Florence the hotel will give you directions of places to park your car (paid parking). Make sure you register your car with with parking garage and do not drive you car in the city center (unless it is a holiday)- you will get tickets.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing a review. I'm glad you and your family enjoyed everything. Thank you also for the good tips for future guests. I would like to wish you a Happy New Year.
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#28 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#47 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#43 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#38 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orto De Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orto De Medici

Property: Hotel Orto De Medici
Address: Via San Gallo, 30, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Florence
#36 Family Hotel in Florence
#46 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orto De Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence Hotel Orto de' Medici’s location is ideal because while located in the “historic center” of Florence it is just outside the noisy hustle and bustle…which is only a short walk away. When walking through our hotel in Florence, you really do feel like you are in a classic and upscale historic building. The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly, and from the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome. Each room is uniquely and elegantly appointed, a restful oasis for the busy traveler. The bathroom is very spacious and the shower is wonderful after a long day of sightseeing. Breakfast, with plenty to select from, is served in a cozy room that spills out into a welcoming patio and a beautiful little garden. The hotel lobby and reading rooms are a nice place to relax after a full day of sightseeing (plus free internet - either wifi or with brand new Apple computers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Orto De Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orto De Medici Hotel
Orto De Medici Florence
Hotel Orto De Medici Florence Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing