We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Orto De Medici
Nearby Hotels
Il Guelfo Bianco(Florence)
US$241
US$220
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Minerva(Florence)
US$587
US$461
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$323
US$245
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Bretagna(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$296
US$261
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$278
US$214
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
US$358
US$297
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$233
US$226
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$335
US$283
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Hermitage(Florence)
US$329
US$281
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
San Firenze Suites & Spa(Florence)
US$546
US$528
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (2,343)
Filter reviews
2,343 results
Traveller rating
1,482
693
119
28
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,482
693
119
28
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomtrain stationpiazza san marcooverlooking the gardenclassic roombreakfast roomlovely hotelwithin walking distancefirst floorminute walkpollodeluxe roomquiet streetcroissantsmajor sitescentral marketexcellent breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,034 - 1,039 of 2,343 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Great location for a couple who needs peacfe and quiet to sleep but close enough to everything in walking distance. large sized room with a big bathroom. we didnt care for the tub/shower it was made for a person under 5"10". Breakfast had a large variety of meats, cheese, fresh fruit juice it filled us up for the major part of the day of sightseeing. staff was very helpful. Made us reservations to a nearby restaurant and one day when it was pouring out the had complimentary umbrella for use. will definately use again when in Florence

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauranbobmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2013

Thank you for the lovely, detailed review. I am glad to read how you liked the breakfast, since we are improving this service in these months. Your feedback was mostly appreciated.
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

A lovely hotel, 10 minutes walk to Duomo. The staff in all areas were impressively helpful. We were in a garden room - very spacious, spotless, great shower, extremely comfortable bed. The breakfast was good - everything you could want and a lovely setting looking out onto the terrace area. Very good value for money and would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank moseWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Thank for this lovely review. You list of positive features of the hotel was impressive!
Grazie
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We really didn't know what to expect. Chosing a hotel on the internet can be such a lottery, even with the help of online review sites like this one.
As it turned out, we hit the bullseye. Orto De Medici is well positioned, a shot walk from the key city centre sites. Our room was well appointed and I think we made the right decision booking one with a balcony. Even in February is was a pleasure to gaze out across the red roofs of Florence to the hills of Tuscany beyond. Breakfast was as one would expect. Self service, Ham. cheese, pastries and eggs with fresh coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice. Staff were pleasant and helpful. And I think the price was pretty reasonable too. Our five point rating is based on a balance of expectations. Stars, price and visit experience..... not the Dorchester but then we weren't paying Dorchester prices. Would I recommend? Certainly .

Room Tip: It was nice to have a balcony.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teithiwr_cymreig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Thank you for leaving such a nice appreciation to the hotel and especially the Superior Room with private balcony and top floor view across the red roofs of Florence. I am glad to read how you appreciated the NEW orange squeezing machine in the breakfast.
Grazie
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We found this hotel to be in a great location just north of the central hub of Florence. We walked from the train station when we arrived which took approx 15 mins. The welcome was warm and friendly and everything was explained, including the tourist tax which was due on departure. The rooms are basic but perfect for a sightseeing trip. We had a balcony room on the 4th floor which gave an ok-ish view of the Doumo. Fully stocked bar, so you could keep some of your own stock cold if needed. Breakfast was typical continental with cold meats, bread, croissants etc but the orange juice machine was excellent. We have never tasted blood oranges so sweet, which made the machine a favourite with everyone in the room! The waiting staff were fantastic, Nothing was too much trouble, even sourcing tea pots and milk jugs which were out of sight. They have a lovely lounge area if you wanted to relax before venturing out but unfortunately they dont have a bar area. But taking that into account if you're going to this hotel in the future, you shouldn't be disappointed.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank SpammyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and future guests. It's great to hear you enjoyed everything so much. Please do come back soon.
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

Very centrally located to all the sites around Florence. Large, clean and comfortable room (we had a garden view room) and and a quality 'all you can eat' breakfast was included. Wi-Fi was very decent too. The only slight improvement that could be made was to add a chair to the room and perhaps to have slightly better blackout curtains. In summary, I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to others.

Thank DWHStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review! We appreciate all suggestions to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and will recommend. Hope to see you again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews