We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful characterful building and excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Orto De Medici
Ranked #40 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2013

My wife daughter and I stayed for a week and found the hotel to be very comfortable and well located for the city sights. We had a triple room on the top floor which had the unexpected bonus of a balcony/roof terrace. The room was generally nicely appointed although it was in need of some high level cleaning and possibly redecoration. The beds, though firm, were comfortable. The hotel while central is not too close to the major traffic routes so external noise was not a problem as it seems to be in some other Firenze hotels. We did suffer some issues with other noisy guests but this is partly due to the preponderance of marble floors and high ceilings - beautiful buildings aren't naturally quiet. Breakfasts were excellent and the staff very knowledgeable and helpful so all-in-all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrikeRider3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Direttore generale at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Thank you for your review! All your suggestions are appreciated the most, and we are very pleased to read how you liked the location of the hotel, the breakfast and the staff.
We hope to see you back to Florence sometimes.
Arrivederci.
Francesco Bini.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

951 - 957 of 2,198 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2013

We stayed at Hotel Orto De Medici in March,. The hotel is centrally located to all the main attractions. The Duomo, Ponte Vecchio, The markets and many restaurants. We had a room for 4 with 1 quenn bed and 2 singles. I found the bed to be hard and the pillows even harder, when I asked the front desk they said all the pillows were the same.. Ughhh. Aside from this the hotel was very nice.. The complimentary breakfast was your typical European breakfast with added hard boiled eggs, cereal, yogurt and fruit. It was very good. Our room did have its own safe.. The bathroom was ok it would have been better if the shower had a shower curtain.. I dont understand why they dont.. It is very hard to take a shower and not get water all over the floor, without a curtain.. As well as the privacy factor. no one else could be in the bathroom when one was in the shower... The hotel also didnt have a bar ,in the event you wanted a drink at the end of your day...Over all I would give this hotel a 7. Like I said the location is great, but it could be even better... I think I would try another hotel the next time I visit Florence.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbc739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Dear Guest,
We appreciate any types of comments that can help better our service. It is nice to hear glad you enjoyed the breakfast and found the hotel to be in a very convenient place. I'm sorry you did not find the pillows to be very comfortable, we apologize for not substituting it right away. I'd like to apologize also for the shower inconvenience. This year our bar service will start the beginning of May on the outside terrace, however, reception is always available to serve hot drinks on request. Thank you for writing a review.
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

This is a beautiful hotel, conveniently located in a quiet yet central part of town, but I was given a room in a corner, and when the guests next door trawled their trolleys in at midnight, then started unpacking and chatting away merrily till about one, I felt I really had to let them know I found their conversation rather uninteresting...!
The room itself, however, was nice and clean. As for the bathroom, I would have preferred a proper shower, instead of a square tub with no curtain around it, but that's just a detail.
Great breakfast, with real orange squash!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catriona07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Thank you for writing a review. I personally apologize for the late night inconvenience. However, I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed the room and breakfast.
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We had a wonderful stay in Florence at Hotel Orto De Medici. Our daughter was studying abroad there and it was very close to her pensioni. The staff was very helpful and and very eager to please. Thank you for an excellent stay!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
Thank krk28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Thanks to you for your review! We hope to see you next time when you will come to visit your daughter again. Grazie
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

This hotel was the best we stayed at while in Italy. It is situated very close to the Duomo, the major museums, the food market and many wonderful restaurants. The room was very well maintained, spotless and quiet, and the bathroom was beautiful. Service was very good, and the hotel helped with dinner reservations. We certainly plan to return to this hotel when we travel back to Florence.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adomassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

I am so proud to read we were the best hotel you stayed in Italy! Thanks for your appreciations to the location, the room and the hotel staff. I hope you will keep nice memories of this trip to Florence.
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

I stayed at Hotel Orto De Medici for 5 days. The room I stayed in was a very large, lovely european style room for a single traveler, reasonably priced for Florence. The rooms are very clean and the hotel is very modern, convenient and in San Marcos within walking distance to the central area. I felt very safe as a female solo traveler walking to and from my hotel at night after having dinner. The other things I enjoyed about the hotel were the free wi-fi, the Mac computers in the lobby for guest to use. There is even a nice library/lounge on the first floor with a large screen t.v. and magazines/books for guest to utilize. The breakfast lounge is good. The staff were all attentive, friendly and professional. There is even a lounge for outside but unfortunately due to the rain I was unable to sit outside. I highly recommend Hotel Orto De Medici to others and you will not be disappointed. Thanks again to the hotel employees of Orto De Medici for your excellent customer service.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starrnval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Thanks to you for the nice review. It is so glad to read when a client is satisfied and comes back home with lovely memories of the city. We hope to seen you back sometimes to Florence.
Thank you
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for 6 nights. All aspects of the hotel and the services are of a very good quality and excellent value. The staff were WONDERFUL! They provided us with excellent recommendations on restaurants; made phone calls to ensure that we were able to confirm our 2 tours; and exceeeded our expectations. Thank you Ricardo and all of the other staff for making this a spectacular trip! We will return!

Room Tip: We booked our rooms through Venere.com and I do not recall if we had the opportunity to select rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scruffyzenna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Thank you for the feedback. It is great we could even exceed your expectations. I do hope to see you back soon, then.
Grazie
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 409 in Florence
1,833 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#45 of 409 in Florence
1,192 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 409 in Florence
2,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#23 of 409 in Florence
2,021 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#41 of 409 in Florence
830 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orto De Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orto De Medici

Address: Via San Gallo, 30, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Florence
#36 Family Hotel in Florence
#46 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £79 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orto De Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence Hotel Orto de' Medici’s location is ideal because while located in the “historic center” of Florence it is just outside the noisy hustle and bustle…which is only a short walk away. When walking through our hotel in Florence, you really do feel like you are in a classic and upscale historic building. The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly, and from the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome. Each room is uniquely and elegantly appointed, a restful oasis for the busy traveler. The bathroom is very spacious and the shower is wonderful after a long day of sightseeing. Breakfast, with plenty to select from, is served in a cozy room that spills out into a welcoming patio and a beautiful little garden. The hotel lobby and reading rooms are a nice place to relax after a full day of sightseeing (plus free internet - either wifi or with brand new Apple computers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Orto De Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orto De Medici Hotel
Orto De Medici Florence
Hotel Orto De Medici Florence Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing