We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was fine - convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Orto De Medici
Ranked #50 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“It was fine - convenient location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

I found this hotel to be in a nice location. The rooms were ok but perhaps a bit dated. I believe there are rooms that are more updated. We had a room on the street which was quite noisy...rooms that face the courtyard would be better. Speaking of the courtyard, it's quite nice and a wonderful place to enjoy a drink before dinner. For the most part the staff was nice and helpful all but one gentleman who seemed very put out by any question that was asked of him such as a restaurant suggestion or directions.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank chicagotravelgirl41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 19 May 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your feedback. All the suggestions and remarks are mostly appreciated and they help us a lot to improve day by day. Next time you come you can make a special request for a room on the back side or with view on the garden. San Gallo street is not as loud as other areas in the centre where all the hustle and bustle of tourist pass, but it is a public street, so if you are a light sleeper I suggest to put a special request.
Thank you.
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,953 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,191
    603
    111
    27
    21
See reviews for
413
975
95
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

We spent 4 nights here. The staff were welcoming but unlike other reviews we did not find them as helpful about information regarding where to go,etc. I did ask where to buy Firenze Card and was told at the Tourist Information but not told where that was. In the end it wasn't so difficult for us to find the nearest tourist office by ourselves. We had the room next to the breakfast room which we were concerned about when we checked in. However the double doors at the entrance do help to keep the noise out.

Location of this hotel is excellent. Close to all the major sites, several restaurants and bars near by. On the whole a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CirrusHGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 19 May 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your positive review of the hotel. I always recommend not to be shy asking questions at the staff, your questions are always most welcome. So if you did not understand something or you are not sure about something, please do not hesitate to ask again. Nevertheless I am happy to read that even if you have some issues, they did not were a problem and you fully enjoyed your time in Florence, taking home good memories of your pleasant experience.
Grazie!
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

We spent five nights here and loved every minute. From the moment we stepped into the elegant lobby it was clear this was a special place. Our room was small but comfortable and very well maintained. The real joy of this hotel were the public rooms. For a quiet time there is a library with a huge chandelier under a frescoed ceiling complete with well fed angels. We breakfasted in a frescoed dining room looking out onto a patio lined with white roses. The only reason we did not eat on the patio was the ever present smokers. The breakfasts were fresh with plenty of choice and the DIY squeezed orange juice could not be any fresher. The staff were a joy - they all seemed to genuinely enjoy making our break so wonderful. Thank you Orto - you are a wonderful hotel. We loved you.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynden C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 19 May 2013
Thanks for your review, so gentle to list all the facilities you enjoyed at the hotel during your stay, like the room decoration, the common areas, the breakfast and the gentle staff.
Grazie!
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

The hotel lobby was beautifully furnished with comfortable seating and a computer area for the guests. The staff at the reception desk helped us with our internet connections, gave us suggestions for getting into the musems and made a reservation for a concert.

We stayed in a quiet room facing the back courtyard, the marble bath was lovely and the breakfast room was charming. The food was delicious and the staff worked very hard to make everything run smoothly. I would certainly stay here again and recommend it highly.

Room Tip: The room that faces the back courtyard was very quiet and has a pretty view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coralie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Great feedback! Thank you. We appreciate all the compliments, they are always nice to read. Please come back soon!
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

We spent two nights here and found the staff to be particularly helpful. Our room (particularly the bathroom) was a little worn. We asked if anything more up-to-date was available and were told that although they were full for that night, they could move us to a nicer room the next day. We ended up being too lazy to repack and unpack and so stayed in the original room, but thought the staff response was very gracious.

Having breakfast on the deck was very relaxing. And the bed was extremely comfortable..

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calif_traveler79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Thank you for acknowledging our effort to help you better your stay.
We appreciate the review and our happy you enjoyed everything in the end.
Saluti from Florence.
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Overall, our stay was very pleasant; however, make sure that you confirm that you will have air conditioning in your room! Before booking this hotel, we thoroughly searched the internet and did plenty of research on hotels in Florence that specifically had air conditioning available. Orto de Medici’s website specifically stated “air conditioning” as one of their amenities. Nowhere on their website do they state that air conditioning is only available during certain dates/months. When we arrived at the hotel, the nice gentlemen at the front desk that checked us in told us that the A/C would not be available until a particular date. Only after voicing my disappointment and letting him know that I found their website to be deceiving did he email and call “the manager” several times to authorize maintenance to turn on our room A/C. After several hours, our room A/C was turned on.
We were given a very nice small but adequate room that was completely remodeled. It had 2 very comfortable twin beds and a very nice spa like bathroom with plenty of water pressure and hot water. The room was very clean and having an interior location, it was very quiet. The only thing I would like to suggest is that the rooms be supplied with a coffee/tea maker. We had to keep bothering the front desk folks for hot water to make our tea which they very graciously provided.
Breakfast is served on the 1st floor and was really good with plenty of everything including freshly squeezed orange juice and an awesome coffee machine. The ladies that work the breakfast room are extremely hard working, attentive and very friendly. They also happen to be the ladies that clean the rooms (we loved Teodora!) The one thing that I would suggest is to add some hot foods to the breakfast menu.
The front desk folks are friendly and very helpful plus speak perfect English. The lobby is very beautifully furnished and provides 2 new Apple computers with a printer for guests to use. Also, the hotel provides great free WIFI in the rooms.

The location was excellant as we were just a 5 minute walk to Piazza San Marco as well as 10-15 min walk to most attractions. All in all we would stay here again, assuming of course, we were guaranteed air conditioning.

Room Tip: The rooms that are not remodeled are a little drab looking. Ask for a remodeled room. Also ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritza121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Madame, thanks for your long review! I am glad how you underlined we take care of all the requests, doing our best to satisfy them all. A few weeks of April are in balance between hot and cold, so it is not easy to select the perfect day to do the switch from Winter to Summer climate regulation. I thank you for all the positive features you listed: the decoration of the room, the staff, the cleaning, the breakfast, the lobby...
Grazie grazie! We hope to see you back soon.
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern NJ
Level Contributor
166 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We spent a long weekend in Florence and Orto De Medici turned out to be a great choice. The room was small but very nice with a lovely, albeit petite, balcony and a nicely designed marble bathroom with a huge opening window that I liked. The staff was very nice, spoke excellent English and made some superb restaurant recommendations. The breakfast was very nice, although exactly the same thing daily, but good. Perhaps the best thing about the hotel is its location on a quiet side street close in San Lorenzo just off Piazza San Marco, yet 5 minutes to the busy central section, a few minutes from the Accademia, 7 minutes to the Duomo, 12 to the Uffizi, 15 minutes to Ponte Vecchio bridge and 20 minutes to the Pitti Palace in terms of walking distance.
The only reason for the lack of a fifth star was the price- the best online price with full upfront for the "superior room" was E220 (early May), that I thought was a bit steep this early in the season.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room, the balcony is a great asset, and it was really quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Guest,
I really appreciate your feedback, with precious suggestions to next travellers. Thanks for the list of popular destinations you can easily reach walking from the hotel. As regards the prices, season starts in Florence after Easter (this year March 31st), so May is not "early" but the core of the season. But I will tell you a secret: our website offers dynamic rates, so the earlier you book the better offer you can find, as happens with airline companies.
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#24 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,843 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,225 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#35 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#51 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#40 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orto De Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orto De Medici

Property: Hotel Orto De Medici
Address: Via San Gallo, 30, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Florence
#36 Family Hotel in Florence
#46 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orto De Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence Hotel Orto de' Medici’s location is ideal because while located in the “historic center” of Florence it is just outside the noisy hustle and bustle…which is only a short walk away. When walking through our hotel in Florence, you really do feel like you are in a classic and upscale historic building. The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly, and from the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome. Each room is uniquely and elegantly appointed, a restful oasis for the busy traveler. The bathroom is very spacious and the shower is wonderful after a long day of sightseeing. Breakfast, with plenty to select from, is served in a cozy room that spills out into a welcoming patio and a beautiful little garden. The hotel lobby and reading rooms are a nice place to relax after a full day of sightseeing (plus free internet - either wifi or with brand new Apple computers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Orto De Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orto De Medici Hotel
Orto De Medici Florence
Hotel Orto De Medici Florence Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing