We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Orto De Medici

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Orto De Medici
Ranked #49 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Perfect choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

This hotel was definitely a good choice and was very reasonably priced. We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in July and had a great time. The hotel is recently renovated palazzo. Our room was big, with high ceiling and a huge window facing a beautiful courtyard (and a rooftop of San Marco!). The bed was good. Our kids were sleeping on sofa-chairs. Free breakfast at the hotel was very good and included good variety of the food, good cappuccino and freshly squeezed juice. Hotel's location was great! Just a couple of minutes from Accademia, about 5 minutes of walk to San Lorenzo and Medici palace and Duomo. Train station S.M.Novella is also near by (about 10 min).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikefr0mNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you for writing a review. Happy to know you had a great stay. Hope to have you again as our guests.
Best Regards,
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,915 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,163
    594
    110
    27
    21
See reviews for
402
957
92
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Pros:
- Clean room.
- They gave welcome drinks, which were refreshing in this summer heat.
- Working AC.
- Fridge in the room.
- Safety deposit box in the room, though the size was very small. Laptop probably wouldn't fit in there; small netbook or ipad might fit.
- Polite staff. They respected our "do not disturb" sign.
- Location was very close from Galleria dell'Accademia. Also within walking distance with Piazza del Duomo.
- Breakfast was included: cereal, yogurt, mixed fruits, bread, pastries, ham, cheese, butter, honey, jam, nutella, hard-boiled eggs, orange and pineapple juice (ready-made), freshly squeezed orange juice, coffee machine. Suggestions for the future: more hot breakfast options like omelette or waffles would be nice.

Cons:
- Internet in the room was very spotty. When it worked it was super fast, but most of the times we weren't able to connect at all. Either the network was completely gone, very low signal that was super slow, or connected but not working.
- The pillows were very flat and uncomfortable. We solved this by requesting another pair of pillows.
- The bathtub was clogged. We thought it was because of the trapped dirt and hair, but after calling room service (who actually did a great job cleaning the room) the bathtub was still clogged pretty bad.
- Not sure if they purposely designed it this way, but the hotel felt somewhat old.

Neutral:
- The key had to be returned to the front desk when leaving the hotel.
- The room was generally quiet, but not soundproof. Sometimes we could hear some noises from the next room, not people voices, but probably when they closed the cupboard in their room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank felicia_alvita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
We appreciate your feedback. Every suggestion is helpful to better our service. We apologize for any inconvience you may have experienced.
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Our room overlooked a courtyard with a fountain. Spacious and clean with surprisingly large, modern bath. Breakfast was decent. Staff was helpful and was happy to print our reservations to museums. Internet free in room. No pool, though.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you for the review! Happy to read you had a nice stay. You're right, a pool would be great in this heat!
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

The hotel is near the train station, also its in a great location to explore the city center at any time. My family and I where very pleased with the relationship price and quality. The hotel was clean, the breakfast was enough, and the people that assist us were extremely helpful and kind.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 12Danae76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you for all the compliments. Hope to have you again as our guests.
Best Regards,
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

My wife and I wanted a pleasant place to stay while we explored Florence. The hotel was well maintained, the breakfast was plentiful with lots of variety. My wife liked the cappuccino machine and I liked the fresh squeezed orange juice machine. The hotel was walking distance to all the sites we wanted to visit. They also phoned a taxi for us at the end of our stay and it arrived in under 5 minutes. I would have given it a 5, but the fridge did not keep things cold, and the air conditioning although adequate took a long time to cool the room down.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you for the feedback. It is very hot in Florence, so I will make sure we double check our AC system. Glad you enjoyed breakfast.
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

I selected this hotel after reading reviews on Tripadvisor, because I didn't want any unpleasant surprises for my holiday. I wasn't disappointed. The hotel is relatively close to the city center and main highlights (about 15 minutes walk), and very close to restaurants and shops, however I would recommend the restaurants around the San Lorenzo basilica, 5 minutes down the road.
The room we got was smaller than expected, but everything was very clean, the air conditioning was working fine, and that is all that matters if you are a tourist. The room has a small fridge with drinks provided by the hotel (not included in the price of the room) such as water, juices and beer (besides these you are not allowed to eat/drink in your room).
The breakfast (included) has a nice selection of food and drinks - cereals, fruit mixes, normal and toast bread, jam, butter, good coffee and natural juices (orange and pineapple). The terrace is very beautiful for enjoying breakfast, a great way to start your day in Florence.
The hotel has a small but beautiful inner garden, and there are rooms towards the garden - if you can afford and want a nicer room, take a large room (we didn't need one since we didn't plan to spend much time at the hotel).
The washroom, was small and didn't have a shower cabin, but everything was very clean and I could take a good long shower every day without making everything wet.
The staff is professional and helpful (fluent English) - the hotel offers free WiFi, access to Internet connected computers, etc.
Overall my experience at this hotel was a pleasant one, I would recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gheorghe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Thank you for your feedback. That is great that you were not disappointed and had a pleasant experience. Thank you also for recommending.
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. It is extremely easy to get to by walking from the train station, (make sure you have your map) aprox 10 minutes and the location really is excellent. As my husband has recently had a serious knee operation we wanted a location that was as central as possible without breaking the bank. This hotel did not disappoint. It is 5 mins walk from the Dumo and Galleria dell' Accademia (famous for the statue of David and a must see) also the shopping district and numerous piazzia's are also close by. The rooms are very spacious, chic and spotless. The staff are very polite and helpful and will try to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Breakfast is great, one of the best spreads I have experienced in a European hotel. There is a very good selection, to name but a few are cereal, toast, different spreads, eggs, fruit,sweet pastries, a variety of tea/ coffee and delicious freshly squeezed orange juice. The only reason I have not given this hotel 5/5 is due to the very hard bed, lack of cool air conditioning (we stayed mid July during a very warm weekend) and street noise (our room faced the street). We visited the Kitsch bar/ restaurant which is the first bar to your left as soon as you walk out of the hotel. It is very reasonable and for 9 euros you can get a drink of your choice (a cocktail if you would like) and as much apvertivos (buffet style food which includes a selection of pasta, salad, bruscetta, pizza and fruit) for 9 euros. This is the most reasonably priced restaurant we found in Florence and most/all of the other people here were locals so it must be good!
We would definitely recommend this hotel to others, it is very well priced for the location with lovely rooms. if we return to Florence we will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all thoughts that can help us better our service. I am, however, happy to read you enjoyed your overall stay and would come back a second time.
Ciao from Florence!
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#28 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#47 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#43 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#38 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orto De Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orto De Medici

Property: Hotel Orto De Medici
Address: Via San Gallo, 30, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Florence
#36 Family Hotel in Florence
#46 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orto De Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence Hotel Orto de' Medici’s location is ideal because while located in the “historic center” of Florence it is just outside the noisy hustle and bustle…which is only a short walk away. When walking through our hotel in Florence, you really do feel like you are in a classic and upscale historic building. The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly, and from the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome. Each room is uniquely and elegantly appointed, a restful oasis for the busy traveler. The bathroom is very spacious and the shower is wonderful after a long day of sightseeing. Breakfast, with plenty to select from, is served in a cozy room that spills out into a welcoming patio and a beautiful little garden. The hotel lobby and reading rooms are a nice place to relax after a full day of sightseeing (plus free internet - either wifi or with brand new Apple computers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Orto De Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orto De Medici Hotel
Orto De Medici Florence
Hotel Orto De Medici Florence Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing