We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Florence Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Orto De Medici
Ranked #43 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Clarkston, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Florence Getaway”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My sister and daughter and I truly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff was very helpful. They had a business center that came in very handy, as well as their colazione was the best we had in the 8 days we traveled around Italy. Our room was spacious for three people, reasonably priced, and was in a good location to walk to every attraction. We also appreciated our first night invitation to the patio for a glass of wine and appetisers. A treat we truly enjoyed. I would definitely come back to this hotel on my next visit to Florence.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ratherberiding827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Please do come back! Yes, we have two Mac computers and a printer free of charge for all our guests, happy it came in handy for you. Thank you for the comment.
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,288
    635
    115
    27
    21
See reviews for
453
1,034
98
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This hotel offers old world elegance (but not stuffy) and modern comfort. We will definitely return, as a week is not enough to take in this city. The staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly, the breakfast buffet was fresh and delicious, and last but not least, the beds were very comfortable. Central location yet seemingly away from the bustle.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBElias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for writing about your experience with us. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Ciao from Florence!
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The hotel is situated about 10 mins walk from the Duomo but very central and close to shops and some bars.
Inevitably there is some noise from the street and the local bars but this is not excessive and wasn't an issue.
The rooms themselves were clean and comfortable. Lots of storage space and air con. Also able to fully open the windows which is great. Rooms decorated in keeping with the style of the building. Don't expect plush carpets, high spec tvs etc. Beautiful wooden floors, characterful wardrobes and quirky chest of drawers.
The breakfast selection was ok, no hot food offered, but cereal, pastries and a selection of fruit available. Also plenty of different types of coffee.
Reception staff were helpful and patient with our attempts at Italian. Loved the free gift of the little book explaining about the Medici. Perfect fit on my bookshelf.

Overall would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
We appreciate your review. It seems you book on of our Classic rooms. I'm happy you enjoyed the Florentine style. For those that prefer a bit more modern style we have Deluxe rooms renovated in 2009. Happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for recommending.
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My husband and I had several nights here and had a great time. The breakfast terrace was outstanding, and the staff very professional.

The room itself was a reasonable size and comfortably furnished, but not luxurious. Our window looked out onto the fire escape, so the room was a bit dark. The bathroom was adequate but nothing special - the shower was over the tiny bath, and there was no shower curtain so we had to be careful not to flood the entire room. There was also minimal space to lay out toiletries, so some shelves would come in handy. The 'hair dryer' was also a bit of a joke, so better to bring your own. We spent most of our time out of the hotel, so the room's shortcomings were not a big deal.

We had a medical emergency of sorts during our stay, so the reception staff tried to help but didn't really have the information we needed. They were however very helpful when we wanted to book tours and so on.

There is a small garden to the rear of the hotel, which is quite charming, and a lounge area on the upper terrace which proved perfect for a bottle of champagne in the afternoon.

The location is great, with cafes and restaurants nearby and a short walk to the centre of Florence itself. It is possible to walk to the hotel from Stazione SMN, but if you have luggage perhaps a taxi would be more comfortable.

Overall this is a lovely hotel and I would recommend it to couples and solo travellers.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank belbaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry you had a medical issue during your stay with us. Front desk can always help call a tourist doctor. However, glad this didn't effect much you experience. Thank you for recommending.
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed in the Orto De Medici for the second time. This year in a room with garden view. It was quiet, always clean and very comfortable. The selection at the breakfast buffet was rich and the service personal always very helpful.
The hotel´s location is perfect for discovering the city´s main attractions by foot. Nonetheless, the surroundings are very quiet.

Room Tip: The garden view rooms are more quiet than the superior rooms to the street, although from there, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathrinE2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for the feedback. We hope to have you back as our special guests for a third time!
Ciao from Florence
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cartmel, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We had a wonderfull stay in Florence. We would recomend this hotel.The staff are great nothing is to much trouble. We chose to visit Florence for our Daughters 18th Birthday and our stay was made all the better by staying in this excellent hotel. Everywhere we wanted to visit was within walking distance. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We would recomend a room overooking the garden as they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave_heaven1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for recommending us! Happy to know your special occasion was a success.
Best Regards,
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australind, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Nothing was too much trouble, very helpful and friendly. Location was good we really enjoyed our stay. The breakfast was a good all round selection to get you going for the day. The rooms were clean and comfortable enough.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betadaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for your feedback! Great to hear you enjoyed your time with us.
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 412 in Florence
1,943 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#35 of 412 in Florence
785 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#32 of 412 in Florence
2,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#38 of 412 in Florence
1,766 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#45 of 412 in Florence
1,143 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#59 of 412 in Florence
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orto De Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orto De Medici

Property: Hotel Orto De Medici
Address: Via San Gallo, 30, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Florence
#36 Family Hotel in Florence
#46 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orto De Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence Hotel Orto de' Medici’s location is ideal because while located in the “historic center” of Florence it is just outside the noisy hustle and bustle…which is only a short walk away. When walking through our hotel in Florence, you really do feel like you are in a classic and upscale historic building. The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly, and from the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome. Each room is uniquely and elegantly appointed, a restful oasis for the busy traveler. The bathroom is very spacious and the shower is wonderful after a long day of sightseeing. Breakfast, with plenty to select from, is served in a cozy room that spills out into a welcoming patio and a beautiful little garden. The hotel lobby and reading rooms are a nice place to relax after a full day of sightseeing (plus free internet - either wifi or with brand new Apple computers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Orto De Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orto De Medici Hotel
Orto De Medici Florence
Hotel Orto De Medici Florence Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing