We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing laid back hotel with excellent customer service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Orto De Medici
Ranked #45 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“A relaxing laid back hotel with excellent customer service.”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Myself and my partner have travelled to Florence a number of times and experienced all sorts of hotels but this particular one really stood out.

We booked on-line through the hotels own website and for an advanced booking were offered a generous discount. I called the hotel to clarify a small point about which rooms had balconies and was told that only one of the Deluxe rooms had one, but as my booking was so far in advanced they would endeavour to reserve that particular room for me.

When we arrived the room with the balcony was not available but we weren't particularly bothered as it wasn't something we were promised or paid extra for. However upon getting to our room we found a chilled bottle of sparkling wine waiting for us a with a personal note from the manager apologising for the room not being available. Totally unexpected but a really nice touch of personal service!

On the second day, arriving back at our room after a day in town, housekeeping had made up the room and there was a letter on the bed. Another personal note from the management congratulating me on my birthday and thanking me for spending it with the hotel. I hadn't informed them of this and can only assume someone was paying attention to the details on my passport when I checked in. Again, a really nice personal touch.


The Deluxe room we took was excellent - modern and clean and well laid out and with the terrace right outside. We were concerned about privacy and noise but with the inner curtain this was not an issue and the room was well soundproofed and we could barely hear anyone outside.

Our room was really nicely decorated and had a separate toilet and wash/shower room which was a convenient. They were a little small but large enough to serve the purpose they were designed for. There was plenty of storage space for luggage and clothes next to the bathroom meaning we didn't have to clutter our room. The bed was very comfortable compared to some I've slept on in Italy and the air conditioning worked well and was quiet enough to not disturb sleep.

The flat screen TV offered a lot of channels but as is normal in Italy, few of them showed any programs in English. However, I didn't travel to Italy to watch TV so not really an issue. Wifi was free and had great coverage and was very fast. There was also two Apple computers in the reception area with a printer free for guests to use which made printing things like boarding cards and tickets a stress free experience.

A few reviews complained about the "bar" at the hotel. There isn't a bar per-se as you might expect at other hotels. It's a small room adjacent to the terrace where staff will happily mix you a drink and bring it out to you on the veranda. It's more akin to enjoying a drink with friends on their garden patio than a hugely stock bar. If you really do need that much variety I would suggest you try the bar next door to the hotel or the other across the street. We actually enjoyed the laid back "drinks on the patio" feeling more than a noisy hotel bar.

Breakfast was typically continental with toast, cold cuts, jams, fruit salad, etc. so if you are expecting sausage, eggs and bacon this isn't for you. The kitchen staff were efficient and helpful. It could get a little crowded in the dining room so I'd pick your breakfast time carefully.

The hotels location is perfect being far enough from the centre of town to be quiet but not so far that it's a long walk. 10-15 minutes sees you at the main square. Taxi to-from the hotel from the airport was €25 and took 20 minutes tops.

We consider ourselves a fairly laid back, take it as it comes, adventurous couple and this hotel was wonderful. Quiet, relaxing and a great place to switch off. The staff were helpful and courteous, spoke excellent English and were always there when you needed them.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 80 which was the Deluxe room on the first floor near the terrace. Cool, quiet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear N J,
I cannot spend enough words to thank you for such a long and detailed review. I am so glad to read your special mentions to the service and the bar.
Thank you a lot, Grazie!
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,289
    635
    115
    27
    21
See reviews for
454
1,034
98
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We spent three nights at Orto de Medici, loved this hotel. Clean, adequate room with cute attractive beds. I was impressed to see how energy-conscious Hotel Orto is, we had a room key as well as a key to activate the electricity in the room on the same key-ring! The buffet breakfast was more than adequate and this was the first, and only, hotel where we had freshly squeezed orange juice delivered by an awesome machine which we activated ourselves. It is also within walking distance to many of the interesting sites. Mauro at the Front Desk was friendly, knowledgeable and very helpful.
We would certainly stay here again and definitely recommend it to all visiting Florence.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 468noel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. It's great to read how you appreciated everything even the small key used to turn on and off electricity. Thank you also for recommending.
Ciao from Florence!
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Found the hotel online and was pleasantly surprised by its charm, location, cleanliness, great outdoor courtyard, tasty and plentiful breakfast, free wifi, computers & pleasant, knowledgable, helpful staff. Would stay here again. Had a triple room - large, view of garden, comfortable.\Very good value for the $$. Easy walk to all sites - straight down Via San Gallo to Doumo and more; around the corner from Accademia.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for your feedback! I'm happy we exceeded your expectations. Hope to have you again as our guest.
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Hotel Giardino de Medici was a great find. Just a short cab from Florence's main train station, but a comfortable and quiet hotel with attentive staff. Would definitely recommend to others (already have done so!) and would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanBeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Front Office Manager at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear JanBeez,
Thanks for your lovely review, I can feel the smile on your face and I am pleased for that :-)
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I recently stayed five nights at this hotel. It's a short walk (10-15 minutes) from the station and close to shops (including a grocery store) and the markets. There are also many very nice cafes (bars) close by, especially on via Guelfa.

The hotel is about 15-20 minutes walk from the Duomo area - which I think is a big PLUS! It was so nice to be away from the crowds and craziness of the tourist areas. The markets closest to the hotel were also much larger (and better I think), than the markets close to the attractions.

My room was small, but very pleasant. It contained a desk, TV and a fridge, which was great for storing snacks.The bathroom was modern and clean and the bed was very comfortable. My only quibble is the lack of a decent in-room safe. The safe was small and could easily be picked up with one hand. I couldn't really see the point of such a safe.

Breakfast was included in my tariff and served in a very pleasant breakfast room. It was possible to eat either inside or outside on the terrace. The food was typical continental - cereal, cold meat, cheese, yoghurt, fruit, toast, pastries, etc. It was simple but fresh and certainly adequate.

Staff were generally friendly and helpful. The only exception was when the young girl was on duty. She seemed to be more interested in her computer than in providing customer service.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay and would probably return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oztripper_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Front Office Manager at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear Oztripper,
Thanks for your review. All your suggestions are precious for us to keep improving in the future. I will make sure all the staff reads you review, as it contains useful remarks. I hope to see you back sometimes in Florence.
Grazie
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed for 2 days in early-September 2013. The location is very good, being close to the centre of Florence. We got a warm reception on arrival and arrangements were made to garage our car for the duration. We had a nice, bright bedroom off the garden. Breakfast was provided in the pleasant, upstairs dining room. And the concierge was helpful at all times and gave us a good restaurant tip. We would use this hotel again if we return to Florence.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Liam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Your feedback is very appreciated! Great to know you enjoyed your stay. Hope to have you again as our guests in the near furture.
Ciao from Florence.
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Springs, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I had the pleasure to stay at the Hotel Orto de' Medici in Firenze for three nights last week. This was the first time traveling alone. I am an American living briefly in Italia.
I cannot give enough kudos to the hotel and staff. I arrived by car, which is a problem in Firenze since there is little or no parking. I called ahead and their valet parking service is the same price as most self parking elsewhere. Reserved parking to drop off your car in front of the hotel. Effortless!
The hotel is interesting and clean and quiet (this is a miracle in Firenze!) Close to the important land marks and shopping. All easily reached by walking. I slept so soundly in my quiet room. Breakfast was superb and was served in the garden. It was a great way to start off an exhausting quest to look and draw the art, shop and eat in Firenze. Cocktails were served at the bar in the same garden before dinner.
The staff spoke perfect English although I tried to speak in my awful Italian. They helped with directions and suggested a fantastic small restaurant in San Marco Square. The entire hotel is well planned but keeps it's Italian personality.
Perfect for me. I highly recommend the Hotel Orto de' Medici (Medici gardens) and will do so to all of my friends.
Ciao!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Love to know you enjoyed our services and your stay! Please do come back and thank you also for recommending.
Ciao from Florence!
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 412 in Florence
1,945 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#35 of 412 in Florence
785 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#31 of 412 in Florence
2,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#39 of 412 in Florence
1,766 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#44 of 412 in Florence
1,143 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#60 of 412 in Florence
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orto De Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orto De Medici

Property: Hotel Orto De Medici
Address: Via San Gallo, 30, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Florence
#36 Family Hotel in Florence
#46 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orto De Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence Hotel Orto de' Medici’s location is ideal because while located in the “historic center” of Florence it is just outside the noisy hustle and bustle…which is only a short walk away. When walking through our hotel in Florence, you really do feel like you are in a classic and upscale historic building. The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly, and from the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome. Each room is uniquely and elegantly appointed, a restful oasis for the busy traveler. The bathroom is very spacious and the shower is wonderful after a long day of sightseeing. Breakfast, with plenty to select from, is served in a cozy room that spills out into a welcoming patio and a beautiful little garden. The hotel lobby and reading rooms are a nice place to relax after a full day of sightseeing (plus free internet - either wifi or with brand new Apple computers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Orto De Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orto De Medici Hotel
Orto De Medici Florence
Hotel Orto De Medici Florence Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing