We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Orto De Medici
Ranked #51 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
“Excellent stay!”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This hotel housed classic & modern room ( deluxe). If you prefer the old wooden feel, the classic room is perfectly suit you but it was slightly uncomfortable for us. We prefer the modern room so we upgraded our room to deluxe garden room. It is modern and spacious. It is also quite and clean. This hotel offered more than 3 star service and have a mixed of classic and modern interior. The wi-fi speed is fast.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FooChenYin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear FooChenYin,
Thnak for your review, specificating the differences between the classic and deluxe room. I am sure this will be very helpful for the next travellers.
Grazie!!
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,239
    623
    114
    27
    21
See reviews for
427
1,010
97
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Foggy December mornings became charged with anticipation as we stepped out on the balcony for a stunning view on the cupola of the Duomo, our bodies energized with delicious and healthy breakfasts, our feet racing out to get us lost in the streets of Florence. We had a fantastic weekend thanks to the very accomodating and supportive staff, and our stay at Orto de Medici was worthwhile in every way. We'll be coming back for sure, thank you so much!

Room Tip: Every level is filled with unique artworks from local artists. Spend a while and browse the colourfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Seism,
Thanks for this original review, we enjoyed reading it, it really matches the spirit of Florence in the wintertime: special and not too croweded.
Grazie
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Our stay in early December 2013 was a treat:
Pros:
+ Money's worth --> €370 for 5 nights including breakfast
+ Friendly staff --> Helpful for restaurant bookings, extras in the room
+ Huge Room --> approx 60sqm, vast bathroom
+ Good breakfast
+ Central Location --> 10 min to Duomo, 5 mins to Statue of David
+ Historical background --> Souvenir booklet in room

Cons:
- Ants in room --> Might bother some travellers, didn't bother us
- No extra thrills such as Fitness or pool.

Fantastic hotel, would go back without hesitation

Room Tip: "Ask for a room in the courtyard"
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KonanXXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear KonanXXL,
Nice to read your scheme. If you have a garden you know how easy if to get in contact with ants when a room overlooks a garden. But if you tell our house keepers they can solve the problem in one minute.
Thank you
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We walked to Orto de Medeci from the train station (SMN) on the cobbled Via San Gallo. In the morning, 2 Blocks away a morning run on the bike path to the river, ran back up through town as Fiorenze wakes up. Back at the Orto breakfasts offers meats, breads, yogurts, juices, all sorts of hot drinks and an incredibly sunny room to make a nice start to the day; I tried a cappuccino and a mixed orage/apple juice. Outside of the ‘sites’, lots to eat, drink and do very near-by; we tried a few great restaurants and a good amount of local shopping; we walked everywhere.

The Orto has on the 2nd floor (1st floor there) a living room of sorts, with a tv; decorated to fit the feel of the hotel, I didn’t expect to use the space but ended up working out of my computer there for a few hours and felt incredibly comfortable and relaxed. Laundry service was offered, it was prompt and very professional, a little on the expensive side but it was worth it this time for me. Everything in the hotel was in top condition and still keeping with the charm, hot showers (not huge but workable), heat when needed, quiet. The staff made us feel like VIPs, super nice and helpful; they even patiently let me practice my ‘quattordici’ every chance I had. Overall a great stay and an incredible value for a well located, clean and updated, quality with lots of charm and cool factor with the history of the fountain and Michelangelo.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RELUXINTERNATIONAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you very much for the excellent review! Happy to read you had a great stay and you also got lots done like practicing your Italian.
Ciao from Florence!
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This was a great bed & breakfast! The room was very nice and clean with a huge shower. Very central location with quick access to all public transit. Staff was very friendly and accommodating to changes in our travel plans. We would definitely stay at again next time in Rome!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Milos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thanks for your review. I am sure you meant Florence, we are in FLORENCE! :-)
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The hotel is convenient to San Marco and walking distance to the Duomo and Ponte Vecchio. We stayed in the garden rooms which have been modernized and are very pleasant. We didn't have a chance to try the breakfast, but the people at the hotel desk spoke English and were very helpful.

Room Tip: Garden rooms were lovely, we had two rooms that were in their own entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Platypus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Platypus,
Next time you must try the breakfast then! Especially if you come in a sunny period when you can sit outside in the terrace!
Thank for sharing your comment.
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 November 2013

It couldn't have been a nicer stay. The room was clean and quiet. The room was big and the bathroom was also roomy compared to most we have stay in in Italy. The breakfast was excellent. The staff was always helpful with directions, suggestions for eating, even getting hot water for tea in the evenings. They stored luggage for us while we were traveling to other cities before returning. It is easy to get to major sites in the city by walking. Great value for the money.Highly recommend and we will be going back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for recommending and taking the time to write a great review! We hope to have you again as our guests.
Best Regards,
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 422 in Florence
1,891 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#28 of 422 in Florence
2,268 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#42 of 422 in Florence
1,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orcagna Hotel
#35 of 422 in Florence
772 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 422 in Florence
1,718 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#58 of 422 in Florence
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orto De Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orto De Medici

Property: Hotel Orto De Medici
Address: Via San Gallo, 30, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Florence
#36 Family Hotel in Florence
#46 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orto De Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence Hotel Orto de' Medici’s location is ideal because while located in the “historic center” of Florence it is just outside the noisy hustle and bustle…which is only a short walk away. When walking through our hotel in Florence, you really do feel like you are in a classic and upscale historic building. The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly, and from the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome. Each room is uniquely and elegantly appointed, a restful oasis for the busy traveler. The bathroom is very spacious and the shower is wonderful after a long day of sightseeing. Breakfast, with plenty to select from, is served in a cozy room that spills out into a welcoming patio and a beautiful little garden. The hotel lobby and reading rooms are a nice place to relax after a full day of sightseeing (plus free internet - either wifi or with brand new Apple computers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Orto De Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orto De Medici Hotel
Orto De Medici Florence
Hotel Orto De Medici Florence Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing