We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas holidays.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Orto De Medici
Ranked #39 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Perfect stay. The room was very clean but mostly the bathroom. Good breakfast, the was a good variety but the best of all is the staff. The warmth and wishing to help at any doubt. So thank you very much.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Javier G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you lots for the great review! We hope to have you again as our guest.
Best Regards
Nicki Sciortino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

827 - 833 of 2,244 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014

Conveniently located small hotel near the train station. Easy walking to everything you want to see in Florence. Beautiful breakfast area with a fabulous view, fresh-squeezed orange juice on the spot, and friendly and helpful staff, but the rooms could use a redo; one of ours had a funky smell.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms with windows facing the street noise, which only ceases from about midnight to 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manfrommaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Manfromma,
thanks for your review. I appreciate you left a positive review about the breakfast and the staff. Actually we are gradually renewing the rooms year by year, this year we will have 3 more brand new!
Hope to welcome you there soon back.
Thank you
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I stayed at this Hotel in July last year. The location isn’t too bad, depending on what it is you are in Florence to see, but it is likely that from any hotel you should be prepared for plenty of walking. On the positive side most of Florence’s streets are pedestrianized so walking anywhere is not a problem. There is also plenty to see so you tend not to notice the distances.
I found the hotel staff to be extremely friendly and the breakfast on offer was of a good standard. Rooms have air conditioning which is extremely welcome in the hot summer months. My only complaint is that the shower cubicle did not close completely and water easily trickled through the gap on to the bathroom floor. On balance though, a very enjoyable stay in a hotel with nice roof terraces.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

I'm happy to read you had an overall great stay. I apologize for the small maintenance problem. It is however appreciated that our guests let us know about any problems they may have. Yes, we are about a 10 to 20 minute walk from all the main sites, not too bad. I guarantee you will discover many amazing things while walking the streets of Florence. Hope to see you again maybe this summer.
Ciao from Florence!
Nicki Sciortino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I got a really good rate on this hotel right after New Year's when my previously-booked B&B cancelled my reservation (a company wanted to buy out the entire B&B, so I was left on the street). I was very happy with Orto de Medici, though I do prefer smaller hotels and B&Bs, but the location was good, relatively central, and the rooms were clean and of a good size. I had big problems regulating the thermostat - if I had the heat on at all it became so hot I had to open the window, which let bugs in, but if I changed it even slightly the heat didn't come on at all and it was cold outside! The staff was very courteous and available 24/7, the wifi was strong and the breakfast was nice. The common areas of the hotel are beautiful and on a glance the rooms are as well, but when you look closer little things are broken or worn - a knob here, the corner of a desk there - not a big deal, really, and nothing that affected my stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justtojess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Thank you for this review. We appreciate how you enjoeyd your stay in Florence, even if you had to change your usual way of travelling. Good memories back home. :-)
Thank you!
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My husband and I had an amazing stay at Hotel Orto de Medici. We visited in May 2013 and stayed 4 nights. Florence is a small, walkable city (especially compared to the others we stayed on our European vacation... London, Paris & Rome). It was a great location. We arrived in Florence around 10pm so we took a taxi from the airport. It was a cheap ride and the driver was fabulous, giving us recommendations of things we should do and places to eat nearby. We arrived at the hotel after a day of traveling and it was so nice. Beautiful lobby and excellent staff working the front desk. Our room was spacious and clean. No view but we didn't care, as we were only in the room to sleep. You get a drink ticket when you arrive as a free Welcome Drink during the happy hour, which was a nice touch. They offer laundry service which was great as we had been traveling over a week by the time we arrived. The front desk made us reservations for restaurants (Il Latini, do it) and were very helpful if we had questions. They were at the desk 24/7 so we felt safe. Beautiful building, I would recommend it to anyone traveling in Florence!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsMcD0819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Front Office Manager at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Lars S,
I am pleased to read how you had a nice experience in Florence and ejoyed Hotel Orto de' Medici and its staff.
Thank you for sharing your impressions!
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Nice hotel in the center of Firenze. Serviceminded staff, exellent parking-service for our car, very good. The location of the hotel is perfect for a visit to Firenze. My girlfriend and I was very happy with the hotels facilities.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lars S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Front Office Manager at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear MrsMcD0819,
Thanks for the lovely review, so full of pieces of advice for the next travellers! We all enjoyed reading it and I thank you for your kindness. You are always welcome back to Florence.
Grazie!
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Our stay in this Hotel was most enjoyable. The junior suite was quite large enough for our family of 4. The breakfast was substantial, with plenty of choice. It is near to the Accademia, and to the Duoma. I would have liked to have tea / coffee making facilities in the room

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank DaveJenJoburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Front Office Manager at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear DaveJenJoburg,
Thanks for your review. I am glad yiour family enjoyed the Junior Suite room. We have an "infusion bar" in the wintertime, so you can ask for tea/coffee anytime during your stay.
Thank you!
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 411 in Florence
2,406 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#42 of 411 in Florence
1,867 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#44 of 411 in Florence
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orcagna Hotel
#41 of 411 in Florence
848 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#24 of 411 in Florence
2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orto De Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orto De Medici

Address: Via San Gallo, 30, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Florence
#31 Family Hotel in Florence
#46 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £70 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orto De Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence Hotel Orto de' Medici’s location is ideal because while located in the “historic center” of Florence it is just outside the noisy hustle and bustle…which is only a short walk away. When walking through our hotel in Florence, you really do feel like you are in a classic and upscale historic building. The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly, and from the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome. Each room is uniquely and elegantly appointed, a restful oasis for the busy traveler. The bathroom is very spacious and the shower is wonderful after a long day of sightseeing. Breakfast, with plenty to select from, is served in a cozy room that spills out into a welcoming patio and a beautiful little garden. The hotel lobby and reading rooms are a nice place to relax after a full day of sightseeing (plus free internet - either wifi or with brand new Apple computers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Orto De Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orto De Medici Hotel
Orto De Medici Florence
Hotel Orto De Medici Florence Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing