We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Second Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Orto De Medici
Ranked #38 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The decision to return to Hotel Orto De Medici was very easy. We enjoyed the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, the location (within 20 minutes or less walking time to major sights), and the excellent blending of European style and international standards of comfort. The complementary breakfast, featuring freshly squeezed orange juice, a versatile cappuccino machine and a good buffet is another plus.

We think this is an excellent hotel choice and an excellent value, one that actually enhances the experience of visiting Florence.

Room Tip: Garden side rooms are quieter at a fairly modest price difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Warren N,
Thanks for this nice review again! It's always a great pleasure to welcome back guests, as it means the were happy and satisfied with their previous trip. And we doubled the score!!
Thank you really.
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

782 - 788 of 2,217 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

My wife and I spent a total of four nights at the Hotel Orto De Medici in Florence last week. This included a one night stay at the beginning of our trip to Italy, followed by three nights at the end of the trip. Initially the staff greeted us as if we were old friends, making us feel that they were awaiting our arrival. The room on the first night was beautifully decorated, large and clean. Marble appointed bathrooms with separate rooms for shower and toilet made for a most comfortable stay. The large king size bed was also appreciated along with extra pillows already in the room at check in. Outside was a garden area with patio seating that must be magnificent once everything blooms. It was easy to forget there was a city around us in this tranquil, quiet area.
Upon our return we were greeted by name and given another great room. In addition to the amenities found in our first night stay, this room directly opened to its own, private patio area.
The staff was friendly, courteous and professional. They assisted us with planning to see the many attractions in Florence. The convenient location of the hotel allowed for a short walk of less than three minutes to "The David" and less than ten minutes to the Duomo. The cost of the room was far less than others with similar descriptions, another major plus.
We enjoyed breakfast each morning in a beautiful room with a helpful, courteous staff.
My daughter will be visiting Florence in the near future and will of course be staying at the Hotel Orto De Medici. I highly recommend this hotel to all, both for its value and the overall wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We loved the "Garden Rooms".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Stuart R ,
Thanks for this great review! I am so glad to read how you fully enjoyed your time in Florence, and we are happy we could help that.
Will see you next year then (if not before!) Thank you!!!!
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel. The location is very convenient for walking to most of the must-see spots in Florence. Breakfast was good; the machine that makes freshly squeezed orange juice was a nice surprise.

The staff at the front desk was very helpful with directions and recommendations.

The room, on the other hand, had several issues. It was in dire need of a makeover, especially the ugly linoleum and wallpaper in the bathroom. Worst of all, the bathroom had a horrible smell which permeated throughout the room if the door was left open. We mentioned this at the front desk, and to their credit they asked the cleaning staff to do something. It worked for a little while, but sadly the bad odor returned.

I would only return to this hotel if the room they gave me was much improved from the one we had, at a comparable price. All things being equal, I would rather look somewhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcos F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Marcos,
Thanks for the appreciation to the location, the staff and the breakfast. I am sorry for the issue to your room. We are gradually renovating rooms, so if you are somehow not satisfied with your room, please don't hesitate to ask for a room change and we will do our best to get you satisfied!
We want to take good care of you!
Grazie
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed last week with my mother for 5 nites last week. Read reviews and emailed hotel with my requests which were nicely granted. We stayed in a double deluxe (as per the hotel brochure) with a beautiful walk-in marble shower and separate WC. Cable TV was generally in Italian but a couple of English programmes found. The room was quiet and accessible via garden walkway and separate lift. Room was clean and quiet and overlooked the garden and breakfast room. Breakfast was as expected, continental and filling for the mornings ahead and the ladies at the breakfast room were friendly and helpful and gave us takeaway breakfast items when we went on an early day trip into the Tuscan region one morning.Reception staff were accessible and also friendly. The hotel had Wi-Fi though it became patchy during the last couple of days so used the Mac computer in the lobby room or the wi-fi at reception. Location was great, Piazza San Marco was just behind the hotel and only a few blocks to Duomo and the street was buzzing with restaurants and shops. If I return to Florence I would certainly stay here again and highly recommend this boutique hotel.Florence is a beautiful wallkable city and a trip to the Tuscan region is also a must.

Room Tip: deluxe rooms overlooking the garden for peace and privacy. clean lines and great bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lozlazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Lozlazza,
Thanks for your great review! Feedback is always the most appreciated and I am glad enjoyed your stay in Florence so much. The deluxe rooms are one of our guests' favourite ones!
Hope to see you back soon.
Francesco Bini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Booked as a last minute deal so we weren't expecting anything special but were pleasantly surprised. We had one of the superior rooms overlooking the garden so there was no traffic noise. Decor in the room was stylish, bed comfortable and very big.
Breakfast was served in a busy, but well managed room again overlooking the garden. Self service but a good selection with a fresh orange juice machine and a decent coffee machine that could produce proper espresso and cappuccino. The staff were very efficient and friendly.
Overall I would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kieran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

I'm very happy to read you enjoyed the Superior room and your stay with us. Thank you aslo for the feedback.
Ciao from Florence!
Nicki Sciortino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

very nice hotel 10 minutes walking distance from the first places to visit so vety well located
the team is very kind and helpfull
great breakfast
big room
so a place to stay in florence to enjoy your trip in the city

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcb2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for the quick feedback! We appreciate it. Great to know you had a pleasant stay.
Best Regards,
Nicki Sciortino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The rooms were clean. The shower was great. The breakfast was delicious. All staff were helpful and their recommendations were great. Very convenient location. Wish I could go back tomorrow! Truly a great find.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. I had the fire escape!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for all the compliments! We hope to have you back as our guest.
Best Regards,
Nicki Sciortino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#27 of 410 in Florence
2,388 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 410 in Florence
1,845 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#43 of 410 in Florence
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#51 of 410 in Florence
2,821 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#40 of 410 in Florence
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orto De Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orto De Medici

Address: Via San Gallo, 30, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Florence
#36 Family Hotel in Florence
#46 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £69 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orto De Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence Hotel Orto de' Medici’s location is ideal because while located in the “historic center” of Florence it is just outside the noisy hustle and bustle…which is only a short walk away. When walking through our hotel in Florence, you really do feel like you are in a classic and upscale historic building. The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly, and from the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome. Each room is uniquely and elegantly appointed, a restful oasis for the busy traveler. The bathroom is very spacious and the shower is wonderful after a long day of sightseeing. Breakfast, with plenty to select from, is served in a cozy room that spills out into a welcoming patio and a beautiful little garden. The hotel lobby and reading rooms are a nice place to relax after a full day of sightseeing (plus free internet - either wifi or with brand new Apple computers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Orto De Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orto De Medici Hotel
Orto De Medici Florence
Hotel Orto De Medici Florence Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing