We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian dream!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Orto De Medici
Ranked #50 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
CLIVE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Italian dream!”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed at Hotel Orto de Medici for 9 fabulous nights! Nice room, comfortable beds. The location is great! A block from bus stops, though most sites are within walking distance. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BOBBI S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a quick review. I'm happy you had a positive experience with us. Hope to have you as a guest again very soon.
Best Regards,
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,183
    602
    111
    27
    21
See reviews for
409
970
95
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We were recommended the Hotel Orto de Medici by friends a sbeing reasonably priced and nice. we had a great stay in an unexpectedly modern and luxurious garden room that was good to come home to after a day walking round the sites.
The bathroom was spotlessly clean and the bed big and comfy.
The reception staff were faultless and appreciated my attempts at a few words of Italian with big grins (perhaps it was awful?)
Breakfast was good with fresh bloodorange juice, lots of coffee and interesting food selection. The room and terrace were beautiful.
We felt the hotel helped set the scene for a very successful holiday we had been planning for 33 years!

Room Tip: We had an inner garden room that worked really well
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chantal m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
How wonderful to know we were part of your big trip to Italy! I'm very happy you had a fantastic stay. Thank you you for taking the time to write a review. Hope to have you again as our guests.
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Hotel Orto de Medici in Florence. The staff was very helpful and the room was very comfortable It's close to everything so you can walk all over Florence from the hotel. The three twin beds was nice for us because we were three individuals on vacation. It was nice to be in a historic building in a historic city. The breakfast that was provided was tasty and the waitstaff was very pleasant.

Room Tip: Our room had a tub with a sprayer for bathing but not a proper shower. I would ask if they have one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoffmann123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Hoffmann1,
Thanks for the great review! All the staff enjoyed reading your positive impression.
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Great location on the edge of the old part of town. We booked our room at the last minute on the Internet and ended up with a very nice room on the ground floor facing the garden area. Very spacious with a huge bathroom with shower and large bath tub. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room also has a separate walk-in wardrobe area. Could do with a few more lights in the main bedroom area and a couple of comfortable chairs for sitting on in the room. Has no tea and coffee making facilities which was disappointing. Breakfast selection was limited to continental style breakfast only. The automatic coffee machine did make nice cappuccinos. Free Wi-Fi with the room and the signal was always very good.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Welovetravelling01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Hoffmann1,
Thanks for your review. I am glad you were pleasantly surprised with your room, even if you booked at the last minute. I appreciate your suggestions. Unfortunately providing a good service might involve some choices, so we decided to power up some Italian style features (since we are in Italy) and not to provide some services that are not part of our culture, such as tea facilities in the rooms. Nevertheless we have an Infusion bar open also in the afternoon, where you can ask for coffee, tea and cappuccino, when you want.
Thanks for the positive notes about the cappuccino and the Wi-Fi.
I hope to see you back again sometimes.
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at the orto de medici during part of our honeymoon. We were welcomed by a friendly staff and were so surprised when they upgraded our room and even sent a bottle of champagne as part of our welcome. The hotel is in a great location, just a few minutes walk to the tourist areas. Definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moses Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Moses Y,
Guests coming for such special occasions are always special guest for us. I am so glad you enjoyed your honeymoon in the frame of Florence and Hotel Orto de' Medici.
We wish you all happyness in the future.
Thank you!
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed at the Orto De Medici on the recommendation of our travel agent. It was a wonderful choice. Within a 10 to 15 minute walk of all the major areas of florence. The Hotel was delightful with an absolutely gorgeous Bathroom. Breakfast was more than reasonable and we could not have been happier. The Staff was also extremely accommodating! The only thing we had difficulty getting used to is Beds in Italy which are quite firm! That seemed to be the case throughout our travels.

Room Tip: We had a Junior Suite and it was grande!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Ross E,
Thanks for your nice review. It's nice to read how you liked the decoration of the rooms, since we many are just renovated. Good impressions about breakfast and staff... thank you!
Hope to see you back again some time.
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

There were four people in our party so had two twin rooms. Both were clean and had comfy beds and have no complaints about one room. The location of the hotel is good away from the bustle of the duomo area but only 5-10 min walk, David just a couple mins away. Breakfast is decent - cereals, pastries, fruit, eggs, fresh orange juice and a coffee machine. Unfortunately the other was small compared to the other. In the bathroom there was no shower curtain so water went over the floor. There was also a smell of sewage that came and went. It wasn't there on arrival and did disappear after the first time so didn't ask to move but it kept coming back so wish we had. Staff also argued outside the room early one morning for a long time and when mentioned to reception there was no apology and felt like they didn't really care it had happened as we were checking out. While I would stay again if back in Florenceas a good price, the experience of the other two in our party has lowered my score.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank RCD83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Pablocu,
Thanks for your review. Some people say there is a smell in city after rain, but we are so used to it we even do not feel it anymore. It comes and goes, as you said. Sorry for the inconvenience about one room. Please do not hesitate to complain for something, and give us a chance to fix the things. I was not there on that morning and I would like to investigate more about what happened. For any complain you can refer to my name, or to director's as well. For my 12-years experience in this hotel it is the first time something like that happens and we will have our efforts not make it happen again.
I nevertheless appreciate your positive feedback about the cleanliness, the cmfort of the beds, the location and the breakfast.
Thank you
Francesco BIni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 421 in Florence
1,841 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 421 in Florence
2,217 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#51 of 421 in Florence
1,072 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#34 of 421 in Florence
1,696 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#40 of 421 in Florence
1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orto De Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orto De Medici

Property: Hotel Orto De Medici
Address: Via San Gallo, 30, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Florence
#36 Family Hotel in Florence
#46 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orto De Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence Hotel Orto de' Medici’s location is ideal because while located in the “historic center” of Florence it is just outside the noisy hustle and bustle…which is only a short walk away. When walking through our hotel in Florence, you really do feel like you are in a classic and upscale historic building. The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly, and from the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome. Each room is uniquely and elegantly appointed, a restful oasis for the busy traveler. The bathroom is very spacious and the shower is wonderful after a long day of sightseeing. Breakfast, with plenty to select from, is served in a cozy room that spills out into a welcoming patio and a beautiful little garden. The hotel lobby and reading rooms are a nice place to relax after a full day of sightseeing (plus free internet - either wifi or with brand new Apple computers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Orto De Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orto De Medici Hotel
Orto De Medici Florence
Hotel Orto De Medici Florence Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing